We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Cameron Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alexander Cameron Suites to your Saves list
Alexander Cameron Suites
23-25 Church Street, Penola, South Australia 5277, Australia (Formerly Alexander Cameron Motel & Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Penola
sydney
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011 via mobile

For what it is this is a great motel. Large rooms, good heating and convenient location just a few hundred meters from the main town strip. As expected it was nothing flash but definitely great value.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    31
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
58
2
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

I booked a deluxe bedroom on the internet, requesting a confirmation via email, the confirmation was quick. Upon arrival the motel ticked all the boxes, clean, large room, very comfortable, friendly staff. We would return and only wish other motels could live up to this standard.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Our extended family of 6 stayed at the Alexander Cameron Motel on our way from Adelaide to Melbourne, as we wanted to stop by the wine district. We were sure the motel was recently renovated, as the rooms were in mint condition. We were told they were not, the motel was built in 2004. It is certainly well kept! The kids loved playing with Cooper the dog, and it was great to relax on the lawn outside the rooms. The rooms were big with one double and one single bed. Baths were nice and big too. Foodstore next door and bottleshop/restaurants just down the street. You could not ask for anything else in a hotel, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Martha Vic Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

From the very warm, friendly welcome at reception on arrival to our departure 2 days later, the Alexander Cameron Motel was by far the best accommodation we had stayed on our week long trip to South Australia. It was MUCH better than the 4 star Adelaide property we stayed in for the 4 previous nights.

The room itself was huge and we appreciated the thoughtful allocation of rooms which meant that we did not have immediate neighbours on the first night when the motel was not full.

The motel is quiet (even though it is on the main highway.and is 3 minutes walk from the lovely Heywoods Royal Oak Hotel which serves very good pub ( and huge!!) meals - great if you've spent the day visiting the local Coonawarra wineries. There is a supermarket next door so if you want to buy breakfast provisions you can do so easily.

I would recommend this motel to anyone and everyone and next time we travel to Coonawarra we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

The place will forever be remembered for its huge rooms. You could fit around 8 King size beds in the room. The TV needs to be huge so you can see it. The hotel is well located, well priced and well furnished. No wonder it was full in the middle of the off season.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

We were really impressed with the Alexander Cameron, named after a local big wig who seemed to own most of the land Penola is built on. It's obviously very new and as soon as we pulled up outside reception we knew we'd picked a good place to stay.

The owners/managers were pleasant and helpful. A friendly black lab named 'Cooper' wanders about and loved a pat.

Our room was quite large, with a massive bathroom and flat screen TV.

The courtyard has a nice grassed area, which makes a pleasant change from a bitumen expanse. Another guest was airing their tent on it.

The motel is well-situated, an easy walk to the centre of town but far enough away to be nice and quiet. There is a park across the street.

Overall, an excellent place to stay whilst exploring all of Penola's charms. We also received a discount for checking out before 10:00. We recommended it to my wife's sister, who found it to be utopian after an indifferent stay the previous night in Victor Harbor.

This place deserves to do well.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander Cameron Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Cameron Suites

Address: 23-25 Church Street, Penola, South Australia 5277, Australia (Formerly Alexander Cameron Motel & Apartments)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Penola
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Penola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Alexander Cameron Suites in the centre of historic Penola. Our accommodation is designed around and amongst majestic red gums whose range of colours has been skillfully incorporated into the building and furnishings. Built within easy distance of Penola's renowned cafes, restaurants and hotels we offer the choice of the district to tantalize the most discerning palate. Eighteen quality new suites specially designed to enhance the ambiance and history of Penola offer a range of options for the busy traveler to the indulgent connoisseur. Penola boasts many attractions, set amidst the great vineyards of Coonawarra the area is a mecca for lovers of wine, students of history and scholars of culture and religion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Alexander Cameron Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Cameron Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.