We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful find in Tin Can Bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Cockatoo Cafe

The Black Cockatoo Cafe
4 Gympie Road, Tin Can Bay, Queensland, Australia
07 54864222
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $36
Cuisines: Asian, Mediterranean, Seafood, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: The Black Cockatoo Cafe + Bar, a licensed restaurant is located in Tin Can Bay on the Cooloola Coast situated between Noosa and World Heritage listed Fraser Island. The restaurant has a contemporary decor and is located on the main road with sea views. The restaurant sources the best local seafood available straight from the trawlers, together with freshest and quality local produce. They use herbs from their own courtyard garden, have an extensive wine list and experienced baristas. They provide excellent service and are now in their eighth year of operation with same owners.
SW London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A wonderful find in Tin Can Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed in Tin Can Bay for 1 night in the school Easter holidays to visit the dolphins. It was a wet, Tuesday night and it seems all the restaurants are closed, except the Black Cockatoo. We took our 2 young children and had a wonderful dinner. Lovely hosts and great service. The food is all freshly cooked even the children’s meals, what a nice change ! We had amazing scallops to start then prawn thai green curry, simply delicious and beautifully presented. As good (or better ?!) than a curry in Thailand. The best dinner in a long time, the wait for food is well worth it. When in Tin Can Bay you must visit !

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    8
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We had dinner there only once but really enjoyed. Good food and friendly staff.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser Coast
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect everytime.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012 via mobile

We have dined at the Black Cockatoo many times. The service is always great and the food is always fantastic. I have never been here for breakfast or lunch but I can say that dinner is perfect everytime.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peregian Beach, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food and atmosphere, friendly service ... we'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We were there for lunch and with 6 adults and 5 children for my Grandmother's 92nd birthday ... we all had a lovely time and the kids could go for a run on the beach (150 meters away) after lunch. Would recommend it :)

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Terrible service and attitude!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Went to the Black Cockatoo Cafe today after feeding the dolphins at Tin Can Bay.
No-one greeted us; in fact, eye-contact was a problem for the staff on duty. We found our own seats and menus and waited and waited... We eventually went to find out if it was actually table service, and to ask if someone would take our order. Very offhand, harried staff told me 'you can see we're busy' - no apology and no indication when he/she would come to take our order. We left, so can't comment on the food, but the staff definitely need some customer service training! My advice, don't bother if the restaurant is busy.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Cockatoo Cafe also viewed

Tin Can Bay, Gympie Region
 
Tin Can Bay, Gympie Region
Tin Can Bay, Gympie Region
 

Been to The Black Cockatoo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Cockatoo Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.