We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, comfortable rooms and fantastic hosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbotsford Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Abbotsford Country House to your Saves list
Abbotsford Country House
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   219 Yaldara Drive, Lyndoch, South Australia 5351, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Lyndoch B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Amazing location, comfortable rooms and fantastic hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed here over the easter weekend with my fiance, the location is simply stunning with views across the valley. The rooms are very comfortable and the guest house well thought out. The only complaint we had was the fridge in our room was noisy, but we just turned it off. Julian and Jane the hosts are fantastic - the breakfasts are great and they provided lots of useful advice and reccomendations. I would definitely reccommend this to anyone going to the Barossa!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    16
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
71
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed one night in the Easter time with my husband in Abbotsford Country House and would warmly recommend this place to anyone who enjoyes calm environment and beautiful rooms.

There were also some lovely products in our room like locally produced fudge and fortified/port wine that we found very thoughtfull. There wasn’t any tv in the room and we think this made the experience even more relaxing.

Julian and Jane are very committed to their work and helped us in making reservations for dinner and to find lovely lunch places and wineries. We would recommend this place especially for couples who enjoy the opportunity to have a peaceful and relaxing place to escape for couple of days.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We cannot fault this property. For a B&B, it set a very high standard and is a little more private as you stay in cottages at the back of the main house.

I can recommend staying in a Super Deluxe suite. Whilst the rooms don't appear to be any larger or more luxurious than the other rooms, the views are much better and spectacular at sunset and sunrise.

Set down the backstreets of the Barossa (off quaint country gravel roads) you really feel like you've gotten away from it all. You are surrounded by vineyards and large properties with cattle. It was exactly what we'd hoped for in a Barossa getaway.

Breakfasts were also a highlight for us. Jane and Julian to a wonderful tag-team job in the kitchen making sure everyone is looked after. The food is totally local and it shows - it was delicious.

Location wise, we liked the fact it was 10 minutes away from Tanunda, the main township. Lyndoch, where it's situated, has to be one of the prettiest parts of the Barossa. Taxis are not a problem if you want to go out and have a nice dinner and drinks. Although, they are expensive (we paid $120 return trip to get from Lyndoch to The Louise for dinner and then back again).

Food wise, you cannot go past the Lord Lyndoch (only a few minutes down the road by car). Whilst it's a little quirky to look at, the food is sensational and they use local produce. I would also suggest dinner at The Louise. Try their degustation menu as they use locally sourced produce and matched wines. It was a lovely and romantic experience but book 4 weeks ahead to secure a table.

We would definitely look to go back next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night of a 8 week tour of Australia/NZ of which we stayed in numerous hotels and guest houses, but we rate this in the top three. It was the ideal base for touring the Barossa valley and the accomodation was very spacious and comfortable, and your every need was catered for - including the complimentary port! The owners were very hospitable and really made us feel at home. Beautiful location!

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same size and all on the ground floor, so all are equally as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012 via mobile

This inn is a bit isolated for me. It is located in the middle of fields connected to a distant road by a gravel path. This is not a place for early morning walks or a coffee shop stopover. But if you like quiet and seclusion, this would be a winner.
The owners are nice and the breakfast will fill you with good hot food. They offer wine to purchase in the evening but no snacks or cheese on the premises. If you want something to nibble on, plan a trip to the grocery store in town.
The location is a short drive to many wineries.
I prefer to be closer to town and like to take walks but others less active and seeking quiet and seclusion will especially like this place.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

I fail to see why a previous visitor found cause for complaint as the rooms at Abbotsford are first class - very clean, the furniture beautiful individual antiques (not mass produced veneered wood which may match), a comfortable sofa, a fridge for lovely Barossa wines and the 'twig' was a piece of very old and gnarled vine with lights on for a Christmassy feel! The views in every direction are beautiful and it is well located for visiting the Barossa area with many wineries and places to eat nearby. It is a very relaxing place with no tv or internet in the bedrooms for a peaceful, away from it all stay (wifi in the lounge). I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed here with a small group of friends for a weekend get away in the Barossa, it was the perfect B&B stay. The rooms are beautifully decorated and so spacious with the most amazing bathroom!

The B&B over looks the hills, the grounds are surrounded by beautiful roses gardens and impressive hedges.

Jane and Julian are ever so friendly and make you feel right at home, they also cook a great breakfast.

All in all, I highly recommend Abbotsford Country House for a relaxing weekend away.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbotsford Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbotsford Country House

Address: 219 Yaldara Drive, Lyndoch, South Australia 5351, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Lyndoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Abbotsford Country House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in the Barossa at award-winning Abbotsford Country House. Enjoying breathtaking views and well-placed location to tour the Adelaide Hills and Clare wine regions. This fully hosted, Colonial Georgian guesthouse has 8 beautifully appointed suites, each with substantial ensuites. Abbotsford promises an intimate stay and personalized service dedicated to a truly memorable Barossan food and wine experience. Includes: Full breakfast daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Abbotsford Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbotsford Country House Hotel Lyndoch
Abbotsford Country Hotel
Abbotsford Country House Lyndoch, Barossa Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbotsford Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.