We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Dining Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salter's Restaurant

Salter's Restaurant
Nuriootpa Road, Angaston, South Australia 5353, Australia
(08) 8564 3355
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Angaston
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Adelaide
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Lovley setting, excellent décor, great out door area,wine selection good, can also do wine tasings close to the dining room, food well presented and tasty.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    23
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We went to Clare for a day out, but ended up coming back to Angaston so we could try. The food was wonderful and service brilliant. Thank you for a wonderful relaxing Sunday lunch.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great quality lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

It was my first time visiting Australia's wine country, and a friend from SA toured us around for my birthday. It was recommended to him that we come to Saltram's winery for lunch, which did not disappoint! Everyone enjoyed their entrées, but my favorite was the Dukkah appetizer. I could've eaten a whole meal from the "House-made crusty bread with Saltram’s dukkah, kalamata olives & olive oil." In fact, we enjoyed it so much, we bought jars of the dukkah to take home with us on the plane!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not recommendable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We read some good and bad reviews and thought, we try and see for ourselves. Well, that was a mistake. We had dinner and it is a better lunch restaurant than dinner i would say. The atmosphere was not very pleasant and the aircon was set to a very cold temperature. We had to move tables and lucky it was not busy on the night, we managed to get a table not right under the blowing aircon.
The service was very slow and the food very average to bad. The pie was the worst. You can get an way better pie at pie face at 2AM in the morning. Ist was very dry and had no flavour. The haloumi entree was ok, but nothing you will remember.
If you only have one or two nights, go somewhere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We had some entrees to share and a beautiful bottle of red, followed by some delicious desserts including the biggest cherry I have ever seen - and it was yummy as well. Took advantage of the discount on wine for diners. Love Pepperjack reds!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salter's Restaurant also viewed

Angaston, Barossa Valley
Angaston, Barossa Valley
 
Seppeltsfield, Barossa Valley
 

Been to Salter's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salter's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.