We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon to your Saves list
Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Farnborough Road, Yeppoon, Queensland 4703, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Early Booking
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Yeppoon
Rockhampton, Australia
1 review
“Good but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Overall, I would rate our stay as average, some observations are:
1. When checking in, there was a line with more than a fifteen minute wait even though I had booked and paid online weeks before.
2. My partner and I went for just one night and paid $179 for the room. For 20 hours in the room, (2pm in the afternoon until 10am the next morning) I believe it is a bit overpriced.
3. Some sort of cooking facilities in the room would be nice. Even just a microwave would be good. The TV reception was a bit shaky as well.
4. Every time you want to go back to your room, you have to walk through the lobby where people are checking in and out. This isn't too bad, but if people are wet it could be a hazard.
Some of the better parts of our stay included:
1. The staff at the front desk, the activities counter and the restaurants were very friendly and approachable.
2. There were a lot of outdoor activities
3. The food quality was really good at both the Japanese Restaurant and the Billabong Restaurant for breakfast. Everything was really fresh
4. The staff member at the Japanese Restaurant that we were served by was very polite, friendly, and was very knowledgeable when it came to the cuisine.
5. Overall the hotel seemed organised and ran smoothly

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan_Capricorn, General Manager at Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Breezarre

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon.

I am pleased that you were happy with the resorts facilities and also the service that you have received in our restaurants and activities departments.

Unfortunately, with a 280 room resort, our Saturdays can be very busy within the reception area due to the volume of rooms desiring check in at 2pm. I apologise for this inconvenience.


Thank you again for sharing your experience, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Dean
General Manager
Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    265
    326
    172
    139
See reviews for
503
245
22
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I can't even begin to tell you how horrid this so called "resort" was. The rooms have mismatched, dated faded, torn furniture. The bathroom might have been acceptable in 1972. The whole room smelt damp and the couch in the room actually WAS damp (someone had obviously sat on it in wet swimmers). The pool area is lovely but it's not enough to save the rest of this hotel which is just sad. We stayed over New Year's Eve. During the day of New Year's Eve none of the restaurants were open - there was NOWHERE to get lunch. We had to drive 20mins back into town to get lunch. I will never go back. I don't recommend you try it.

Room Tip: Don't bother going. You'll only be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan_Capricorn, General Manager at Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Holiday_miss
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Mercure Capricorn resort. Please be advised that I have passed your feedback onto our team to review and address your concerns raised. I apologise that you were unable to locate both Tsuruya Japanese and Billabong Restaurant on New Years Eve Day, both of which were open for lunch. I will ensure that we address the communication provided to our guests from our team.

Regarding the damp nature of your room, I sincerely apologise for this occourence, unfortunately due to our climate we do suffer from humidity within the resort.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in future.

Kind Regards

Jonathan Dean
General Manager
Mercure Capricorn Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeppoon, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Since Mercure has taken over, this has gone downhill. The grounds are still pretty, but the service, price and cleanliness of the rooms were appalling. We stayed in the Aracuria Apartments. There was water all over the floor, mould in the bathroom and on the door, the floors were dirty, there was rust in the room, broken glasses in the fridge, light fittings falling out.
The service wasn't very good either. There was no room service, even for people staying there. They stop making any sort of food at 3 o'clock.
They even tried to throw some guests out thinking they were day visitors when they were staying 4 nights!! Now that is very disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan_Capricorn, General Manager at Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear ASF0109

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon.

Firstly, let me sicerely apologise that you felt the resort did not meet your expectations, and this in turn led to you having a less than impressive stay with us. This is definitely not what we wish on our guests and we have taken your feedback on board.

As you have raised many concerning issues in your review, I would like to invite you to call me to discuss your feedback to provide you closure to the changes that we have made to rectify your concerns. Please feel free to contact me on 07 49252525.

Kind Regards,

Jonathan Dean
General Manager
Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensvale
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had an amazing time staying at the Mercure Capricorn. The activities for the kids were fantastic and the pool is truly magnificent. The pool is great for all ages - from the waterslide to the beach lagoon which allows the parents to relax as well. It is wonderful to see the camels taking people over the pool bridges. The BBQ's were also a great addition. The location of the hotel was also great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan_Capricorn, General Manager at Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Kruzy
Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your recent experience at Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon. It is always pleasing to receive positive feedback regarding my team and our facilities and I will pass this on.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jonathan Dean
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtlofty
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed 4 nights over Easter in a one bedroom apartment. Check in was fast and efficient. A copy of restaurant opening hours given with advice to book early to avoid disappointment. Room was clean, door lock unable to be opened by me each time, bathroom did have mould on the ceilings. Beds were clean and comfortable and didn't hear any noise from outside. Aircon was cold but needed it to stop mozzies from coming inside. Fantastic grounds for kids to kick football, use pool, ride bikes etc. Ate at the Lagoon restaurant on public holiday, prices very good for a public holiday, no inflated drink prices. Australia needs to address the wages for hospitality industry (penalty rates for night, weekend, public holidays) if it wants to compete with the standard of resorts in neighboring countries eg. Fiji, Bali). BBQ facilities good and close to the pool. Resort not strict on brining own alcohol into pool area or consuming own drinks on the grounds. Saw a group of families had pitched their own campsite on the grounds outside their rooms downstairs and seemed to be having lots of fun. Staff very friendly but the reception staff quite anxious as they must be getting a lot of abuse going by what these feedback comments are. Shame on you travellers. Put it the cost of the room and what you get with the facilities into perspective. Obviously you don't travel much in Australia to compare. Go to your resorts in Bali and enjoy the exploited cheap labour over there - me I do what is patriotic and support Australian tourism.

Room Tip: Choose a one bedroom unit with kitchen facilities, more spacious. Top floors have sea views,. Take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan_Capricorn, General Manager at Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear iknowMtlofty

Thank you for taking the time to review Mercure Capricorn Resort. We appreciate your review and the nature in which your review is written.

We truely believe we have a sensational resort that is perfect for famailies with amaizing facilities. We are working closely with our owners on refurbishment opportunities in the future and look forward to having these plans finalised.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Jonathan Dean
General Manager
Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

As a family we had a fun time around the pool compex playing volleyball, riding the slide, playing mini golf and generally doing all the fun free activities the resort has on offer. The family rooms were a great size but were in need of an update and some comfortable furniture. We were not left wanting for things to do and wished we had stayed an extra day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan_Capricorn, General Manager at Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear criki_2

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon.

It pleases me to read that you loved the location and the size of the rooms we offer, it's always nice to be comfortable when staying away from home. I will also pass on your positive feedback about the good service you received to our Team.

Please allow me to apologise that you felt the hotel has not been maintained recently. I have passed this feedback onto our Chief Engineer.

We do hope to welcome you back to Yeppoon shortly.

Kind Regards,

Jonathan Dean
General Manager
Mercure Capricorn Resort YEppoon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at the resort for 4 nights for a family wedding. We have travelled the world extensively and we can't give this hotel a rating as it was so bad. First of all there were mouse droppings in the saucepan cupboard. Secondly our bathroom & toilet were only cleaned once. We had fresh towels but had to ask for face clothes, toilet paper etc. Several family members were given the mouldy, smelly rooms, but ours didn't have this. As we booked months ahead and paid 221 per night with 10 per cent discount we find this ludicrous in comparison to other places we have stayed. The forty dollar buffet was a joke. There wasn't any seafood and was a poor selection. When I checked out the young lady was sympathic. I wasn't the first complaint that morning. I asked to speak with the manager and she said she was in charge. Please don't send me you're well rehersed message Mr Manager. We will not recommend this resort ever.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan_Capricorn, General Manager at Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Booty351

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon.

I sincerely apologise that you felt the hotel was not up to your expectations, we definitely do not wish this on our guests and you can rest assured we have taken your feedback on board.

As you have raised some concerning issues in your review, I would like to invite you to contact me directly to discuss your stay so we can provide closure to your concerns you have raised. Please feel free to contact me on 07 49252525 should you wish to discuss your feedback further.

I look forward to discussing how the hotel can refine and monitor our operations to ensure the same does not happen again.

Kind Regards,

Jonathan Dean
General Manager
Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon

Address: Farnborough Road, Yeppoon, Queensland 4703, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Yeppoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Yeppoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close your eyes and imagine the sounds of the waves lapping the shore, of the wind rustling the leaves, the sun on your face, not a cloud in the sky and the smell of the ocean breeze. Now open them, look and feel. Set on 20km of secluded coral reef coastline, the resort offers something for everyone. The Resort's facilities include two international golf courses, stylish dining concepts,free activities, horse riding, wetland tours, rainforest canoe adventure tours and much much more. Go for a walk amongst the surrounding unspoilt bush and wetlands, home to some of Australia's most beautiful and rare wildlife, or stroll along our very own 20km of pristine beach frontage which looks out towards the cool clear waters of the Great Barrier Reef and tropical islands of the neighbouring Keppel Island Group. You could also choose to laze around in the sunshine with a refreshing cocktail. We have one of the largest freshwater pools in the South Pacific. Do as much or do as little, that is entirely up to you. Our aim is to provide a friendly and professional standard of service for all our guests, by providing unique facilities which blend harmoniously with the natural wonders of the unique environment which surrounds the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon Hotel Yeppoon
Capricorn Hotel Yeppoon
Capricorn Hotel Rockhampton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.