We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The price reflects the location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rosslyn Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rosslyn Bay Resort to your Saves list
Rosslyn Bay Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   34 - 48 Vin E. Jones Drive | Rosslyn Bay, Yeppoon, Queensland 4703, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Yeppoon
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The price reflects the location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent a weekend there last month. Some people seem to complain about it but personally, I had a great time. The furniture in the rooms might be a bit out dated but the place is clean and the bed was very comfortable.
The restaurant was excellent and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It was a bit pricy but when you're having a nice time and you're getting quality, well, I don't mind paying a little bit of extra for that.
Overall, bearing in mind that this is a prime location, (the area is just stunning), and that the area has been hit by the now slowing mining boom, it's a nice place to stay for a romantic weekend or taking kids to the beach.. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    20
    16
    7
    0
See reviews for
22
28
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

The service and food at the restaurant was excellent. The room we stayed in was a little dated but the staff were incredibly friendly and overall a lovely place to stay. Although perhaps a little overpriced for our room,we would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We booked the two bedroom apartment and it was massive. yes it was dated and probably would have been new in the early '80s but we've gotten used to that.

At least the apartment was clean and everything worked.

Rosslyn Bay is approx. 8km out of Yeppoon so you need to be self-sufficient when you stay here. Great walking tracks and the beach is lovely to walk on, but don't expect night life or bustling restaurants.
In fact - the restaurant that belongs to the resort is very over-priced so we decided not to eat there!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buderim
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We Recently stayed at the Rosslyn bay resort on our way to the Whitsunday's and stayed in a standard room, the room was quite spacious and reasonably clean, however the furnishings are very dated, this resort was advertised on wotif as a 4 star resort, if you are looking for 4 star you would need to book one of their premium rooms which are very expensive and have no view.
The room has all the basic things you need but when I say basic that is exactly what I mean, the bathroom is very old fashioned the wardrobes and tables/chairs must be at least 30 years old, the cups and plates are the brown glass type from the 70's and the radio/alarm was like something you might find on antiques road show. the restaurant at the resort is extremely expensive so we didn't bother to eat there. value for money? NO $155 for a night or $230 in the premium room with no view!!!

Room Tip: If you must stay here pic a premium room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Good location but that was probably it. Had to carry all of our gear up three levels to the top floor, which makes a nice view but not very easy with two children. Could let the little one out on the patio as it had to many big gaps that she could probably slip through. The kitchen was well equipped. The worst part of it was that the doors to the bathroom and toilet would stick if you shut them. A couple of times I had to force one open to get my mother in law out. Very dangerous and stressful. A few of the taps were leaking and hard to turn on. Really the place needs to be demolished and start again. There are a few rooms at the back that look newer but we did not stay in them. I would not recommend this place unless you are using it as a jumping stone to Great Keppel. I will say this the beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

This place would be okay if very loud and very bad karaoke was not playing while trying to go to sleep especially with a young child. It is in a fairly nice location however I would avoid if you had kids. Rooms are clean, service was okay. Very 80's!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed here over the Eater Holiday period intending to use as a base to explore the nearby Keppel Islands and coastline. Unfortunately the weather wasn't on our side so we didn't see very much. We stayed in a one bedroom unit with a view of the pool. The accomodation was very nice & clean although I would suggest to the owners that to make it a bit more "homely" it would benefit from the addition of a more comfortable lounge suite/sofa....just couldn't get comfortable on the clic-clac style sofa! There is an onsite restaurant serving lunch & dinner, we ate there a couple of times and found it to be very convenient as didn't need to drive anywhere. We checked out a day early and were given a refund for the 3rd night, this was very nice of them as there was nothing wrong with the accomodation just unfortunate weather conditions.

Room Tip: Maybe try one of the apartments with a balcony....our motel style room didn't have a balcony so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rosslyn Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosslyn Bay Resort

Address: 34 - 48 Vin E. Jones Drive | Rosslyn Bay, Yeppoon, Queensland 4703, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Yeppoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Yeppoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rosslyn Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosslyn Bay Resort is your complete holiday and function destination. Situated on the shores of Kemp Beach, we offer unprecedented access to Great Keppel Island and the realms of the Southern Great Barrier Reef through Keppel Bay Marina. The resort encompasses corporate and wedding catering facilities as well as the world-class Beaches Bistro, so everything you need to enjoy the best of the Capricorn Coast is right here in the harbour; whatever the reason for your stay. With 12 brand new luxury Spa Bungalow units, new management, ongoing renovations and two new international chefs at the world-class Beaches restaurant, Rosslyn Bay Resort is changing… and we would love to see you here soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Rosslyn Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosslyn Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.