We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wildlife at your Doorstep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Burra Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Burra Motor Inn to your Saves list
Burra Motor Inn
Market Street, Burra, South Australia 5417, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burra
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wildlife at your Doorstep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This motel is conveniently situated near shops, hotels, museum, gallery and park. Our room was large and clean, although maybe in need of an update. The quilt covers were pretty washed out in colour. Everything worked. Our Vodafone mobile phone did not work in Burra. and so we had a digital detox. Even internet is pretty difficult. Digital TV could be a bit scratchy on some channels. This did not worry us. It gave us more excuse to eat, drink and generally relax.

The highlight was the friendly ducks at our back door. The friendlier we were, more and more ducks appeared from the creek, until we counted 20. It was a real feeling of country. There is nothing like a cosy motel room, lovely food and wine and a good duck. Duck in to the Burra Motor Inn and enjoy wildlife at your door step in a town with magnificent mining heritage.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
2
20
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Well located midway between the historic part of Burra and the current town centre.
Person at reception looked to be a double of Shane Warne (an infamous former Australian cricketer), but was otherwise extremely helpful in offering information pertinent to the motel accommodation, the towns eating facilities, and the towns historic sites.
Spacious room with good sized en suite. Room was attractive and well furnished, with a rear view overlooking a creek and trees, providing a haven for an assortment of birdlife.
Also supplied were an assortment of heating options, which being mid-winter, was very welcome.
Had a good range of television channels on a very small television screen, but disappointingly, internet was achievable only as an expensive dial up option.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This was our second visit to Burra on return from NTand a comfortable drive from Coober Pedy . It was a pleasure sleeping in crisp clean white linen. Showers were hot, but shower heads very fine. Warm & Quiet.
Fresh Milk ye Har.... keep that up,maybe you could put more coffee's in, as we only got 4, just enough for one each in the evening and 1 in the morning, one more would have been perfect. Really nice Shampoo / Cond and soap.The hotel is only a short walk for dinner and the food excellent. Price was not excessive in comparison to NT prices. We would highly recommend this motel and wish the new owners success in the future

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed one night here after a trip to the Clare Valley. It was clean and comfortable and quiet which was a surprise as it was full. It is a typical motel but some effort has been made to update the rooms. The room was large, but the TV was small and reception was a bit patchy. The bathroom was clean. Check in was smooth. It was only a short walk to the center of Burra where there were a few places to eat and some lovely little gift shops. We paid $126.00 for the night which I felt was a little high.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this motel with other family members on our way back to Adelaide.
It was clean and comfortable but a little bit overpriced for what it is.
No restaurant on site but we were given information about restaurants around Burra where we could eat.
There is an indoor pool which we did not use.
The view from the unit along the creek line was nice as was the visit from a number of ducks the next day.
We would stay here again as the options in Burra seem limited.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We stayed for one night on our return from The Flinders Ranges to Adelaide. Not attractive from the outside as you enter, but inside the rooms appear to have been refurbished recently. Everything is clean and neat and the rooms are large, well-equipped and well-stocked. The owners were extremely helpful.

We thought that the price was a little high, but didn’t realise that there was a large festival on in the area at the time – usually they’re lower.

When we booked it was advertised as having a restaurant on site. The owners explained that this had already closed when they recently purchased the property. They had decided that it was not worth trying to compete with the various nearby eateries, and instead gave us a comprehensive rundown on all of them, many of which are within a few minutes walk.

The only small complaint would be that the aircon unit was old and a bit noisy, although effective. It might be difficult to sleep with it on in very hot weather.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Burra Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burra Motor Inn

Address: Market Street, Burra, South Australia 5417, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Burra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Burra Motor Inn is a comfortable, well appointed motel situated alongside the tranquil, tree-lined Burra Creek with lovely views and abundant birdlife at your door.A short stroll from Burra's town centre, the Burra Motor Inn is ideally situated to discover Burra's mining heritage, play a round of golf at the local 18 hole Burra Golf course, sample the local wines and produce of the region, or simply relax in the indoor pool and heated spa.The Burra Motor Inn boasts 20 modern non-smoking units, each equipped with reverse cycle air conditioning, heating, electric blankets, Austar, bar fridge, ensuite, tea and coffee facilities and more.We also have a licensed function room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de so you can book your Burra Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burra Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.