We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, New but water pressure is TERRIBLE....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Metro Hotel Ipswich International

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Metro Hotel Ipswich International to your Saves list
Metro Hotel Ipswich International
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 South Street (Cnr Foote Lane), Ipswich, Queensland 4305, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ipswich
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Clean, New but water pressure is TERRIBLE....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

I stayed here for one night before having to drive off to Brisbane for a mid night flight... that said, I spent about 9 hours in that room... room is clean, it has a tv and a small fridge (mini bar) ..there is ample space for your luggage and the wardrobe is an open one.. (no doors)

Bed was comfortable. Aircon worked perfectly and it is in the centre of town. There is no microwave oven but there is a supermarket not far to drive to where you can just get some food like a ready cooked chicken and some salad for dinner if you have to.

There is an underground parking. it isnt secured off ( no boom gates) but at least it is underground and away from the street parking.

The only thing I have problem with that there was no body wash in their soap dispenser and they do not provide mini bottles like normal hotels. and the water pressure is just TERRIBLE !!!!!! it was hard to have even a 25% decent wash... there was no pressure and was worse than the water coming out of the tap in the sink where you wash your hands... so if you need a good shower, you may just have to try and use the lower tap (the ones that is used for the bathtub) or just try and wet yourself then go home and have a proper shower later...

That said. the receptionist was courteous, it is manned 24 hours and the place is clean and new with parking. There is no gym or pool facilities either... so if you want to have a swim, you will have to book at another hotel...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fran E, Manager at Metro Hotel Ipswich International, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
We welcome all feedback and I apologise your stay was not as anticipated. As part of Eco Friendly Accreditation as an environmentally friendly hotel our shower heads are water saving ,We have advised our maintenance team of the water pressure issue you experienced whist you were here.
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    24
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
16
12
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
coffs harbour
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

The hotel is modern,in a great location,onsite underground parking was handy,room was very clean.We stayed in a deluxe twin (2 double beds) room apparently.It seems that money has been spent on style with shortcuts taken with other things,eg:old,small tv,no microwave,no kitchen sink either so had to fill kettle that we found in a drawer from the bathroom basin.The real disappointment was the shower(over bath).After driving all day from interstate i was looking forward to a nice shower,however the presure was crap.The head had only 3 main sprays coming out.As you had to pretty much run around to get wet,i didn't bother washing my hair(it would have taken all night).Not bad for the money,but i will look around a bit more next time if i ever have to stay in ipswich again :(

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Was in Ipswich for a function and stayed here on a Saturday night. The booking was easy, when we had to change our accommodation to fit in another it was not a problem. The apartment was spotless, comfortable and had every amenity you could need. Service at the bar and restaurant was faultless and friendly. Would not hesitate recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fran E, Manager at Metro Hotel Ipswich International, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Thank you for your review, your comments have been shared with our team and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next stay in Ipswich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

I've been put off staying at the Metro Hotel by some of the reviews but on this trip it was the only option. I found that this is one time when either the general consensus on Tripadvisor is wrong or I was luckier than others or that management had learned from the feedback. I had one of the apartment units, seperate bathroom, bedroom and lounge/kitchen/dining area as well as a balcony. Plenty of room, such that I dined with my 3 colleagues each night in the room using ingredients we bought at the nearby supermarket. The bed was very comfortable, the airconditioning worked well (although the corridors were very humid), there was more than enough carparking, a tv in the lounge and in the bedroom. I was at the front and slept well with no disturbance (my colleagues with rooms at the back were awakened by trucks each morning). The room was clean and well cleaned overnight. My only gripe is that the service at breakfast was disorganised and provided limted options. I'd happily stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front, the ones at the back are noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Black marks on bathroom light switch also around switch and not working,half rolls of toilet paper,dispeners weren't filled in bathroom' kitchen floor dirty,aircon dirty filters also,controls not working,no milk,TV very small,evening meal disgusting no sauce for steak chips burnt waitress had no interest in job,breakfast fruit flies on fruit milk warm coffee only warm ham etc dry $10 toasters form target reception no staff when trying to pay account waited 12minutes

Room Tip: Look at room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ipswich hotels

Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Unfolded the sofa bed at 11pm to find sheets had not been cleaned and were covered in blood. Upon looking at the kitchen discovered white liquid all over cupboards and dishwasher .
Kitchen floor not cleaned and dust on the shelves where the crockery is stored. Sofa cushions had dried food on the covers. Not impressed as this cost my son-in -law $280.00 for the night with no breakfast included. The night Porter at least changed the sheets on our request quite promptly. I also phoned with my complaint on the Monday morning to advise them of their cleaning problems.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fran E, Manager at Metro Hotel Ipswich International, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Metro Hotel Ipswich International
All of your concerns have been passed to the relevant departments and I do apologies that you did not enjoy your stay.
regards

Fran Edney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

not happy international hotel the size of the duck serve was a joke for $35 plus veg's a 100 gram piece of duck including bone is high way robbery the duck was dry , no sauce i dine out weekly and i am used to small servings but this was a joke to be fare my wife eye fillet was enjoyable . i asked the waitress if she thought my meal was fare value she laughed and agreed with me
thanks for the service as well ,

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroIpswich, Guest Relations Manager at Metro Hotel Ipswich International, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Thank you for your feedback, we have taken your comments on board in regards to the duck dish. Our Chef has a new menu commencing in September, when next visiting Ipswich please call in and sample our new menu. We are loking forward to welcoming you back to our restaurant.
Management of Metro Hotel Ipswich International
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Metro Hotel Ipswich International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Ipswich International

Address: 43 South Street (Cnr Foote Lane), Ipswich, Queensland 4305, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Greater Brisbane > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Metro Hotel Ipswich International 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metro Hotel Ipswich International is located right in the heart of the Ipswich CBD. The Hotel’s central location provides an excellent base for visitors to this beautiful city and is in close proximity to such local attractions as the Queensland Raceway, Willowbank Raceway and the Ipswich Turf Club. The Metro Hotel Ipswich International is also only 40km from the Brisbane CBD allowing easy travel to and from Brisbane City itself.We are a 4 1/2 star, seven storey property set overlooking one of the pristine parklands that Ipswich is proud to boast, offering 97 luxury Accommodation Rooms, consisting of One Bedroom Apartments, spa suites, Superior and Deluxe guest rooms, 7 first class Wedding & Conference Rooms and an unforgettable gourmet dining experience at our “Platform 9” a-la-carte Restaurant, open for Breakfast and Dinner daily.Adjoining the main restaurant is a stylish lounge and bar, perfect for drinks after work, entertaining clients or pre-dinner drinks.Our Hotel features lift access to all floors from Reception and we also have several rooms with disabled access and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Metro Hotel Ipswich International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metro Hotel Ipswich International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.