We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Blue Shades

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Blue Shades to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Blue Shades
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   35-39 Ferry Street, Maryborough, Queensland 4650, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Maryborough
Toowoomba Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Friendly and Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for the first time on Saturday night 11 May 13. We were greeted pleasantly by the very friendly manager, and offered an upgrade to a queen suite with separate lounge. A nice touch, which was appreciated.
Given the outside highway, our room was very quiet and comfortable. The only complaints were the very tight parking for our Santa Fe, and small rough towels. Everything else was fine, and appreciated.

Room Tip: If it is busy and you have a larger car, the back suites near the conference centre, are very diffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DazeOffMaryQld, Owner at Comfort Inn Blue Shades, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hello Backpack99
Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay. We are pleased you enjoyed the room.
Trudy Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    13
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
7
2
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed here recently while visiting friends in Maryborough. It is entirely what you would expect from a country town motel. The room is adequate, but not generous. The decor is clean and tidy, but not glamorous. I found the bed a little too soft, but that may just be preference.

On arrival, I was checked in quickly, and the room was clean. The motel provides soap, shampoo and conditioner. The mini bar prices are quite reasonable. When I booked through wotif.com, I received $25 towards breakfast each day. I skipped one day, but on the second day was able to have a full cooked breakfast (with three eggs!), and some juice, for under $25. On check out, it was noted that I had not used one day of breakfast, and so I was not charged for the items I used from the mini bar.

On the whole, I would be comfortable recommending this motel to those who understand that it is not a five star city hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DazeOffMaryQld, Owner at Comfort Inn Blue Shades, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hi Chris B
I am glad your experience was pleasant. Your room was the standard room and is an older style room however extremely clean and comfortable. Your matress is 4 months old and we have had wonderful comments on them so we put them through most of our rooms. Our breakfasts are plentiful and you certainly never drive away hungry. Thankyou for your adequate review. Happy travels.
Trudy Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We were recommended this hotel after one we stopped in previously was full, we had a 2 night unplanned stop over due to the floods. The manageress was extremely helpful and was able to keep us informed on the situation with the roads affected by the rising water. The rooms were large and spacious with good A/C and well appointed bathrooms and spotlessly clean. Would wholly recommend Blue shades for a scheduled or un-scheduled stopover.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DazeOffMaryQld, Owner at Comfort Inn Blue Shades, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thankyou for leaving feedback for our motel. It was a challenging time with our 3rd flood in 3 years. I am so pleased you enjoyed your "forced" stay. Rain, hail or shine we give the best experience to our guests we can. All the best.
Trudy Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stopped there for 1 night on our way to Brisbane. Very spacious room with more than adequate amenities. A Queen size bed and a single. We both had an excellent sleep on very comfortable mattresses. Rooms spotlessly clean. Ample free parking directly outside made moving luggage easy. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DazeOffMaryQld, Owner at Comfort Inn Blue Shades, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hello
Thankyou for your positive review. We are so pleased you had a great nights sleep and appreciate that you mentioned the cleanliness as we do work hard on providing clean rooms, we are always working on providing a comfortable and clean environment. we hope to see you back again on your travels.
All the best
Trudy Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great stay in a charming town. Blue Shades provided a perfect base with large modern rooms for both us and the kids! Good value with all the amenity needed for a comfortable and relaxing stay. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Front family villas are huge. Like a townhouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DazeOffMaryQld, Owner at Comfort Inn Blue Shades, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Hi Lotton R, We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. The pool family rooms are great. Excellent in summer so you can watch the kids from the balcony in the pool. We look forward to your next visit.
Trudy Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stopped at the Comfort Inn on our way to Airlie Beach - after many hours of driving it was a welcome relief to check in and relax. From check in to check out I was impressed with this hotel. The rooms were spacious, clean and tidy with everything you need for a short stay. The second television in the bedroom was a huge hit with the kids as they were able to get "out of my hair" for a while. I would highly recommend this hotel for singles, couples and families. Definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DazeOffMaryQld, Owner at Comfort Inn Blue Shades, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Hi Clairebear074
Thankyou for taking the time to post a review. We strive to give our guests the best experience we can and when we receive wonderful reviews like yours it gives us more drive to ensure all our new and regular guests have a great experience also. Thankyou for acknowledging our motel in such a positive manner, it really means so much to us. We hope to see again someday.
Trudy Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

After reading many positive reviews about this hotel on Trip Advisor, we booked in for a one night stay on our way to Bundaberg and were very pleased we did. Very comfortable and clean room. Front desk staff were very friendly and even kept breakfast open for us after we failed to put our order in the night before. Very nice continental breakfast too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DazeOffMaryQld, Owner at Comfort Inn Blue Shades, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Hi Leigh F,
Thankyou for your review. It is a priveledge as motel owners to ensure our guests receive the best service and comfort we can give. Wonderful reviews like yours really help our business going forward. We are so glad we could extend breakfast for you, our saying is.... If it can be done, it can be done and our motto is your home away from home. Enjoy your travels and maybe one day you'll pass by again.
Trudy Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Blue Shades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Blue Shades

Address: 35-39 Ferry Street, Maryborough, Queensland 4650, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Maryborough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Maryborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Inn Blue Shades 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Blue Shades Motel has 35 rooms ranging from Standard to Executive. We offer 3.5 and 4 star rated rooms. The motel is on the southern side of Maryborough and only 300 meters to the Majestic Mary River. There are 7 family rooms to choose from sleeping 4 -7. Our restaurant operates Monday to Thursday nights and room service is available also. Breakfast is available to your room 7 days a week.We are a family owned business since 2006 and take supreme pride on providing our guests with a wonderful experience. Nothing is too much trouble and if something isn't to our guests liking we will try 110% to fix the problem. We would love to have you stay over at our place, your home away from home.Damien and Trudy Miller ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Blue Shades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryborough Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Maryborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Blue Shades, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.