We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disspointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of A Must at Coonawarra

Save Saved
You added A Must at Coonawarra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A Must at Coonawarra
126 Church Street, Penola, South Australia 5277, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT DEAL
Ranked #1 of 3 Penola B&B and Inns
Millicent
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“disspointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

all though it was clean and nice was very disappointing. It states luxury accommodation to me it was just nice with no extras that I would except with luxury accommodation. Very noisy. No salt,pepper, oil or even glad wrap in the room and they charge 15 for any breakages. Would love to see the extras added as that is what makes it luxury. Only one thing of shampoo when two are staying doesn't make sense. Mini bar was well priced

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Owner at A Must at Coonawarra, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for your input, we do supply soaps,shampoo conditioner,body lotion and body wash on a daily basis, pepper and salt is in the kitchen cupboard, anythind else we do supply on request, I suppose accommodation properties could supply an endless amount of complimentairies however the room rates would then be more expensive. As to the breakage cost it is discretionary as is charges for late check out and late arrivals, this is a practice in most properties around the world. As to the discription as Luxuary this is a term that is relative and in saying that this property has won no less than six tourism awards in the luxuary catagory. And as per our previous email correspondence we did not charge you for the extra cleaning due to the way the property was left nor did we charge you for the very late arrival. It is also clear from your email that pehaps you have not travelled a lot and please next time choose some one else.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    20
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
43
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Gambier, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our weekend stay at Must. The room was modern and clean, with a lovely corner spa in the bathroom. We had friends stay with us for one night and they slept on the sofa bed, which they said was very comfortable. It isn't a secluded style of accommodation, with rooms either side, so if you are looking for more privacy perhaps this wont suit you. My husband dealt with the owner and found him to be very helpful and friendly. Only problem was that, even though there were cooking facilities in our room, there were no oils, condiments or salt and pepper in the room to use. As we were on a bit of a budget we cooked both evenings in the room, the first night we needed to borrow oil from the owner and we then needed to buy oil, salt and pepper, etc the next day. Pillows were quite firm too, so if you like a softer style perhaps bring your own. It's in a great location, on the edge of town so you still have the town's facilities close by but also close to the vineyards of Coonawarra. Overall a lovely place to stay for a weekend getaway in a lovely town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Owner at A Must at Coonawarra, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Hi Felicity,

thank you for your response and am glad to here you enjoyed your stay and the town.

As to the complimentary supplies in the apartments it is always hard to know how far to go, especially with items that have a short self life or not possible to supply in small quantities, however we are more than willing to supply on request as your husband requested. We try to ensure all guests have what they need to enjoy their stay.

Cheers
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

My wife and i stayed here for 2 days taking up their winter package. Richard (the owner) was very friendly and drove us to vineyards in his Bentley. The experience was delightful! Location wise it is at a perfect spot whereby vineyard is on one side and the town center is on the other.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at A Must at Coonawarra, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for the response, we do appreciate all responses and am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to seeing you again.

Cheers
Richard & Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay, clean, modern and comfortable - room was a bit noisy to outside noise however.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at A Must at Coonawarra, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Hi! Shin,

Thank you for your input, I am glad you enjoyed your stay, we have taken onboard your comment that the front apartments can have some unwanted noise, so we have acted and had the curtain company replace the vertical blinds with heavy duty cloth curtains and pelments, which they promise will stop any unwanted noise.

Thank you again and hope to see you again in the lovely Coonawarra district.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell Beach
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The proprietors, Richard and Allison, are wonderful! We arrived a bit earlier than check in time however they were gracious and helpful. The room was modern, efficient and very comfortable. We rented bicycles and rode up the highway to quite a few wineries. The following day on our way to Adelaide I realized that I had left our camera in a backpack they loaned to us and contacted them upon our arrival in Adelaide. Richard went to the post office that afternoon and we received the camera the next day. The breakfast provisions in the room (included in the cost of the stay) were fresh and just perfect. We would go back again for sure!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at A Must at Coonawarra, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Hi Wynelover,

Thank you for your review, Alison and I certainly appreciate all feed back.
We hope you are still enjoying some wines from here and look forward to your next stay,

Thanks
Richard & Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

This is a modern, clean, spacious, well-appointed complex of rooms. But it is nonetheless a characterless motel.
The reception is efficient, but unfriendly and unhelpful (restaurants, food shopping, local info, etc.). Effectively, one is supposed to go the room, be independent and stay there.
Continental breakfast was basic but sufficient.
Rooms are very noisy from neighbouring guests (TV, sex, etc.).
There are much nicer accommodation options in Penola with more charm and welcome and at a more reasonable price.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at A Must at Coonawarra, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Hi Cranny,

Sorry to take so long to reply, and I am disappointed that the property was not to your taste, our objective is to allow guests to be relaxed in a clean modern property, and not harassed by over the top owners, and be there to answer any concerns.

As to the pricing we are mindfull of rates and in fact the rates have not changed in two years,
and as our apartments have spa's,full kitchens, surround sound flat screen TV'ds, free DVD libary and free continental breakfast, the majority of our guest do believe the rate is value.
Rates are very important in all accommodation properties to maintain a high level of condition,
with out some profit any property will quickly go into disrepair .

I hope this goes someway to answer your review which is very much appreciated.

Regards
Alison & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanunda, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

What a great clean and frindly place to stay. Nothing too much trouble with meal reservations booked for us. Loved the shower! and great to have rainwater.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at A Must at Coonawarra, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Hi! SM59_7

Thank you for your review, we are both glad to here of your enjoyable stay, as owners we do try to please everybody, perhaps not allways succesfull but the reviews do help us to rectify any problems. Look forward to seeing you again.

Cheers from
Alison & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A Must at Coonawarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Must at Coonawarra

Address: 126 Church Street, Penola, South Australia 5277, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Penola
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Penola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning luxury accommodation in the world famous Coonawarra wine region, and just walking distance to the cafe's,galleries and shops of Penola. Self-contained luxury apartments with free WiFi and DVD library,off street parking, native gardens and guest BBQ area. Well located to explore the Limestone coast and the world heritage caves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your A Must at Coonawarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Must at Coonawarra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.