We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise in Penola” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penola Station Restaurant

Penola Station Restaurant
48 Church Street, Penola, South Australia, Australia (Formerly Terra Rossa Wine Club)
+61 8 8737 3350
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 8 Restaurants in Penola
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Balmain, Australia
Top Contributor
325 reviews 325 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise in Penola”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stuck for somewhere to go for dinner in Penola one night, we thought we should try Penola Station, but did so without any great expectation. Wow, were we ever surprised! Very modern design, with the inevitable wine barrels included of course, it both very clean and uncluttered. The service was first rate, tables well spaced so noise was limited, the menu was surprisingly broad and the wine list well balanced. We elected to try two entrees each for a change and were delighted by the presentation and the quality of the food. This is a must if visiting Penola!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    22
    11
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Millicent, South Australia, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We have traveled from Millicent to Penola station on nuremours occasions to taste the great sensational tastes that come from the kitchen the pork belly is to die for.We also attended there Degustation the entire Menu was executed perfectly, all wines were matched exquisitely. This bought a whole new appreciation to wine & food. A Magnificent job by all staff especially head chef Tom. Also must Commend management for having good disable facilities hard to find at a lot of restaurants.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penola
1 review
“A Locals View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Last review stated no locals review here. So here you go. LOVE this place, I eat at Penola Station at least once a week including take aways (my steak even done to perfection), which they do happily :) . I have never been disappointed. I refer a lot of people here and to my knowledge all are just as satisfied. We all know how great Pipers is and POW has some of the best pub food I have ever had, but the crew at Penola Station needs to be commended for giving Penola/Coonawarra another fantastic eatery and I for one will continue to enjoy their hospitality and incredible food and to recommend it to my customers and guests.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Dont be so unkind to yourself”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

I am so disappointed by my dining experience here. I have eaten here a couple of times previously and it has been average at best. I was really surprised to see it has rated so highly on Trip Advisor. I am keen to support local business (even though the locals dont rate this place) so went here for dinner with a couple of friends, but really wished we had gone elsewhere. The food was awful (I couldn't eat it all) and overpriced. $31 for my main. We all agreed we could have had a perfectly nice meal at the Prince of Wales pub for half the price or paid just a few dollars more for a fantastic dining experience at Pipers. I'd recommend either of those two places depending on what type of dining experience you're after, and give this one the bum steer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in penola for a family get together, went to penola station for dinner Saturday night. Eight of us all had something different & all enjoyed our meals. Food great & very reasonably priced. Will go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penola Station Restaurant also viewed

Penola, South Australia
 
Penola, South Australia
Penola, South Australia
 

Been to Penola Station Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penola Station Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.