We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Hosts and a Great View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour View Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour View Motel to your Saves list
Harbour View Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   2 Sturt St | PO Box 189, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Adelaide
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendly Hosts and a Great View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We spent 2 nights in the upstairs panoranic view room. we were blessed with fabulous weather and loved sitting on the balcony and watching dusk over the harbour. The hosts were friendly and gave very good restaurant tips. The room was clean and had all the amenities we needed. We enjoyed out trip there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen L, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour View Motel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your time at the Harbour View Motel. We are pleased to hear that your overall experience staying with us was enjoyable.

One of the many draw cards for visitors to the area, is the picturesque scenery throughout the year. Our Upstairs Panoramic View Suits allow guests to enjoy the view of the Harbour and Marina from their private balconies. During summer, the harbour is a pallet of shimmering aqua blues and greens; while in winter the scenery takes on a dramatic feel with the storms rolling in over the sea and cliffs. To ensure guests can enjoy the view no matter the weather, each of these suites are fitted with a floor to ceiling window and a glass door. It is wonderful to hear that you were able to enjoy this element of your stay and I hope that we can help you with your accommodation needs next time you are in Robe.

Once again, thank you for your review and I hope you had a safe trip home.

Kind regards

Kat Lloyd

Guests Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    77
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
20
126
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Really friendly people who were helpful with directions to restaurants. Good location. Rooms fine for a short stay. I'd booked in with friends but as a 'single', I was put into the room next to the proprietor's room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Very helpful before checking in. Gave us excellent dinner reccommendation to sails restaurant and even booked for us. Speedy reply to emails. Very basic motel rooms though, needs updating. Went to have breakfast and no bowls or spoons to have cereal. Also only sink is bathroom sink. Why provide toaster and kettle if no other basic kitchen facilities. Needs better blinds in room, not very dark. Could hear buzzer every time someone went into reception too.
Fine for a stopover but couldn't stay any longer than a night.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobbieMaddern, Owner at Harbour View Motel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
I would like to start by thanking you for booking a night stay with us at the Harbour View Motel.

I am sorry to hear that your suite did not suite your desires. In regards to your comments on the facilities in your room, I would like to remind you that you booked a motel suite not an apartment. You did how ever have the option to request a kitchenette suite, which are referred to in the room descriptions and include a kitchen sink, bowls and more cutlery. However we are more than happy to provide bowls and other crockery/cutlery to non kitchenette suites, should a guest request it. We even offer our guests the option of storing and preparing their crayfish, should they purchase one, to ensure they can enjoy one of the specialities of Robe without the hassle. In each suite we provide a kettle as we advertise “tea and coffee facilities available”, which includes a kettle to boil your water. The motel has a large rain water tank that guests can use to their full advantage and this includes making tea and coffee. As far as the toaster goes, we provide plates and knives, which are needed should our guests choose to have toast in the mornings. We feel that this is appropriate crockery for the use of a toaster, and proud of the fact that we offer this, as many motels do not.

It’s disappointing to hear that you found our Deluxe suite to be outdated, as suite 6 is one of the favourites amongst our coorperates and holidaymakers. A photo of this suite is used for all internet listings for our Deluxe suites and can also be seen here on Tripadvisor in the Professional Photos, it’s the one with the three seater black leather couch. In each of our ground level suites we have two sets of blinds. The first is a pull down blind which is semi-transparent from inside the suite, yet not from the outside. The other set of blinds are full block out curtains that allow guests to block out the light and provide privacy for themselves. I feel that perhaps you did not use the full block out curtains, as they would have levitated the issue of too much light coming into your suite.

In regards to your comments about the buzzer, I would like to thank you for bringing this to my attention and I have passed it onto management. I would also like to thank you for your comments in relation to the service you received. I am sure the staff will be pleased to know they were prompt with their pre-arrival service.

I do see that you did not enjoy other accommodation you booked on the Great Ocean Road so hopefully next time you will give us a chance and contact us directly for assistance in booking the right room for your stay.

I hope you had a safe trip home.

Regards

Robbie Maddern

Owner/Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great stopover motel. Clean. V friendly and nice staff. Room clean and spacious. Nice level walk into Robe. Surprised at how lovely Robe is. Could have stayed longer and would like to return (only there 1 night for GOR). Relative to other stops on this journey, would say it was a bit on the expensive side but decent value for what it was.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen L, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour View Motel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for your review as we enjoy reading about our guest’s time spent at the Harbour View Motel.

The motel is located only a short walk into the centre of town via the new walking trail. In front of the motel is the luscious green park land, Lipson Park, where guests can join the footpath and take a stroll along the foreshore towards the main street. There they will find the many eateries and shops that Robe has to offer. Alternatively they can choose to walk around the cliff line and experience the harbour via the picturesque scenic walk. We feel that the position of the motel is ideal, as guests can escape the hustle and bustle of the main street while still being able to access it with ease.

I am pleased to hear that you found your suite to be value for your money, as prices are dictated by demand in Robe and we take the time to ensure that we are on par with the other accommodation businesses in the town. We understand that not everyone can afford our Upstairs Panoramic View Suite, so we also offer three other standards of accommodation, each suited to its pricing. This allows guests who are on a budget to find suited accommodation for their needs.

I’m glad that you enjoyed your time in Robe and I hope that we can help you with your accommodation needs next time you are in the area.

Kind Regards

Kat Lloyd

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Room adequate for our overnight stop with information provided in advance about eating options and an offer to book for us (We elected for fish and chips in the car overlooking the harbour). Free WiFi very good and the first sighting of an echidna (near the beach, not in the room). Room spacious and clean but unable to see anything beyond my car parked right outside at the front of the hotel. It delivers what it promises

Room Tip: Aim High if at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen L, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour View Motel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
On behalf of the entire team at the Harbour View Motel, I would like to thank you for your review.

It is wonderful to hear that you found your suite to be “spacious and clean”. We realise that these are two items in which many of our guests look for, when it comes to choosing their accommodation. Each of our suites utilise the space to its full advantage, ensuring guests can have room to relax and feel at home. Our house keeping team works hard in ensuring that the cleanliness of each room is second to none in all aspects of the suites. By doing this we can ensure that our guests can unwind the moment they step foot into their room.

We have 4 types of suites on offer, each suited to their price and positioning in the motel. Located on the front of the building is the Ground Level View Suites which lookout onto the park land and marina, such as the one in which you stayed. When staying in these rooms, guests can choose where they leave their vehicle. Many enjoy the peace of mind when leavening their car in front of their suite. Others prefer to park in the courtyard or on the owner’s block next door, thus freeing up their view from the front of their suite. I am sorry to hear that you could not enjoy your view; we would however have been more than happy for you to park elsewhere.

Once again thank you for your review and I hope you had a safe trip home.

Kind regards

Kat Lloyd

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algarvia, Portugal
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

The motel is basic and ok for an overnight stop , if staying longer book a room with harbour view
the beds in the main motel are a little small
Free wifi very useful and close to town amenities
Well advised by staff on arrival of places to eat etc with helpful map
The town is very nice and worth a stop over if on the ocean road good restaurants and a lovely old pub


  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen L, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour View Motel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Harbour View Motel.

We aim to ensure that our guests can achieve the most out of their time with us. We are happy to offer plenty of advice and tips on the township of Robe. Details regarding eateries, events and activities are regularly updated with staff members to ensure that they can aid our guests in the best possible way. Also available to those staying at the motel is our Free Wifi, which can be accessed via details on the cards provided in the reception office. It’s important to us that you enjoy staying at the Harbour View Motel, and we feel that little thing like these can make all the difference.

Throughout the motel we have placed an industry standard queen size bed in each suite, or in the case of the Upstairs Panoramic View Suites, a king size bed. Any extra bed in the room is a standard single bed, also used throughout the hotel industry. When a guest books in, either in person, via a website, through a third party or by phone, we ensure our guests know the size of bed they will be staying in. We choose not to offer Double sized beds as they are out dated and most of our guests would requests larger beds. I’m sorry to hear that the size of the bed was not to your liking, I recommend that if you require a larger sized bed, that you consider one of our Upstairs Panoramic View Suite with the king size bed, to ensure that your needs are met.

I hope that you have a safe trip home and that we are able to help you with your accommodation needs next time you are in Robe.

Kind regards

Kat Lloyd

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The room was spacious and clean with nice bathroom and lovely soft towels. No Harbour view from the room - just the car park, but from the front great view over the harbour.
Owners really friendly and helpful with a useful rundown of what's in the area.
A bit pricey for what it was - but then Robe itself is pricey.

Room Tip: Dont have room 11 - its right next to the laundry (that does close at 8 o'clock at night and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen L, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour View Motel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
I would like to start off by thanking you for taking the time to leave a review. It is wonderful that you found your suite to be spacious and clean, as we find these things to be important to our guests.

We are proud of the product that we have to offer. Each low season, the owners, Robbie and Don, take the time to improve many of the suites, to ensure they are kept modern and stylish. In the months leading up to this year’s peak period, they chose to upgrade some of the bathrooms. This included new tiling, lighting, facilities and a fresh look. Along with this the staff take the time to ensure each of the suites, especially the bathrooms, are kept spotlessly clean.

In regards to the costing, all of our prices are influenced by demand in the area and are on par with the other accommodation businesses in Robe; to ensure a competitive price. We understand that not everyone is looking for, or can afford our Upstairs Panoramic View Suite, and for this reason we offer 4 types of accommodation. Our Ground Level Harbour View Suites, which lookout on to the marina and parkland, allows guests to enjoy a room with a view, without the higher price tag. For those who are after a room at an even cheaper price, we also offer two types of suites in the courtyard. By doing this, it allows guests to stay in a suite that is suited to their budget.

Once again, thank you for your review and I hope that you had a safe trip home.

Kind regards

Kat Lloyd

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Motel

Address: 2 Sturt St | PO Box 189, Robe, South Australia 5276, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Robe
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Robe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour View Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour View Motel brings you the best Robe accommodation there is on offer! Treat yourself to the luxury and comfort of the only motel in Robe with uninterrupted panoramic views overlooking the marina and the stunning Guichen Bay. Winner of the Limestone Coast WIN TV Hall of Fame and a Multi Award Winner of the Boutique Motel & Excellence in Tourism/Motels 4 Stars, this 4 star motel is the perfect spot to relax and enjoy the outdoor life, and is a superb choice for a romantic break or holiday with the family. Most appealing is the diverse variety of room types available at affordable prices. Family owned and operated for 10 years, happy to offer our local knowledge, service with a smile! While at Robe, you will experience perfect sea views, beaches, historic buildings, scenic drives, walking trails, cafes and local wineries during the day. Robe’s night life comes alive with a choice of restaurants, hotels and a pizzeria, all with their own special influence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harbour View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour View Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.