We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Collingrove Homestead

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Collingrove Homestead to your Saves list
Collingrove Homestead
Eden Valley Rd, Angaston, South Australia 5353, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Angaston B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Unique Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Thank you to the new management Andrew and Marcia and Chef Zach for a beautiful stay in the Barossa Valley. This was not a planned visit (one of those travel stories...) but we were really glad to have stayed at Collingrove Homestead. It was like a step back in time. Rooms have been beautifully done in French Provincial style. The historic home is wonderfully preserved and cared for. The Team there is so welcoming and accommodating. Food was great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    1
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
27
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

My partner and I found this hidden gem in a book of memorable drives, whilst travelling from Brisbane to Perth in 2007.
It is part of The National Trust of Australia. We stayed in the Old Schoolhouse, which although furnished with period pieces had every luxury you could need.
A few yards away was the barn which housed the wonderful hot tub along with lots of soft, fluffy towels and candles.
The breakfasts were truly memorable, the taste fully living up to the description. This was served in the lovely farmhouse style kitchen. It was here that we were introduced by Craig to sipping sparkling Shiraz with our breakfast. Something we still do on a lazy Sunday and always think of Collingrove.
During our stay we were treated to a really interesting and informative tour of the house by Christine,whose warm and friendly personality shone.
I would love to return but if I don't would not hesitate to recommend this wonderful place with it's charming hosts Christine and Craig.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco peninsula, CA, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

It's such a wonderful part of S.A. in which to spend some time. Our hosts at Collingrove were so friendly as were the few guests we met and so helpful at helping us map out places to go, best routes to take, good stops for lunch. Breakfast was delicious. We were there during a very warm time and I was concerned about comfort when I learned there was no air conditioning, but the old bluestone construction of this place was amazing. Everything cooled off at night, we closed the place up, and it stayed surprisingly comfortable! We also had a ceiling fan (as well as a private ensuite toilet & shower and a television, room 5, I believe). We enjoyed walking out back with the horses, by a chicken coup and out of our back windows we awoke to hear and see beautiful birds and the horses walking by. I wish we could have stayed longer and I hope to return some day. It was a great experience.

  • Liked — history & nature
  • Disliked — no bathtub
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

We had the most wonderful stay over Christmas 2007 as part of our honeymoon. The Barossa is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy - we found probably the friendliest community on our travels - which is saying something in Australia.

Collingrove itself is a beautiful historic homestead - all the rooms are decked out with period furnishings and artifacts. Very comfortable to stay in. The hot tub is also be recommended after a hard day of wine tasting.

Janet and Peter are the perfect hosts - nothing was too much trouble and they are very knowledgable about the valley and things to do. If you get a chance, do stay for one of their meals, you are in for a treat - they are wonderful cooks . We were lucky enough to spend Christmas day with them and their family and the food and company were both superb.

We couldn't recommend Collingrove highly enough.

  • Liked — Beautiful and friendly - a unique place
  • Disliked — Can't fault it
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2006

We stayed for 2 nights while in the Barossa, and the location and service couldn't be better. Christine is a ball of energy and tends to everyone's needs, providing dining recommendations (and personal calls to restaurants for you), wine tasting suggestions, and historical info about the house and property. She and Craig often sit down with guests over afternoon tea or coffee and draw out routes on a map or talk about local restaurants.

The accommodations are lovely, and it feels a bit like staying in a museum. Robes and slippers are provided, which is a nice touch especially if you don't have an ensuite bathroom!

Breakfast was amazing - and was more than we could possibly eat. A full continental breakfast is out for guest to help themselves, then Christine takes orders for eggs, toast, bacon, sausages...it never ends.

The property is a bit out of town, but with a car there is no problem. We enjoyed the walks on the property and liked the quiet!

  • Liked — location, historic site, friendly hosts
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2006

My husband and i stayed here in Sept 2005, only for one night (unfortunately), whilst tripping around Australia. We arrived quite late at night (9.00ish), and were greeted with a drink before we had to rush off for dinner at a nearby local restaurant. We stayed in the engineers room which still had an old belt drive that they had used many years previously.
This manor has been lovingly restored and the owners will charm you with stories from the past.
The breakfast was reasonably hearty....really nothing much that I can fault in any area.

  • Liked — The history it is steeped in
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2006

The Collingrove is the perfect from which to explore the Barossa Valley. It is an historic mansion set in the countryside not far from the town of Angaston that has some great restaurants. Christine and Craig are the hosts, and they can advise you on wineries to visit, restaurants etc. The rooms are beautiful and the guests have use of the house and the comfortable living room with great biog leather chairs and a fireplace. Breakfast was delicious. If you want to visit a totally unspoiled Napa Valley, this is it.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Collingrove Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Collingrove Homestead

Address: Eden Valley Rd, Angaston, South Australia 5353, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Angaston
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Angaston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Collingrove Homestead (c1856) was conceived as a little piece of England and is set amongst the great gums of the Barossa Valley The building is the historical home of the town of Angaston’s namesake, the Angas family. Thus far it has been maintained as a museum displaying artifacts from The Angas Family home and the South Australian history they helped create. Marcia and Andrew Frost have transformed the impressive heritage-listed home into a high-end, boutique bed-and-breakfast. Guest accommodation is individually styled. All rooms are furnished with French Provincial hand carved beds, fresh white linen and French Style Toile quilts. There are five guest rooms three have en-suites which are decorated in black and white tile another two rooms share an authentic old style bathroom complete with a claw foot bath. Guest amenities include a Hydrotherapy spa located in the old Carriage House across the quadrangle from the Guest Lounge, which is complete with leather lounges and open fire. Collingrove is set on 14 acres, with manicured gardens and authentic paddocks. Your full Barossa breakfast is served on the front veranda overlooking the front gardens (weather permitting). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Collingrove Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Collingrove Homestead Angaston, Barossa Valley, South Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Collingrove Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.