We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your time” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wolf Blass

Wolf Blass
97 Sturt Highway, Nuriootpa, South Australia, Australia
(08) 8568 7311
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 11 Attractions in Nuriootpa
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We've visited about 12 wineries this weekend and this is the worst. The staff are unfriendly and uninterested. It is a large commercialised winery with no personalisation and is not worth the drive. Don't bother. It's very disappointing. There are far nicer places to visit in the Barossa.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    7
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We've visited about 12 wineries this weekend and this is the worst. The staff are unfriendly and uninterested. It is a large commercialised winery with no personalisation and is not worth the drive. Don't bother. It's very disappointing. There are far nicer places to visit in the Barossa.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Plenty of Better Options”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Not only is Wolfe Blass situated well away from many of the other cellar doors it lacks any character and is cold and sterile. The staff are well versed in the product but it all seemed a bit rehearsed and they lacked commitment and passion.
The wines are Ok but there are more exciting wines elsewhere.
I tried to get a coffee but no staff in the cafe and no-one seemed interested in serving me, even though I waited around for 5 mins.
There is so much more on offer in the Barossa, with history, character and staff who are passionate about their work and the products they represent.
Pick almost anywhere else to visit but seriously give this one a miss.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great wine experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

A big well known winery/ cellar door and function centre in the Barossa wine region of South Australia. While I had tasted some of the lower and mid range wines previously I was particularly impressed with the top of the range. Most wines are available free for tasting and you can also pay to taste some others from the barrel. We found the staff very helpful, knowledgeable about the wines and friendly. Quite a busy place and definitely worth a visit but the price of the wines are probably more expensive here than at Dan Murphys.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Grand sized, and commericial”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Much like the Jacob's Creek Visitor Centre, the Wolf Blass cellar door is large, architecturally beautiful and very commercial!

They do very good marketing here, but unlike Jacob's Creek actually have some decent drops here if you're prepared to pay. You will get better value for money wines at smaller wineries, but at least with Wolf Blass wines you generally know what you're getting.

If you like your wines stick to the grey, black, and platinum labels, though you can come across some great finds in the yellow and gold series depending on the vintage / varietal. I have been here twice and never seen truckloads of bus tours like the Jacob's Creek visitor centre, but maybe I visit before the droves do each time!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wolf Blass also viewed

 
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
Seppeltsfield, Barossa Valley
 

Been to Wolf Blass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wolf Blass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.