We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 40's Cafe

40's Cafe
30 Murray Street, Angaston, South Australia 5353, Australia
(08) 8564 2901
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 15 Restaurants in Angaston
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: With award winning food and service, this family orientated restaurant is, without a doubt, one of the Barossa Valley's top hospitality hot spots!
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I read about this cafe on the internet. It has won several awards for pizza's. We decided we would stop and have lunch. The seafood pizza was amazing. The crust was crisp and very thin. The topping perfect. Well worth a visit if you are int he Barossa Valley.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    39
    16
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sellicks Beach, South Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We really enjoyed the atmosphere and the delicious cake and coffee. It is a lovely place for relaxed dining. Liked the choice of indoor/outdoor areas for seating.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Best Pizza of all Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

This place is my favourite place of all time to get a gluten free pizza. Having to follow a gluten free diet is sorted challenging, but for me this place simply has the BEST gf pizza I've had anywhere. The toppings are delicious and the pizza itself is delightfully light and fluffy. The first time I went was with a large group of guys who finished off my pizza for me as it was simply too big for me, and the guys all said they liked mine more than their own. This is really saying something! I've been another time as well when I was again in the Barossa and it was just as good the second time. I dream about the pizza from here. It's a cute little cafe with plenty of space, can accommodate big groups if needed and has a great selection of SA wines (as you would expect). I simply love this place and hope I can come back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Not a restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

This is a takeaway with some seats if you want to eat in. Food is takeaway standard, atmosphere is ordinary, menu is schizophrenic and whole experience is underwhelming. It is rated 5 in a small town so that is right. I would recommend the 4 above it.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We ordered their award-winning smokey pizza which did not disappoint us at all. We ordered caesar salad, hand made fettuccine, salt and pepper squid, chicken schnitzel, fish and chips, risotto, and ox tail soup an everything was delish. The only complain I have was the two bowls of steamed rice that they served us were off! They gave us our money back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 40's Cafe also viewed

 
Angaston, Barossa Valley
Angaston, Barossa Valley
 

Been to 40's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 40's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.