We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, rundown, badly managed, no value at any price.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Waltzing Matilda Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Redcliffe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waltzing Matilda Motel
Save
You added Waltzing Matilda Motel to your Saves list
109 Margate Parade | Margate Beach, Redcliffe, Queensland, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Redcliffe
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dirty, rundown, badly managed, no value at any price.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Title says it all!!!!Unit inside was dirty, bathroom sink smashed and broken. Shower taps fell off. Beds mattress's lumpy. Balcony dirty, cigarette ashtrays full. Need I say anymore.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltzing M, Front Office Manager at Waltzing Matilda Motel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Your room was checked after you had checked out. We found the room had just been renovated! Freshly painted, new carpet, new fixtures and all lights worked.
Waltzing Matilda Motel stands to a strict cleanliness policy. All rooms are non-smoking and there is an $800 charge if any pets (dogs) are permitted into a room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    12
    10
    7
    23
See reviews for
20
19
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

A hell hole the only reason I would stay there would be to complete a novel about suicide and depression. If you are researching a role in a movie about murderers and snuff movies it's a good place to start. As I am not I'll give it a miss

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltzing M, Front Office Manager at Waltzing Matilda Motel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Your room was checked after you had checked out. We found the room had just been renovated! Freshly painted, new carpet, new fixtures and all lights worked.
Waltzing Matilda Motel stands to a strict cleanliness policy. All rooms are non-smoking and there is an $800 charge if any pets (dogs) are permitted into a room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights over Xmas, as nothing else was available. $110 per night for supposedly "non-smoking" rooms, which definitely smelt like "smoking-rooms". The place is old, run-down, unclean, furniture's shabby and falling to pieces; linens/towels very worn & felt as if they hadn't been laundered very well. Room wasn't ready until 2 hours after published check-in time. Back of units looked like a handyman's workshop, not a motel for paying guests. Have stayed in better places in 3rd-world countries. Do yourself a favour & do not book here !!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't let the sea-view photos fool you
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltzing M, Front Office Manager at Waltzing Matilda Motel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Your room was checked after you had checked out. We found the room had just been renovated! Freshly painted, new carpet, new fixtures and all lights worked.
Waltzing Matilda Motel stands to a strict cleanliness policy. All rooms are non-smoking and there is an $800 charge if any pets (dogs) are permitted into a room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Only thing going for it was the views of the Bay but unfortunately the weather was not good so couldn't access balcony to see views. Walked in and the immediate feel was shocking...very old dowdy furniture and carpet, unclean feel to the place, the bathroom wall had a massive crack in it as did the bathroom basin all with a door that didn't close properly. The bed, well that's a whole other story, on closer inspection had already been broken, 2 castors snapping off as soon as bed was sat on, spring in matress kept popping whenever you moved, pillows not much higher than a baked cake. We ended up hightailing out of there without staying the night...only compensation offered was a Oh sorry mate, and an offer of a 'special deal' upon our return...no thank you, we wont be back...total waste of $130 and way too expensive, would not pay more than $80 a night for a dump like that and even that would be too much.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltzing M, Front Office Manager at Waltzing Matilda Motel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Your room was checked after you had checked out. We found the room had just been renovated! Freshly painted, new carpet, new fixtures and all lights worked.
Waltzing Matilda Motel stands to a strict cleanliness policy. All rooms are non-smoking and there is an $800 charge if any pets (dogs) are permitted into a room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma, Australia
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Travelling with a young family we called and we offered a self contained apartment which sounded good to us. On arrival the "apartment" was an old block of flats adjacent to the motel. Paint was peeling, filthy, broken tiles, lino lifted - most uni students on a budget would balk at this type of accommodation. Still cost about $130 for the night. I am surprise that they are allowed to rent this accommodation which isn't even part of the motel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

This place is alright.
Its a bit old yes but it was clean with great views of the bay.
For a hundred buck a night its not a bad deal.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

Definately stay away, the rooms are old and dingey, they smell of old mold and cigarette smoke and everything broken or about to fall apart. If you are a non-smoker, go somewhere else, poeple all around us smoked and we had to close the doors and windows.

Our last stay we had an upstairs room, that was infested with fleas, I ended up with welts all over . We payed for two nights and left after the first, we were not refunded 1 night nor were the staff friendly. The manager was actually blantantly rude and couldn't care less that we had been bitten by something. Our stay cost us in excess of $500 by the time we had to pay to get our home treated for fleas thanks to that dump!

We actually stayed once before and it wasn't great, but although cheap enough we thought we'd go back, this turned out to be the worst thing we could have done. They have a restuarant that is very medioca, NEVER EVER stay here, especially for health reasons!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltzing M, Front Office Manager at Waltzing Matilda Motel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
The Motel has been bought and renovated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waltzing Matilda Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waltzing Matilda Motel

Address: 109 Margate Parade | Margate Beach, Redcliffe, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Greater Brisbane > Moreton Bay Region > Redcliffe
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Redcliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waltzing Matilda Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.