We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Terrible with Poor Communication” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Southport Tourist Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Southport Tourist Park
6 Frank Street | Gold Coast Highway, Southport, Queensland 4215, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Terrible with Poor Communication”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Tried to book an advertised and available booking of a caravan for my daughter and I. All ok until I said we were staying at the Crowne Plaza but unable to book an extra night, I had thought a night in a cheap caravan would allow more cash to do some fun things. First the woman said the caravan was available but the rate was for 7 nights, which was not what was advertised. Then she would not let me talk, was rude, abrupt and tried to put us in a more expensive option. The whole time I could hear commotion and another woman talking in the background telling the woman what to say. The most painful, disturbing time I have ever had trying to make a booking and give a business cash for business. Also the communication was extremely poor with English language barriers. Never again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    22
    4
    5
    18
See reviews for
21
14
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We booked the Park Flat for Jan 2014 for 9 people, It took a long time on the phone for this booking to be processed due to poor communication issues. I was told that there would be a deposit taken off my credit card, only to find the whole balance was taken. We then received a call asking what time and date we were coming, the older lady had mixed up our dates for Dec 2013. But they could not guarantee they could still accommodate the 9 of us in Jan. I then asked for a refund as they could not provide the service. This was rudely declined and I was abused over the phone. Be very careful dealing with these people!!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

we viewed the cabins online and didnt realise how inaccurate the photos were, when we opened our "holiday cabin" the smell hit you like a brick in the face and that was after almost falling off the steps which were almost rotted through with white ants , and fighting the screen door that didnt work properly , finally entering the cabin there was no lounge as pictured on the floor plan (there wasnt enough room) the sliding toilet door didnt work either , my son couldnt sleep with his window open as the screen was broken , the cuterly fell apart and there were cockaroaches everywhere, the ceiling fan sounded like it was about to fall apart , i could go on and on about the deplorable conditions at this dump , I IMPLORE ANYONE THINKING OF STAYING HERE DONT DO IT ,

Room Tip: DONT stay at southport tourist park
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

definately NOT worth the 3,000 we paid for a week!! the pool was DISGUSTING filled with black hair .for the week we were there the filter was not on once and u had the grumpy old man ready to lock the gate at 8.10 when the pool didnt shut till 8.30 cursing you under his breath!

having to pay $1 for the spa that didnt even heat up, the pool was hotter! in a room with 14 people with the tiniest fridge that isnt even suitable for a family of 4 let alone 14 !

broken lock on the toilet door .two showers in the one room seriously?? and the bath taps didnt even work for the kids to have a bath ,one toilet for the amount of people the room accomodates is ridiculous.

it clearly used to have a washing machine (obviously they removed it to get the extra $3 they charge for a tiny washing machine which gave my partner a shock when he touched it) when u had a shower it was like having a bath because u had the water building up round your ankles with hair coming back out the drain. the sharing amenities were no better they were dirty and hair everywhere also

items being stolen from the pool area WHILE YOU ARE STILL IN THERE!! not to mention when the park was full she still managed to put campervans in the driveway out front of the office which made it hard to get in and out and put backbackers in our car park which we had to listen to there drunken screaming till 2am and told my pa to shut the f up when he commplained!

the only good thing about this stay were the beds

no wonder she has a no refund policy because she wouldnt make any money otherwise!!
the pictures on the web are NOTHING like the accomodation you will receive very dissapointing

Room Tip: simple tip ..dont stay here lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We were a party of 6 - parents, 3 adult childrent and one 6 year old. We booked 2 holiday cabins in July and asked if they could be close to eachother. We got them next to eachother in lovely quiet corner. The cabins were also not on top of each other with a lovely little court yard for each so noise wasn't really a factor at all. It was very quiet at night when we were there.

This is actually the second time my husband had stayed here, staying here a decade earlier.

The cabins were clean and comfortable and each one had an airconditioner that cooled the cabin off really quickly.

The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly and though we never really had to ask for much they were always happy to oblige us with what ever we did ask for.

Location was ideal. 30 mins to the popular theme parks (at the most) and there was a big Coles about 10 minutes around the corner in a small shopping square. For those who want to do more shopping, Aust. Fair was again, no more than 20 mins away also. In addition there were so many fast food and resturants within walking distance it was terrific (esp. if you have young kids that don't want to walk far or older ones that might want a drink with dinner and you don't want them to drive. There was KFC across the road and McDonalds over the bridge. There were a couple of Chinese Restuarants and 2 mexican ones. Plus Indian and a steak/seafood resturant also. Really great.

The pool and spa at the front of the park was fantasic, the kids spending every afternoon in there and the barbeque facility was also terrific. While it cost money to use them it cost us all of 60c (yes, cents not dollars) to cook up steaks and sausages for all of us so needless to say we used the BBQ a couple of times when we ate in.

The cost was very economical and we'd defintely go back again.

Room Tip: If you have a big car let them know so they can give you a cabin that has more parking or turning ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Pictures on website are very deceiving......very run down and needs a good clean up. Amenities block, in particular the female toilets where filthy and not cleaned regularly. Could be a nice little park if some TLC was put into the upkeep of the facilities.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed in a deluxe cabin at this very busy tourist park , our cabin had everything we needed was clean and I really liked the friendly atmosphere. the staff were very helpful with local info. By 10pm the park was quiet makes a great change from other tourist parks "-)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Southport Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southport Tourist Park

Address: 6 Frank Street | Gold Coast Highway, Southport, Queensland 4215, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Specialty lodging in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gold Coast's Accommodation Specialists at Southport Tourist Park, which offers the ideal setting for a family holiday and is conveniently located on the Gold Coast Highway at Southport. We are minutes from the heart of Surfers Paradise, only 100 metres from the Broadwater and within walking distance of major facilities including shopping centres, cinemas, restaurants and golf courses. We are central to all of the theme parks and attractions of the Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Southport Tourist Park Gold Coast, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southport Tourist Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Southport Tourist Park to your Saves list