We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of fodder

fodder
5 Memorial Drive, Coonawarra, South Australia 5263, Australia
0887363170
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Coonawarra
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Pizza, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: fodder.....food with thoughteclectic daily menuwood fired pizza oven using our own sour dough bases, we also make our own gluten free basesproduce from our own vegie gardenexceptional wine list 2 glasses in the 2010, 2011 & 2012 wine list of the year awards
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Spent two nights in Penola and we ate dinner at fodder both nights! The brick oven pizza was perfectly cooked and they have a wonderful choice of toppings. They have a nice local wine list and the service was friendly. Nice ambiance as well. This was a nice addition to our trip.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    23
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tilba Tilba, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“So glad Fodder was open”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

During our short trip to the Coonawarra we visited fodder 4 times. Lunch,2 dinners and a specially cooked brunch. Melissa (owner/chef)was a delight, happy to discuss food, wine and places to visit. Melissa cooked a Spaghetti Marinara for us (4 people) not a lot of seafood, but very tasty, served in a big bowl in the centre of the table, we were a little taken aback when we got the bill ($120). A bit excessive for a bowl of spaghetti. It didn't put us off though, everything else was sooo good, pizzas - fantastic and reasonably priced, homemade sourdough bases, so yummy. Lemon delicous pudding, just right, The wine list was to die for, and very reasonably priced. Sue Bell from Bellwether Wines was waiting tables when we visited on Sunday, got talking to her and visited her winery the next day. What a treat, another amazing Lady doing great things in this area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Divine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Popped through on a suggestion from our hotel manager at "Must Coonawarra". WoW! Pizza was divine and light, fresh and so tasty! Wine list was a winner too. Atmosphere warm, inviting and staff attentive and welcoming. Yummo!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really very good pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The sour dough crust is thin, crispy and has excellent chewiness. The proprietor and her staff were genuinely friendly which seems to be a bit of a characteristic of people in the Coonawarra. There was a particular kind of salami that was used on the pizza that was a real taste sensation. I have forgotten the name, but its distinctive taste was brought out differently on the pizza with green and red capsicum as compared to the pizza with eggplant and mushroom. With a great red from Hollick, this was a great meal to finish a seriously enjoyable day! GRAZIE!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful night on Coonawarra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Went to Coonawarra for the weekend and based on tripadvisor reviews went to this restaurant on a Saturday night. Lovely cosy restaurant, great service and a wonderful meal. First course was a tasting plate, followed by polenta and truffles for me and a steak for him. Restaurant was full but we still felt that we had individual attention.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed fodder also viewed

Penola, South Australia
Coonawarra, South Australia
 
Penola, South Australia
 

Been to fodder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage fodder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.