We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good location - fab place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emus Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Emus Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Emus Beach Resort
92 Pattison Street, Emu Park, Queensland 4710, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Emu Park
Derby
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Clean, good location - fab place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed here for 1 night in an ensuite dorm room which had a double bed and 2 singles. We weren't joined by anyone so had the room to ourselves which was nice.

The room and bathroom were clean and spacious. There was a fridge and a tv in the room.

The shared kitchen and lounge were clean. The kitchen well equipped and the lounge comfortable to chill out in.

The pool area looked nice although we didn't have a swim as we arrived late.

The bar is small but has character, we joined them for happy hour $5 drinks.

Would recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    13
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
10
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hapert, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We booked a double room and got a decent sized room. I slept well and the price was also good. However, the room was filled with 4 beds and a matress on the ground with no other furnishing. This did not give the room any ambiance. Also the curtains were sticking together and were in need of replacement.

In my opinion, the room can be more attractive if some effort is put into the decoration of the room. For me, this would have made the difference between an average-rating and very good-rating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Emus Beach Resort is definitely one of the best backpackers I've seen in all of Australia.
Beautiful place, great accommodation, awesome staff !
The common area is spacious and very comfortable, ideal to relax on the couch or meeting new people. Overlooking on the heated pool, you just feel like diving in!
The dorms are fabulous, nothing to say: no bunk beds, ensuite and TV. Everything is spotless and looks brand new!! All for a very affordable price...
The staff is fantastic, welcoming and friendly, always a smile on their faces and try the best they can to make your stay an unforgettable time! Especially during one of their famous Friday night BBQ or $5 cocktails!!!

I recommand it to everyone... Emus Beach is the best place to stay if you want to enjoy the Capricorn Coast for a few days. I loved it, and will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Girl at reception isn't fit for her job as she doesn't fully understand what service means; seemed that checking-in new clients was a drag and she wanted to get rid of us asap. Apart from that its clean, spacious, nice pool. Kitchen could use a little refurb (loved the broken fridge saying "staff only").

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmusBeachResort, Owner at Emus Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks for your review and we are sorry you had a bad experience on check in. I can't explain why our receptionist was distracted on the day of your arrival, and there is no excuse. All I can do is appologise and say normally she is a very happy go lucky young girl.

I'm glad you enjoyed the facilities and yes, the kitchen is a little dated. However, everything in it works just fine, including the "Staff Fridge". It does work, it's just been turned off for the past weeks. It needed defrosting and cleaning thoroughly. As we haven't been that busy, we haven't needed to switch it back on. Saving on electricity.

Thanks again for your stay with us and we wish you safe and happy travels in Australia.

Cheers
Mandy and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grouw, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This place is not actually on the beach, despite it's name. But the beach is only a short 5 to 10 minutes walk away. To Emu Park I gues it will be a 20 to 30 minute walk, so a car comes in handy when staying at this place. When we arrived here late afternoon, reception was closed and we had some difficulty finding someone who could check us in. This unfortunately didn't make us feel very welcome. But the place itself is great. We stayed her for only one night on our way to Fraser Island, but wish we could have stayed longer. This place to us felt like a fusion between a hostel and a motel. We stayed in a double room, which was huge and light, with one queen size bed and two single beds, a big and very nice bathroom and a balcony. More like a motel room then a hostel, but we loved it! Also this was the first budget place we came across with a heated swimming pool and a licensed bar. It was very nice not having to go at night out for a beer or buy it at the supermarket. Every friday they have a bbq, which we enjoyed very much. On the evening we were there there was a party going on. The place was hired and there was a large group of people celebrating. No problem for us, as strictly at 11 pm the party stopped. We could hardly hear any noise from our room.
The kitchen looked a bit old, all ovens with fronts fallen off and we could only find black frying pans with loose handles. Maybe some new equipment would be a good idea. But we still recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmusBeachResort, Owner at Emus Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thanks for your review Marganne and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. However, I think you may have visited the beach the furtherest away from the resort. Emu Park is situated around a point. Therefore, if you walk 10 minutes down the road, into town, you'll come to a beach with the surf life saving club etc. However, directly across the road and over the sand dunes is another beautiful beach overlooking Great Keppel Island. As the sand dunes are in the way, you can't see it from the resort, but the path is direct and therefore only a couple of minutes to the beach.

Emu Park town is exactly 1km away, so 10 minutes walk along the beach or path will get you to the main shopping village and Super IGA.

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope you enjoy the rest of your Australian travels.

Cheers
Mandy and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

For a late night "layover" between the Whitsundays and Fraser Island, we thought Rockhampton would be a great mid-point. Little did we know that Emus beach was an additional 30-40 minutes east of Rockhampton (not even South unfortunately). Keep this in mind when traveling to Emus Beach. They also close the offices around 8 (?) which was hours before our expected arrival. They could not let us stay in our originally booked room (a dorm share), but instead "had" to upgrade us to a private room so that they could leave our keys for us. This costs us extra, but what is one to do when they close four hours before your expected arrival?

The hostel was extremely clean and tidy-- another refreshingly modern bathroom and all. We definitely appreciated a clean place to lay our heads and wash up before making the long trek to Fraser Island early in the morning. If I were going specifically to the Rockhampton area, I would probably consider this hostel again. However, if using it as a pit stop to bigger and further destinations-- stay in Rockhampton proper to keep you from wasting driving time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmusBeachResort, Owner at Emus Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thanks for your review and we are glad you had a good nights sleep, however, we find it a shame that you found it "a waste of time". Unfortunately, you must have been time poor, as the Capricorn Coast has so much to offer, that you missed out on a fantastic part of the world. We may not have the advertised "name" of the Whitsundays, but our Islands offer the same scenery, just with a smaller volume of tourists to share it with.

As Emus is a smaller, family run hostel, we don't have 24 hour reception, as stated on our website. Therefore, we only offer late check in service to private room guests, as it would be very irresponsible of us to leave keys out for a room which was occupied by other people. Security for our guests is a high priority for us, aswell as cleanliness and comfort.

We hope you enjoyed your trip to Fraser Island and the rest of your travels within Australia.

Cheers
Mandy and Paul
Emus Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is by far the best hostel I have ever stayed at! We only stayed one night as part of an east coast tour, the night before we had stayed on a farm in the outback and got seriously dirty! It was clean, the room had 4 single beds (a night away from bunk beds was brilliant) - it was large with a huge wardrobe with floor to ceiling mirrors. The shower was really powerful. The room had a balcony overlooking the resort which was perfect.
We had a surf and turf night provided for us and it has to be the best food I had had in about 10 days. Very yummy. That evening was a toga night, bedsheets and pins were provided, lots of alcohol, drinking games and shots followed! So much fun!
The only downsides to this resort were: one rubbish washing machine and you had to pay for global internet usage.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Emus Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emus Beach Resort

Address: 92 Pattison Street, Emu Park, Queensland 4710, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Emu Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Emu Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Emus Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emus Beach Resort Emu Park, Australia - Queensland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emus Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.