We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spacious ad friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Cameron Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Alexander Cameron Suites to your Saves list
Alexander Cameron Suites
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   23-25 Church Street, Penola, South Australia 5277, Australia (Formerly Alexander Cameron Motel & Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Penola
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
“spacious ad friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The room was very spacious, Very very very large for the configuration of 1 queen and 1 single for three persons. more than adequate equipment for basic heating of the food. very clean room. bathroom are very large and spacious as well. TV may be a little small for that size of the room. A little bigger is better, since the viewing distance from the bed to the tv was quite far.

The staffs are very friendly and helpful. The town is small, yet nice and very quiet for relaxation.
Recommended to spend at least one night. Perhaps I will stay more than one night in my next trip

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    35
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
66
2
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Lovely motel in Penola- was surprised at how big the rooms and bathrooms were, given the price! Rooms were clean, neatly decorated and quiet. Comes with a good TV and you can pick up a DVD player and browse the up to date DVD collection at the reception at no cost! There's also free wifi available.

It is located just at the start of the main street with cafe's/ shops, and is right next door to IGA if you wanted supplies. We walked to the award winning Pipers of Penola restaurant ( highly recommended!) which was a block from the motel. Perfect base to explore the Penola/Coonawara region! My only recommendation would be to have a bit more cutlery available- and given that it is a wine region, we were rather surprised at the lack of any bottle openers available!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The motel is well located just out of the retail strip of the main street but only a couple of minutes walk to the shops, cafes etc. We were pleasantly surprised by the rooms, very spacious, recently renovated, clean, comfortable and quiet. The rooms are set back from the street and away from the constant rumbling of the semi-trailers through the town, which can be very noisy. Staff were very friendly and helpful with recommendations Excellent value for money, we would certainly stay there again. TIP: There are a couple of very good restaurants in town but best pub meal was at the Prince of Wales.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our first over night stop out from Adelaide and what a delight. The Unit was clean, large, tastefully decorated and didn't have that "beaten up"look that a lot of motels across Australia have. The bathroom was gigantic with snow white towels and spotless facilities.
I would say it is one of the best accommodation we have stayed in in Australia.
The welcome was great and the view from our room, almost a Hans Heyson painting, with grazing cattle and the famous South Australian Gums. About 1 minute away is a large IGA store with about everything you need to make a meal. We really rate this stayover.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the land with the grazing cattle (if they are still there), its worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was my second stay at this property, and management has changed since my first
Penola is a very good base for exploring the many delights of the Coonawarra district, and this is a very fine home base in Penola
The property sits on the outskirts of the town, opposite a park and with plenty of open space around it, an easy walk from shops and eateries, and very conveniently located next door to an IGA supermarket
The overall atmosphere is 'country', with sheep and cattle grazing just out the back under delightful mature trees
The rooms are generous and spacious (huge bathroom), all on one level, pleasing decor, nicely furnished (very big TV!), well appointed, small but useful kitchen, very clean and well maintained, parking and access very easy
The manager demonstrates great care for the guests and clearly has a passion for the property and the industry in general; very helpful and a great advocate for the Limestone Coast region
Overall: you can't go wrong

Room Tip: Go for a king room if still available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barwon Heads, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Thanks Marnee,
We had a lovely stay for 2 nights on our way to Adelaide, then a very welcome short notice overnighter on the way back.
Well done to the cleaners, the accommodation was spotless.
The units are very spacious, the motel is close to all facilities. Highly recommend.
You will feel very welcome.
Jon & Trina

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were members of a large group who stayed four nights to take in the wines and other attractions in and around Penola. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Alexander Cameron. The rooms are probably the best I have experienced across the wine regions we have visited. No restaurant on site, but the units have a small kitchen, microwave, toaster etc to self cater and you can order a continental breakfast from reception. The fridge was a very accommodating size. Staff are friendly and very helpful. We would love to stay there again and we'll probably be fighting for the east side views, despite all the rooms being of high standard.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a high quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander Cameron Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Cameron Suites

Address: 23-25 Church Street, Penola, South Australia 5277, Australia (Formerly Alexander Cameron Motel & Apartments)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Penola
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Penola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander Cameron Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Alexander Cameron Suites situated in the centre of historic Penola. Our accommodation is designed around and amongst majestic red gums whose range of colours has been skillfully incorporated into the building and furnishings. Built within easy distance of Penola's renowned cafes, restaurants and hotels we offer the choice of the district to tantalize the most discerning palate. Eighteen quality new suites specially designed to enhance the ambiance and history of Penola offer a range of options for the busy traveler to the indulgent connoisseur. Penola boasts many attractions, set amidst the great vineyards of Coonawarra the area is a mecca for lovers of wine, students of history and scholars of culture and religion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Alexander Cameron Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Cameron Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.