We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views great but the food's not value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Tavern

Sunset Tavern
Esplanade, Karumba, Queensland, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Karumba
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Cairns
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Views great but the food's not value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Everyone goes to the Tavern to enjoy the sunset over water (a bit unusual in Australia). Buy a drink and enjoy the sunset but don't stay for dinner unless you are happy with very average pub fare. Hubby enjoyed is 1/2kg rump with chips and gravy. My prawn bucket had 12 fresh cooked prawns but for $30 each a bit steep - same at the Karumba Hotel Motel was $25 for the steak and $20 for prawn bucket.

The beach is huge and you don't have to go to the Tavern to enjoy the sunset. Every other night we just took our drinks and nibbles up the beach to a private spot and enjoyed the view for free and in private.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“dont eat here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

went to the tavern for a few drinks while we watched the sunset and dinner after. we ordered seafood assuming being in karumba it would be local but ended up with frozen processed deep fried prawns, fish sticks and calamari...straight from a box. Oysters were freshish but average. Recomend drinks here with the view and dinner accross the road at Ash's

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I was with a charity bike ride that finished on Sunday and waiting for mum. So I decided to have some lunch and wanted t on 1 plate with 1 meal so I had pan fried barramundi with chips and salad + medium rare rib fillet steak with chips and salad + 2 drinks of lemon lime and bitters and it all came up to $68.00 not happy the tavern is so expensive. I will not have lunch there ever again. NEVER EVER

Ps I am Lactose intolerant & gluten intolerant to all food and drinks but my meals were dairy and gluten free

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sunsets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Located at the end of road as you drive into Karumba Point this tavern is right on the waters edge. Great views anytime of day but stunning sunset views. Locals and visitors alike gather there to watch the sunset over the Gulf of Carpentaria. At low tide you can walk down on along the sand and rocks, just stay back from waters edge given this is croc country. We had lunch there one day, the grilled Barramundi was brilliant and the garlic prawns were good. Being a Tavern they do all the usual pub meals. Prices were good given the location. If you find yourself in Karumba Point then definitely call in for lunch or dinner. It's even worth the drive all the way to Karumba just to see the sunsets.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Sunset Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.