We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon to your Saves list
Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Farnborough Road, Yeppoon, Queensland 4703, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booking
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Yeppoon
Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great Family Resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have stayed at Capricorn Inetrnational numerous times over the years & understand the logistics of running a resort of this size when it is busy or when its quiet. We experienced both sides of the resort over a night's stay recently.

We arrived on a Sunday afternoon when it was packed & the service was poor. To order a snack we had to go to the main reception area to order. There wasn't enough staff, the meal took too long & the list goes on.

Breakfast the next morning was far more pleasant. Special mention must be made of the breakfast staff & the duty manager David who excelled at providng great service & restoring my faith a little in the resort.

Accor has recently taken over the management of the resort. The management were found wanting. There was no managers to be found on the Sunday, apparently they all leave of a week end? This showed as there was no leadership shown on the Sunday when the reosrt was extremely busy.

We room we stayed in was clean & comfortable. It had been recently refurbished.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    262
    325
    172
    139
See reviews for
499
245
22
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed at Mercure Capricorn Resort in June 2012. We were attending a wedding at the resort, so it was very handy staying there as well! The resort is excellent for activities for the kids, the pools are great although it was too cold to swim while we were there. The coffee shop is nice. The only negative I would say is the rooms are a little old and in need of renovating! And because of this I think our room could have been a little cheaper. But overall I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Japanese garden looked like it was unkept - it could be quiet nice but has been neglected over time
Played putting golf - a storm had passed 24 hours before & there was debris over the course - there is a machine llike a rideon that sucks up materials into a bag - it would have only taken a groundsman under a hour to go over the course - I also realize this is a free amusement - but if everything is not up to scratch the accom rate should be cheaper
On the floor where we stayed there was a patch of water near the lift & it made the floor slippery - no wet area signs were put up - the water was there for our entire stay
Because of the step up into the bath tub - could an extra rail be installed near the shower
tap - one of our grandchildren had a fall - lucky he is big & got up laughting - pity older people
Two tennis courts were well kept by a groundsman but there is two astro courts not been used - there is no nets & no high fence around them
On a positive the water quality in the pool was very good

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We were given a room upgrade and had lovely views to the ocean. We would thank staff for their kindness for the room upgrade. We have been toe Capricorn resort on a number of occasions but this is the first under the Mercure Brand. The pool area is always a great area even with a large number of people around the is plenty of room. We are on two occasion at the Lagoon restaurant and were looked after well and our meals were great. We will be going back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

i am a local CQ resident and i had a booking [made over a month ago] for 26/01/2013 and attempted to amend the date as due to numerous road closures i was unable to travel to Yeppoon. i was happy to change the date however due to the 'local deal' i had paid for i was unable to have the same deal on a different date. if i wanted to change dates [to next weekend] it was going to cost me more money for a lesser room. i am a local and have been to this resort numerous times. Not anymore -- i would rather cancel my booking [at a cost of $25.00] than stay at a resort that has no consideration for 'natural disasters' and that is not willing to amend the booking. i telephoned the resort yesterday to advise that pending the ongoing road closures i might not be able to travel to Yeppoon and was advised that i should 'wait to see if the weather improved'. i waited and the weather did not improve. This is poor customer service and you have lost a valued client in addition to people within my network.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This place was great for both kids & parents. Also saw many couples there. Breakfast is a must for value, although other meals can get a little expensive. We had a one Bed apartment with kitchenette which was great for saving money. They also have Barbeques for free use.
Kids brought their scooters and had great fun on all the paths. The pools and slide also kept them amused. The pools were great and very clean.
The rooms were very clean although some areas showing bit of their age; Our internet didn't work but we were to busy enjoying ourselves to worry.
We will be going back and taking friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon

Address: Farnborough Road, Yeppoon, Queensland 4703, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Yeppoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Yeppoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close your eyes and imagine the sounds of the waves lapping the shore, of the wind rustling the leaves, the sun on your face, not a cloud in the sky and the smell of the ocean breeze. Now open them, look and feel. Set on 20km of secluded coral reef coastline, the resort offers something for everyone. The Resort's facilities include two international golf courses, stylish dining concepts,free activities, horse riding, wetland tours, rainforest canoe adventure tours and much much more. Go for a walk amongst the surrounding unspoilt bush and wetlands, home to some of Australia's most beautiful and rare wildlife, or stroll along our very own 20km of pristine beach frontage which looks out towards the cool clear waters of the Great Barrier Reef and tropical islands of the neighbouring Keppel Island Group. You could also choose to laze around in the sunshine with a refreshing cocktail. We have one of the largest freshwater pools in the South Pacific. Do as much or do as little, that is entirely up to you. Our aim is to provide a friendly and professional standard of service for all our guests, by providing unique facilities which blend harmoniously with the natural wonders of the unique environment which surrounds the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon Hotel Yeppoon
Capricorn Hotel Yeppoon
Capricorn Hotel Rockhampton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Capricorn Resort Yeppoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.