We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“crasseux et malodorant” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Side Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour Side Resort to your Saves list
Harbour Side Resort
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   132 Marine Parade, Southport, Queensland 4215, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Marmande, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“crasseux et malodorant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

We " profited” from a reduction voucher on the room where we remained 2 nights, but on the spot, we could observe that the prices charged were lower than those which we had paid (in advance)…
carpets dirty and malodorous, settee and armchairs tried and feeling bad; telephone, sticking buttons of TV and air-conditioning; filthy cooking equipments, the cloth felt bad.
In the room, the drawers were dirty; covers and bedspread felt bad; the bedside lamps were very dusty, the air-conditioning located above bed dropped from the black remains. The double drapes were not clean.
In the bathroom, the taps were filthy, there were traces on earthenware.
The general equipment was poor: no shampoo for two days, 1 towel by anybody for the two days, only one roller of toilet paper….
Very bad impression: only one haste: to leave to visit, but especially not to remain in this stinking apartment…

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    32
    14
    20
    35
See reviews for
38
26
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

If you are looking for great value for money then I would definately recommend Harbour Side. I obtained travel vouchers so only paid $66 per night, $60 a night if only 1 bed utilised. I think you would be hard pressed to find accomodation of similar standard at such a great price. Overall the room was clean and a good stardard for 3 star, but if you are looking for spotless and 5 star quality look elsewhere. I stayed with my daughter in a 1 bd apartment which I found to be plenty roomy enough for the 2 of us. Harbour Side is not within walking distance of Cavill Ave, but there were plenty of buses to take us into town. Close by and within walking distance was a fantastic children's playground, non-surf beach (great for my daughter to paddle confidently in) and swimming pool. My only gripe would be noisy and inconsiderate neighbours on one side, but after the third time and a serious talking too, they quietened down.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

Terrible experience here. We walked in to find a very tired 1 bedroom apartment. The couch was absolutely disgusting, it was so dirty and greasy we had to put a sheet or doona between us and the couch. The bedroom reeked of cat pee....to the point that we couldn't sleep there. We brought it to the attention of the manager (who had to come and fix our bathroom light, not working) who was apologetic but offered no alternative or compensation. My partner and I (both over 6 feet tall) had to sleep together on one tiny single bed in the lounge room. The shower hadn't been cleaned after the last guests, the air conditioner didn't work well at all, and we were awoken at 1am by people bashing on the room door next to us. Not impressed.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

We had a voucher and when we bought it we were told Harbour Side "overlooked" Ocean World. We presumed (wrongly) that this meant next door and we could walk there. Theoretically correct, but across the main road, a park and then the broadwater, so needed a car. If we had known this we would have taken one of the other vouchers. Accomm as it looks on internet, but carpet was dreadfully stained and worn and took off the overall excitement for us. We felt we couldn't go barefoot on it. Overall 1bed apart as it looks but needed a paint and new carpet. No balcony, communal walkway past apart. Air con worked, plenty of hot water and apart from an overseas man talking loudly on walkway until 1am one night it was quiet. Chilly reception and not open Sat arvo when I went to enquire about places for dinner.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2008

We booked this hoilday with discount certificates,what we were promised and what we got were two different things.The room was small,no veranda and discustingly dirty.The bedrooms roof had black mold all over them and the carpet looked like a stain pit.The worst aspect was safety with two young chn,on the third floor in the chns room main room there was a sliding door with a half rail that my 4 yearold climbed over,leading out to a leadge as wide as a gutter.When we complained about the room we were told there was no other,so for my chns safety and hygeine levels we left cheers am

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — dirty and unsafe with chn
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon Victoria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2008

Our holiday which was to be at the Harbour Side Resort, Southport Queensland turned out to be a nightmare.
We arrived on the 16th March 2008, we had two rooms booked, one room was for my son and his wife and 2 teenage boys. The other room was ours, just the two of us. We paid the deposit on the 1 December 2007 and a few weeks before we left we paid the balance.
When we arrived at the Resort (after two days of travelling from Melbourne } the room my son had booked and paid for didn't have enough beds. We rang the people from Harbourside immediatley as we were tired and wanted to use the facilities. We were told that someone would come and see us in a few minutes. We waited an hour no-one came. We made two more calls after that and the last time we rang we were told some-one will be there to see us before dark. By this time we had been waiting for two hours or more and as we were all family and wanted to be together we checked out, as it was quite obvious by this time no-one really cared.

The next day we asked them if we could have our money refunded and was told "no" that we had held the owners of the unit to ransom and that we should have waited longer. The promotions guy whose name was Steve actually had the nerve to say "what do you want a bed for at 4:30 in the afternoon for anyway." DONT GET CAUGHT LIKE WE DID. The place wasn't very clean and it was like being cooped up in a dog box. Others were complaining as we walked out of the reception area so it wasn't just us. Steves last words to us were "well take it to court then."
So at the end of the day we had to part out with another lot of money. We ended up staying at a place called "The Crest " which was absolutely beautiful, and the staff there were second to none. If it wasn't for them helping us out our holiday would have been a complete didaster.

Be careful as our holiday turned out to be double the cost.
judy

  • Liked — NA we didn't stay there in the end.
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2005

I stayed here for one night in 2004 and it cost around $80 for the night, no minimum stay so that was good.

Some of the units at this place have been refurbished, and we got one of them (1 bedroom apartment) but if you stayed in a studio, it would have been a shocker!

The apartment was small, but had a clean and modern kitchen, modern furnishings, separate bedroom and bathroom, and a working new airconditioner. However, it is not a resort!!! They have a pool - that is it! And the pictures on the website make the pool look beautiful and so inviting - in reality it doesn't look that good - it is dated and old - needs a makeover.

So the interior was very good - the only negative is that the view from the bedroom was of a carpark for the units next door, and the view from the kitchen was of Harbourside's carpark! The exterior needs an update urgently. Also, being in Southport, you need to catch a bus into Surfers Paradise - and in the Gold Coast - buses do not run on time!! We had to wait over an hour to get to the train station to get back to Brisbane (it is not normally that bad, and it has got better since then). The bus into Surfers takes about 15 minutes at least.

So I would give this place a miss, if only because you can get a place closer to Sufers for around the same price, and near the beach too. This place, like its name suggests, is near a harbour, not the beach!

  • Stayed March 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour Side Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Side Resort

Address: 132 Marine Parade, Southport, Queensland 4215, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbour Side Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour Side Resort basks in the sun in one of the premier locations on the Gold Coast. Situated directly opposite the harbour-like Gold Coast Broadwater, Harbour Side Resort consists of 50 fully furnished, decorator designed, self-catering holiday apartments and motel-style studio rooms. There is a large resort-style swimming pool, a large separate spa, a shaded entertainment pavilion with two BBQ’s and a half-court tennis court to enjoy without venturing out of the resort.Staying at Harbourside Resort means that you are right in the heart of the Gold Coast's tourist mecca. Close to the Gold Coast Hospital, Griffith and Bond University. Public transport just minutes away. Just 20 minutes drive from Movieworld, Dreamworld, Wet'n'Wild and Whitewater World, just 5 minutes drive from Seaworld and 7 minutes drive from Central Surfers Paradise. Harbour Side Resort is the perfect base from which to explore the beautiful Gold Coast and the surroundings.Harbour Side Resort has studio, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, which can accommodate from 1 person to a big family of 6 at a convenient location for you to enjoy your next holiday. Check with our reception when you plan your holiday at the Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harbour Side Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Side Hotel Southport
Harbour Side Resort Southport, Gold Coast, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Side Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.