We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of moonta hotel

moonta hotel
1 george street moonta | crn of george and blanche tce, Moonta, South Australia, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in Moonta
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The food was delicious and the service was average. We went in a group of eight and all received our meals on time and the food was great quality it tasted great! Everyone enjoyed they're meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sensational food, service and hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

After a long hot drive to Moonta we arrived late (around 8o'clock), looking for a late tea. We decided to call in to the Moonta hotel after it was recommended to us by a friend. However being a country pub our expectations weren't high. Wow did we get a shock! The lay out of this pub is excellent with inviting lounges on the alfresco area, great to relax and have a drink and watch the cricket on the plasma t.v. As soon as we walked in we were politely greeted and waited upon. The waiter did a great job fitting us in and finding us a table as the pub was very busy. The meals was most surprising (we recommend the pistachio chicken, lamb shanks, seafood platter and fish and chips for the little ones!) The serving sizes were perfect and the meals were delicious! the food came out just on time and what was most delightful was having the free salad and veg bar to tie us over before our meals :) All in all we were very pleased with this pub and definitely recommended it as it is one of the best in moonta! HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY! we will be back again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

After a quick visit in Moonta on a 40degree day we decided to pop in for a few coldies and dinner with the kids. We were greeted quickly by a lovely woman who the whole time we were there was bubbly and gave wonderful service (Bec?). Wine list could do with a small upgrade. The food was good pub grub we had the seafood platter and shared it and the kids had the normal kids meal selections. Would definitely pop back in!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victor harbor
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have enjoyed the Moonta pub on many occasions over the years. Have always found the service to be friendly and the food good.One needs to recognise it is a country pub and not a 5 star establishment. Always presents a good menu with daily specials. Good value.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Average food, long wait for food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

It's a busy little pub on a Saturday night but we chose to eat here because of the reviews on trip advisor and also because of the kids room for our young son. The kids room is dark and dingy and very small, with few toys. We ordered promptly after we arrived at our booking time of 7pm and were still waiting for our food at 845pm with no apology from staff. Needless to say our young son was beside himself and ready for bed at this stage and the 3 of us adults were ravenous. Unfortunately the food was not worth waiting for. The fishermans basket was overcooked and the barramundi was very bland. We were really disappointed and would not eat or drink there again. Cafe Capellas or the Patio a much better choice.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed moonta hotel also viewed

Moonta, South Australia
 
Wallaroo, South Australia
Moonta, South Australia
 

Been to moonta hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage moonta hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.