We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Must at Coonawarra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added A Must at Coonawarra to your Saves list
A Must at Coonawarra
126 Church Street, Penola, South Australia 5277, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Penola B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An excellent choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed for two nights at this modern well run and friendly up market studios in Penola Richard and Alison are friendly and thoughtful hosts A great base for touring the many excellent vineyards nearby Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Owner at A Must at Coonawarra, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your review, and I hope your whole holiday in SA has been wonderfull, hope to see you both again,

Regards
Richard & Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    26
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
53
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We recently stayed 4 nights at Must and had a terrible experience. The room was smelly, dusty and noisy as it is situated on the main road in Penola. Breakfast was the bare minimum with 4 pieces of bread, 2 25g boxes of cereal and a jug of milk. What topped off the horrible experience occurred after we checked-out. I had booked 3 rooms initially through wotif and later called Richard, the owner, to add an extra night. On the morning we checked-out, after leisurely packing up our car, we handed our room keys to the house-keeper who was walking past heading towards our room to clean it, bid her farewell and drove off. This was at 10 minutes past 10am. We were driving back to Melbourne and my mobile was out of signal range until we reached Lake Bolac. When we arrived at Lake Bolac at 1pm, I was surprised to find 3 missed calls from Richard accusing us of leaving without paying for the extra night and threatening to contact the police if we did not call within the hour. I thought I had given him my credit card details when I called initially to book the extra night. I called back immediately and am greeted by a rude and angry Richard. After giving him my credit card details, he added that he was going to charge us a late check-out fee and credit card fee. I argued that we have stayed in hotels in Australia and around the world and that checking out 10 minutes late has never incurred a late check-out fee. He retorted that because we had given our key to the house keeper and that he only saw her later that morning, it was later than 10 minutes. I argued that the house-keeper should have informed us to hand our keys in to reception if there were strict house rules about check-out. I agreed to pay the agreed rate for the extra night but not the late check-out fee or credit card fee, which he had said there would be no credit card charge when i called to book initially. On checking my credit card bill, Richard has taken his liberties and charged the additional fees.
Overall it was a horrible, unpleasant experience and it definitely spoilt our holiday. Richard was rude and unreasonable to deal with.He repeatedly hung up on us when we tried to explain the events that occurred on the day of check-out. I would strongly discourage anyone to stay here.

Dr Pearly Ngeow.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Owner at A Must at Coonawarra, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Pearly Graham and her partner stayed with us for a number of nights, and everthing was fine, however when it came time to check out this couple decided that they would do a runner and not pay, after a number of phone calls and finally the threat of police action they decided to return my phone calls, in which they said that we did not have their credit card number and that they were not going to pay for the extra night ( other nights had been paid by wotif ) they then said if we persue them they would write bad reports on social media site which they have now done. I can not reply any further other than to say we are instigating legal action against them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The most comfortable, casual accomodation that one could wish for. Someone has given these suites a lot of thought - from the way the light switches were positioned to the way the bathroom worked.
To find a bathroom which has excellent lighting, good heating and ventilation, a large well designed shower and a separate toilet is a real bonus.

The kitchen was extremely well and generously equipped with good quality appliances and utensils, the settees in the louge area were comfortable with lots of cushions and even a throw rug. There was a separate little desk area and a good size dining table.

There was a good quality sound system, a large T.V. and DVD player in the lounge area as well as a second flat screen T.V. in the bedroom.

The whole place was spotless inside and out and was obviously very well maintained.

The owners were extremely friendly and hospitable, they clearly knew the area well and were happy to share this knowledge, they had also provided comprehensive amounts of tourist information in the rooms.

We really enjoyed our two nights and have no reservations about recommending Must to anyone contemplating spending a few days in the Coonawarra region.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Owner at A Must at Coonawarra, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are very poleased to hear you enjoyed your stay hear and in the district, look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Coonawarra,
Cheers
Richard & Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Three of us stayed here in August 2012 and were pleasantly surprised with the service and friendly owners. The accommodation was first class. The package included a visit to a winery for chocolate and wine taisting plus drop off and pick up at a local restaurant in the Bentley for dinner.
Would have no hesitation in recommennding this establishment to anyone and if we return it would be on top of our list.

Room Tip: All rooms ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Owner at A Must at Coonawarra, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you Peter, allways glad to here that you have enjoyed your stay and the region.
Cheers
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Very welcoming staff. Videos to borrow. Well positioned. Great recommendation for meals at Fodder. Even made a booking for us. Swish but not too much. We'll be back. Thanks for making us feel welcome.

Room Tip: I have to rate a fitness centre and swimming pool - didn't see either of them so above points N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Owner at A Must at Coonawarra, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Hi! Thank you for the review, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay as that is our prime concern, and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millicent
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

all though it was clean and nice was very disappointing. It states luxury accommodation to me it was just nice with no extras that I would except with luxury accommodation. Very noisy. No salt,pepper, oil or even glad wrap in the room and they charge 15 for any breakages. Would love to see the extras added as that is what makes it luxury. Only one thing of shampoo when two are staying doesn't make sense. Mini bar was well priced

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Owner at A Must at Coonawarra, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for your input, we do supply soaps,shampoo conditioner,body lotion and body wash on a daily basis, pepper and salt is in the kitchen cupboard, anythind else we do supply on request, I suppose accommodation properties could supply an endless amount of complimentairies however the room rates would then be more expensive. As to the breakage cost it is discretionary as is charges for late check out and late arrivals, this is a practice in most properties around the world. As to the discription as Luxuary this is a term that is relative and in saying that this property has won no less than six tourism awards in the luxuary catagory. And as per our previous email correspondence we did not charge you for the extra cleaning due to the way the property was left nor did we charge you for the very late arrival. It is also clear from your email that pehaps you have not travelled a lot and please next time choose some one else.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our weekend stay at Must. The room was modern and clean, with a lovely corner spa in the bathroom. We had friends stay with us for one night and they slept on the sofa bed, which they said was very comfortable. It isn't a secluded style of accommodation, with rooms either side, so if you are looking for more privacy perhaps this wont suit you. My husband dealt with the owner and found him to be very helpful and friendly. Only problem was that, even though there were cooking facilities in our room, there were no oils, condiments or salt and pepper in the room to use. As we were on a bit of a budget we cooked both evenings in the room, the first night we needed to borrow oil from the owner and we then needed to buy oil, salt and pepper, etc the next day. Pillows were quite firm too, so if you like a softer style perhaps bring your own. It's in a great location, on the edge of town so you still have the town's facilities close by but also close to the vineyards of Coonawarra. Overall a lovely place to stay for a weekend getaway in a lovely town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Owner at A Must at Coonawarra, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Hi Felicity,

thank you for your response and am glad to here you enjoyed your stay and the town.

As to the complimentary supplies in the apartments it is always hard to know how far to go, especially with items that have a short self life or not possible to supply in small quantities, however we are more than willing to supply on request as your husband requested. We try to ensure all guests have what they need to enjoy their stay.

Cheers
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Must at Coonawarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Must at Coonawarra

Address: 126 Church Street, Penola, South Australia 5277, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Penola
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Penola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning luxury accommodation in the world famous Coonawarra wine region, and just walking distance to the cafe's,galleries and shops of Penola. Self-contained luxury apartments with free WiFi and DVD library,off street parking, native gardens and guest BBQ area. Well located to explore the Limestone coast and the world heritage caves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your A Must at Coonawarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Must at Coonawarra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.