We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a fabulous time and though it was great value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beachport Harbourmasters

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beachport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beachport Harbourmasters
Save
You added Beachport Harbourmasters to your Saves list
1 Beach Road, Beachport, South Australia 5280, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Beachport B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We had a fabulous time and though it was great value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

The beds were comfortable! Everything was beautiful and we enjoyed the view from the deck while eating our meals but then we had nice weather! We loved the spa and raised the privacy blinds once in and enjoyed the beautiful view! The passers by do not care to look!!! Everywhere was beautifully decorated but an extra comfy chair or two might be nice in the lounge. Mount the TV on the wall perhaps? You could move the kitchen door towards the bedroom turn the table the other way and well chosen skinny L shaped couch(es) could work. All said we woke up on Christmas morning and we loved our little holiday house so a big thanks to the owners. It was a beautiful gift to us to stay there...

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My husband, myself and son stayed here for 2 nights in Nov. We were more than delighted. The cottage was so clean, neat and cosy and very homely. Fresh bread was delivered daily for breakfast. Traci who looked after us was a delight. The spot on the verandah overlooking the bay was just fantastic, right on the beach. Traci organised to plate up a crayfish that I ordered for dinner that night from the local fresh fish shop. She picked it up for us while we were out sightseeing that day, cut it up and served it as you would expect to receive in a restaurant without any extra cost. We were so delighted with this stay, we definitely recommend it, and would go back again. This quiet town and its friendly shops and restaurants and cafes, was delightful. A gem of a spot to stay at. We stayed at the 2 bedroom Sallys Cottage. Lovely! Thank you Traci for making our little stopover such a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Comfortable little cottage by the seafront. Have to admit i was worried about the other tripadvisor reviews, but this little cottage was quaint, if not delightful. Off road parking. All we needed for one night stay. Would i stay again? Yes.

Room Tip: Ask for the front Cottage (Harbourmasters).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Moonta
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Recently my wife and I stayed here as part of the return trip of a holiday celebrating a very special occasion. These days, more than ever, money is hard to come by, especially for the luxury of a holiday. When you spend upwards of $180 (peak), you expect the accommodation to at least be clean and presentable. What you don't expect is for the accommodation to not match the description. In this case, nothing matched and nothing was up to the standard one expects from any accommodation. This could have potentially been the highlight of our trip, but being the last place we stayed at on our journey home from Melbourne, it was very disappointing. What's even more disappointing is the excuses made by the owner to other people's negative reviews. Instead of making excuses, one would expect an unreserved apology for such inadequate, poorly maintained and falsely advertised accommodation. The owner would do well to redress the issues raised by people who cared enough to review and work hard to provide better presented and more appropriately advertised accommodation or else reduce the price for a night's stay to a more realistic $30.

Room Tip: My tip is to buy a tent and camp. At least you will know what you are getting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beachport hotels

Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My family and I (4 adults) rented Sallys Cottage for several nights, when we arrived we realised how misleading the advert had been, there was a obstructed view from the inside, the deck had a good view if the weather is good, the spa was completely overlooked by neighbours and general dog walking public. The whole cottage was tired and in need of modernisation and needs seating for at least 4 people, one two seater sofa is not enough neither is 3 forks. Was not impressed as it was incredibly over-priced, I have paid the same prices elsewhere in SA and it has been 100% better. On the plus side the bread was delicious and the owners very friendly.

Room Tip: Choose Harbour-masters Cottage not Sallys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Recently we stayed in Sally's Cottage at Beachport Harbourmasters. The photos give the impression that you can enjoy the ocean views from the spa. But there is actually no privacy from the front accommodation as the occupants can walk straight past your the window, as well as the people on the beach can also see in. The advertising says that there are two queen sized beds. In actual fact, one bedroom had a queen sized bed with a walk in robe. This bed had a sign saying it is not included in the two person tarriff and would be charged at $40 per person per night if used. The bed in the other bedroom was only a double and the window treatments were not adequate as at 6.00 a.m. we were wide awake from the light streaming in. Which was the reason we originally wanted to sleep in the other room which was darker. This cottage attempts to be "shabby chic" but unfortunately was just shabby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traci C, Owner at Beachport Harbourmasters, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our property. We apologise for the confusion caused by the sign in the second bedroom, this will be reviewed and updated immediately. Guests are welcome to use either bedroom.
We are very lucky to share such an amazing location right on the beach in Beachport and are unable to stop other people from accessing the beach or walking past. There are privacy blinds installed in the spa room.
We are planning to landscape the lawned area where guests access both units so will take your comments into consideration when planning the entrance to the front unit.
Both beds are queen size as advertised.
We are sorry your stay with us was disappointing, we have a lot or very happy return customers and we will endeavour to improve our property for this to continue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Took us a while to figure out how to find our way in (noticed the couple in the back flat also struggling) because the street number is at one end of the building and the apartments at the other end. Once we settled in however, it was very pleasant. We were also a bit confused by the availability of paid for produce (like a mini-bar) with our free breakfast food. The location is brilliant - easy walk into main street, and out to the pier. All in all a very nice night.

Room Tip: The are two cottages but only one with a view. Make sure you ask for that one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beachport Harbourmasters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachport Harbourmasters

Address: 1 Beach Road, Beachport, South Australia 5280, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Beachport
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Beachport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachport Harbourmasters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.