We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodation for the price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lyndoch Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lyndoch Hill to your Saves list
Lyndoch Hill
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   cnr of Barossa Valley Way & Hermann Thumm Dr, Lyndoch, South Australia 5351, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Lyndoch B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good accommodation for the price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at Lyndoch Hill as part of a package deal and we were very happy with our room and the accommodation in general. It is not flash but we believe it is good value for money. Included in our package was continental breakfast which is taken in the restaurant. Here there are very good views. The best part is a short walk to Chateau Barrosa were you can visit the personal collection of Herman Thumm for a $10 entry fee. we were not aware this place existed and that the Queen officially opened it. It is a fantastic collection well worth the cost of entry. How one couple could amass such treasures is amazing and now their family allow the public to see it. Great stuff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    49
    38
    34
    28
See reviews for
21
119
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mildura
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We recently stayed here for a family event, in Merlot House.

Firstly, the staff were excellent, which is always the most important thing in my opinion.

We had trouble finding Merlot House, there are no signs, even on the front of the house - it needs a sign on the building so you know where your are. The house is old, 70's cream brick, and needs a renovation - dark brown floor tiles in the bathroom, cracked glass shower screen, old plastic tapware, old fashioned timber paneling on the lounge room wall. The girls weren't happy that none of the mirrors had any form of lighting - smartphone torches were used for applying makeupa s the rooms were very dark.

It was clean however, unlike some of the other reviews here, and so as long as you don't need 4 star luxury it's ok for the price.

From the outside a lot of the other rooms looked quite dilapidated, and old. We didn't get to see inside them.

Dinner at the restaurant was good, could have been great but lacked some finishing touches. Staff were great, once again. The house brand of wine was very good and all drinks were reasonably priced.

The rose garden is a bit untidy, and obviously no flowers since mid-winter. In spring I imagine it would be fantastic.

I believe the property has recently been taken over and the new owners have plans to upgrade the place. If I could make a few suggestions to the owners - spend some money on updating the look of the place (render over the old 70's brickwork), strip and refurbish kitchen/bathrooms, put signs out the front of the houses, put some lights along the path from houses to restaurant (it's pitch black dark), tidy up the dripline hoses laying around the rose garden and put down new mulch. Can't do much about the winery smell, but I guess that's all part of the Barossa Valley experience :-)

This place has the potential to be excellent, hopefully it will continue to improve as they fix the few remaining issues.

Nothing to do with Lyndoch Hill, but for travelers to Lyndoch - we missed breakfast at the restaurant (our fault) so grabbed breakfast at the Lyndoch Bakery in town - never again. $90 for the 4 of us, my omelet was literally floating in oil/melted butter, and was pretty much inedible. They burnt the bacon on one plate, missed it altogether on the other, and tried to pass off someone else's order onto us.... terrible, don't go to the Lyndoch Bakery.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I have stayed here numerous times and every time it has been simply fabulous. Remembering this site has been marketed as a motel everything within the rooms & restaurant was certainly up to standard! We enjoyed our beautiful room, flat screen tv, reverse cycle air conditioning, and our facilities to make coffee and tea. The bathrooms were very clean (I'm not sure of these other reviews??), in fact we saw the rooms cleaned twice in the time we were there!! The property itself isn't in rosé blooming season but a morning walk through the gardens was superb. Nothing like a walk through the fresh Barossa in a beautiful surrounding. We chose to have the big breakfast in the restaurant, and the service was brilliant. It was so big I couldn't finish it and my partner had to! The managers were on the property all the time which was nice to see as well. any concerns we could've approached them and I know they would look after us. We slept really well, we didn't hear any noise from surrounding rooms or the restaurant. The restaurant for dinner was in one sentence...to die for! Absolutely brilliant quality, service, portion sizes. Everything was ticked, nothing was overlooked. The atmosphere was so relaxed, quite music playing in the background, and the waitresses were attentive but also let us enjoy our meal without hovering.
We have been there numerous times and it's our definite go-to for our quite weekends away. Thank you staff at Lyndoch Hill, you're doing it right!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We just had three nights at Lyndoch Hill .Stayed at the units very comfortable clean good service also we used the restaurant twice and the food was of high standard absolutely nothing to complain .Had breakfast each morning and it was great plenty to have and service all round was great .PITY it was the wrong time of year for the rose garden .Coming from the YORKE PENINSULA IT WAS LOVELY TO VENTURE SOMEWHERE DIFFERERENT.VIV AND PETER

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I read with interest other reviews of Lyndoch Hill. We very recently stayed for 3 nights and did not hear our neighbours, talking or their heaters. Friends that we travelled with and my husband and I played cards most nights and we did not seem to disturb our immediate neighbours. The included continental breakfast was very good, covering quite a range of tastes, we thought. We managed to have one evening meal - on our first night there. It was the special for the evening - a lovely beef pie, etc. My husband had to help me out with mine, though he and our male friend would have like a larger helping of the potatoes and vegies. Before our meal arrived we were give a platter of warm home made bread and a dip of olive oil and balsamic vinegar. Nice touch. As there is a lot of upgrading both inside and outside, the view during breakfast was a little bit spoilt by a large front end loader. It was just one of those things and the two friendly dogs on the property, Max and Merlot, made up for any short comings. All four of us enjoyed our stay and were generally happy that we had made the effort. We may yet go back to see how the renovations are progressing!!

Room Tip: As there are still upgrades going on, it would pay to ask if a completely upgraded room was availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Having read the either 'hot or cold' reviews it was with some trepidation that we travelled to Lyndoch Hill for a weekend away. The lady on reception was friendly and helpful. Our room was plesant, clean and warm and quite suitable for our short stay. Yes the decor is dated but for 2 nights it was quite suitable for what we needed. We took several relaxing strolls round the gardens and Kies Winery was within our easy walking distance. If you are in Lyndoch do yourself a favour and do drop in at Kies, we purchased several excellent reds and also a couple of tea blends. Continental breakfast was included in our stay and everything we wanted was available. We didn't try the restaurant for an evening meal instead we sampled the meals at the local Lyndoch Hotel and they were excellent examples of country pub meals. Only real annoyance was our next door neighbours heating units going on and off on the 2nd night. The unit sits right over the wall cavity vent so each time it clicked on in the night we were woken up. That aside overall for a 2 night stay it was fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed at Lyndoch Hill for 3 nights, the rooms were nice comfortable and warm, now I'm very picky when it comes to hotel/motel showers and the showers here were absolutely fantastic, hot with plenty of pressure (it's the small things).
The staff were very accommodating and very friendly.
The restaurant was a surprise, the breakfast was nice and very fresh, probably one of the nicest mueslis I have ever tried, we had dinner on our last night at the restaurant and the quality of the food and service was certainly more than expected (what a culinary delight)
If you are heading to the Barossa region and are looking for a nice comfortable well price place to stay which is close to everything I wouldn't look past Lyndoch Hill.

Thank you Lyndoch Hill for a very pleasant visit, look forward to booking with you for our next.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lyndoch Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyndoch Hill

Address: cnr of Barossa Valley Way & Hermann Thumm Dr, Lyndoch, South Australia 5351, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Lyndoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lyndoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyndoch Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lyndoch Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyndoch Hill Retreat Hotel Lyndoch
Lyndoch Hill Barossa Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyndoch Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.