We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Winery to While Away The Afternoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Murray Street Vineyards

Murray Street Vineyards
Murray Street, Greenock, South Australia 5360, Australia
0885628373
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Greenock
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Murray Street Vineyards produces Barossa wines of great character, reflecting winemaker Andrew Seppelt's family legacy of winemaking and respect for the earth in which the vines are grown.We invite you to meander down the arbour way to our home and taste our award winning wines and discover why we have just been named the Barossa's Best Cellar Door.
adelaide
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Great Winery to While Away The Afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Unlike many wineries in SA this one charges for tastings... but its worth paying for. They only charge $5 and the majority of the wines are from their premium range eg $50+ a bottle. So for most people who wouldn't buy a $60 bottle of wine its nice to be able to try some. They have swanky city chic tables inside and a nice country vibe outside. Its lovely sitting out outside under the vines for shade. The wine is lovely, the staff were really friendly and happy to chat to you about the wines. At this winery rather than insist you sit at the bar for tastings, they'll bring them to you. So you can sit outside and enjoy the scenery. The platter is generous and the food is good quality and very tasty.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    3
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Sorry Guys - Bad experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I had been recommended to this place as a "must do" for a lunch platter and tastings and was very much looking forward to this winery! Turned up with my mother who does not drink red wine, so asked if we could just taste the whites and have a spot of lunch. As MSV only have two whites on offer (which was not a problem for us as I was the skipper), I was greeted with the words "why did you bother coming here if you don't drink red wine" and felt very unwelcomed. The table next to us had a great lady who was explaining the history of the wines and the vineyard, and sadly we had to listed to their conversation as our guy could not be bothered.
The platter (cheese, meats, olives etc), was very nice and extremely well presented. The grounds are very well kept and very pleasant to enjoy lunch on the patio area which is well shaded. Maybe we caught you on a bad day, but will not be back.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fantastic experience - everything you could ask for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Ah, a tasting where you can sit down relax enjoy the views and not feel rushed!! very friendly staff, a great selection of wines with interesting stories to boot and some great tasting platters to keep you going until the next stop! A barossa must.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Great wines, great regional platters and great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Murray street vineyards is a place to go to if you are not in a rush and want to do an informal tasting whilst sitting down looking out over their vineyards. Murray Street have some amazing red wines. They also have an outdoor deck which is a great spot to sit and have one of their regional platters and a few glasses of wine overlooking their vineyards. If going here dont be in a rush as it is the sort of place to relax, taste some wine and chillout.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenelg, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great wine experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Friendly knowledgeable staff serving great wines on a sunny deck looking out on beautiful vineyards and gardens.The best cellar door in the Barossa Valley.
These people know how to treat their visitors. You feel like a guest in someone's home.
I've been telling everyone I know to visit.
I'll certainly be back.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murray Street Vineyards also viewed

Tanunda, Barossa Valley
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
 
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
Tanunda, Barossa Valley
 

Been to Murray Street Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murray Street Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.