We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and also fabulous function facility” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Mon Komo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Mon Komo to your Saves list
Oaks Mon Komo
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   99 Marine Parade, Redcliffe, Queensland 4020, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great place and also fabulous function facility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

whilefacility while only new to Redcliffe , Mon Komo has certainly made its mark on the landscape.
great food, service is great and staff are all friendly. a great place to meet for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Haven't stayed but have had friends how have and all rate the rooms very high

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Mon Komo, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you for your comments. As the restaurant and function facilities are not part of Oaks Hotels and Resorts, we will pass you feedback onto the Management Team for the Mon Komo Hotel. It is nice to read that your friends were happy with their apartments and we hope to welcome you to stay with us at Oaks Mon Komo in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    73
    18
    8
    11
See reviews for
49
58
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment on the 12th floor from 11th April till 15th, the apartment was very modern and quite spacious, the room was very clean and the kitchen was equipped with everything you might need, as I was there for my nieces wedding we decided to have her get ready in the apartment and I have t say the girls at reception were fantastic, I let them know people would be coming and going and they let them up to the apartment, the girls on the desk were very very helpful at all times, I did leave my friend behind because of her being unable to fly and the staff organized her extension on the accommodation without any hassles. Restaurant has great food and also friendly staff and the location is walking distance to all shops and lagoon.
Great place to stay and I will be bringing my family next time, thank you to the beautiful girls on reception, great asset to the Oaks.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Mon Komo, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at Oaks Mon Komo. It is wonderful to hear that we were able to play a part in making your holiday for your nieces wedding a memorable and enjoyable one. I shall pass your feedback regarding the helpful reception girls on to the Hotel Manager. Please do stay again next time you are in the area – we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Where to start? We booked an apartment for ourselves (a couple 50+) and my mother. Okay we arrived a bit early for check-in, but were told to come back at 1pm and the room would be ready. We came back at 1pm and sat in the reception area and waited and waited. I checked with reception again at about 1.20pm and was told the room would be ready in 15 minutes. Meanwhile, clearly they were very busy with people coming and going at a rate of knots, when one of the housemaids appears, in front of prospective guests, in floods of tears and storms off, muttering under her breath. The two reception ladies were rudely interrupted by this as they looked at each other and then at the housemaid as she left the building. They got on with their tasks. At 1.45pm I approached the desk again to be told that the room was not ready. After 2pm, I approached the desk and the more senior of the two ladies said in a rushed tone to the other, "just give them the room now." The lady then informed us that there had "been issues". So, we got our keys and proceeded to the room. The door was wide open, there was a vacuum cleaner in the middle of the floor, the head of the vacuum cleaner was on the balcony with the doors open. The bathrooms had not been cleaned, there were coffee stains on the coffee table and no vacuuming had been performed. Once we were over that shock (at least the beds had been done), we settled in, put the vacuum to one side and got on with our day. A little while later a housemaid came to finish the room, but as we had already all settled in, we told her not to worry. We decided on an afternoon nap instead as we'd driven a considerable distance that day. About half an hour after we went to bed, there was a loud banging on the door that would not go away, despite my partner calling out that we didn't want to be disturbed. My mother was in the bathroom and had to get dressed and go to the door where the housemaid (identified as the one who had stormed off earlier) demanded to inspect the room. My mother said it wasn't possible to inspect the room as we were asleep (well, not by that stage we weren't) and she was informed that it was absolutely necessary. My mother managed to get her to leave after a few minutes. Given that this was after 3pm at this stage and the check in is supposed to be 2pm, a house maid demanding to be let in at that hour is totally unacceptable. Furthermore, the flat screen TV connection to the DVD player was broken, my bedside lamp did not have a bulb in it and the bathrooms ventilation unit seemed to make a noise all night. Our room keys needed to be re-programmed several times as they kept de-activating (even when kept separately to any other devices or cards). This is a pain with all the going up and down required. Sometimes it would work in the lift and not for the room. We even took to taking the two cards with us everywhere just in case. I advised the reception upon checkout of these room defects and she promised to have the manager ring me to apologise for all of the shenanigans (her suggestion not mine). A call has never come. It's a shame as the apartments do have a lovely aspect and are close when we are visiting family in the area. My partner has used the apartments for business as well, but says he won't go back. Granted, they were very busy that day with all rooms fully booked, but when you're in hospitality, you need to be just that, hospitable! We may have been slightly irritated at any explanation given for the check-in delay, but I wouldn't be writing this review if we'd been kept informed that there were problems. We never did work out why the vacuum cleaner head was on the balcony!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Mon Komo, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Oaks Mon Komo following your recent stay. We were very disappointed to read of the issues you experienced. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your stay further with you and ask you to please contact our Customer Service Representative at customerfeedback@theoaksgroup.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I really like the Mon Komo (1-2-3 bedroom short stay). The design includes a kitchen and designer touches like cobblestone tiles under your feet in the shower and movable walls (1 bedroom) allowing you to create new spaces within the room. In the morning you have unobstructed views out on the bay and the sunlight can flood the space. Great for business travel as it's only 20 minutes tops from the Brisbane CBD.

Walk down to the Jetty Cafe and order the big breakfast or take a morning swim in the massive public lagoon.

Room Tip: The 1-2-3 bedroom apartments face the ocean. The Studios face Redcliffe... in this case.. the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Mon Komo, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks Mon Komo. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found your room accommodating. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Family and friends stayed at this hotel in mid-February for a wedding. I stayed in a single bedroom apartment with ocean views, whilst others stayed in two, three bedroom apartments.

I was on the 11th floor and the single bedroom apartment had sweeping views across Moerton Bay and the Redcliffe lagoon and parklands. It was a majestic sight to wake up to in the morning or to watch the sun go down in the evening.

Yo make the most of the views the aparment has an extra large balcony with both a table a chair set-up as well as, comfortable rattan chairs. You can sit back, have a drink and take in the view.

The apartment was a good size, with a sitting area as well as a dinning area. The kitchen was very well appointed and had all the gadgets one would require.The bathroom was large enough with a good shower.

The king sized bed was comnfortable and in the summer months you can leave the balcony door open to recieve the cool breeze. One drawback is there can be some noise coming from across the parklands.

Overall I was more than happy with the room and believe it was money well spent to take the ocean view.

The rest of the wedding party stayed in three bedroomed apartments and these were huge. One of the apartments had an ensuite for each room. All the rooms also had their own TV. Very impressive. These rooms had partial ocean views.

The decor of the hotel was modern and well maintained and parjking wasn't a problem in the underground secure car park. Overall an excellent stay and highly recommended.

Room Tip: 11-12th floors ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Mon Komo, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your review of your stay at Oaks Mon Komo. We are so pleased to read that you, your family and friends enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you all back again, perhaps for your friend’s one year wedding anniversary, to enjoy the views and a celebratory beverage on the balcony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Tremendous sea views. Very fast book in service. The room (actually a one bedroom suite) was ultra modern with a kitchen that I'd be proud to have in our own home, and there was so much space in every room! We obviously got the accommodation on an introductory rate of $129 for two nights because it was top class accommodation, luxuriously appointed, When we walked in to the room, we both said "wow!". For Brisbane, that was probably the cheapest you'll pay anywhere.The car park is secure and a fast lift takes you straight up to your room. The rooms are secure (not that you need it) because the card only allows residents access to their own floor. There are no porters, but given the parking arrangements, you really don't need them.

It's quite a drive from Redcliffe to the CBD, but if you have a car, it doesn't matter much. While I went to work, my wife has a ball strolling around the boutique shops along the beachfront. Redcliffe itself has come a long way. They have actually imported sand and, apart from the pool, there is a safe clean swimming area on the beachfront. The atmosphere is great, and it's peaceful with a holiday feel to it.

Getting there is stress free compared to driving in the CBD. Overall, we were delighted with the experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Mon Komo, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your review of our Oaks Mon Komo Apartments. It is so nice to read that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you both back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

This hotel is brand new and quite nicely appointed. The rooms are a generous size and the beds are quite comfy. My room was on the top floor facing Redcliffe, and the night lights view was great. I had an issue with the phone whilst I was there, but because there is only one person on reception at night & no other staff, nothing could be done. The reception ladies were lovely on the weekend, but not really hotel experienced. Rooms were clean and the inclusions were of a high standard. I would definately recommend this hotel & it's downstairs bar/eating area.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor away from the restaurant crowd
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Mon Komo, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at our Oaks Mon Komo Apartments. We apologise that you had some difficulties with your phone but are very pleased to read that you otherwise had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to enjoy our accommodation and the views we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Mon Komo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Mon Komo

Address: 99 Marine Parade, Redcliffe, Queensland 4020, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Greater Brisbane > Moreton Bay Region > Redcliffe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Redcliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Mon Komo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mon Komo "My Dream Place" on the beach at Redcliffe is the newest resort style accommodation located only 35 minutes from Brisbane’s CBD precinct and close to Brisbane Domestic & International airports. Surrounded by restaurants, cafes, shopping, entertainment, recreational activities and only moments to the beach there is plenty to see and do whilst staying at Mon Komo. With all the facilities of a beachfront resort you can be sure to enjoy the luxury of Mon Komo's spacious hotel rooms and fully self contained apartments, most with spectacular ocean views over Moreton Bay. Spacious apartments complemented by contemporary coastal decor & luxuriously appointed kitchens with stainless steel appliances and full laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oaks Mon Komo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Mon Komo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.