We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Relaxation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Ocean Palms Resort

Save Saved
You added Rainbow Ocean Palms Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rainbow Ocean Palms Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   103 - 105 Cooloola Drive, Rainbow Beach, Queensland 4581, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Rainbow Beach
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Weekend Relaxation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here over the weekend. We loved it. We arrived late on a Friday night and woke up to a terrific view from apartment 14. Located high on the hill and only a short drive to the main street in Rainbow beach (or 20 min walk ) we thought this place was a terrific place to stay.

Room Tip: Try unit 14. It was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowOceanPalms, Manager at Rainbow Ocean Palms Resort, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. Yes it is certainly a big surprise for everyone that arrives in the dark to wake up and see the view from our penthouses which are the highest available accommodation in Rainbow Beach. Glad you enjoyed your weekend getaway and hopefully we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    10
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
48
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

This beautiful and stylishly-designed resort overlooking Rainbow Beach and the Fraser Coast is just stunning. Every detail is taken care of, and the quality of the apartments, the way they are appointed and fitted out is to die for. I have stayed here twice before and I was not disappointed on my third visit. It's really quite wonderful, and so immaculately maintained. The managers, Mark and Tanya are incredibly helpful, friendly and obliging. Nothing is too much trouble for them to ensure that you have a great stay. I will keep coming back here! There's nothing to criticise. I love this place.

Room Tip: Choose Apartment 2 - it's a three bedroom apartment right at the front, more on it's own and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowOceanPalms, Manager at Rainbow Ocean Palms Resort, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you Carolyn for your kind words and we look forward to you visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

If you want peace and quiet, chill out with a magnificent view and all the little mod cons then this place is a beautiful escape. I stayed a week and could and should stayed another 2 weeks.

You self cater, with a little astute pre organisation, you can have a millionaire's retreat.

Highly recommended.

Vic D.

Room Tip: Very nice pool with a view. No Parking Fees. They even have exchange DVD's at the front office...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowOceanPalms, Manager at Rainbow Ocean Palms Resort, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we are glad you were able to chill out while you were here. We look forward to you returning soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, QLD
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My hubby and I stayed here for 2 nights this past weekend.. what a beautiful place! The resort itself is a little drive from the centre of Rainbow Beach - but that's not a bad thing. The fact that the resort is perched up high on Cooloola Drive, on the other side of the Carlo Sandblow means that you get incredible views out to Fraser Island and across the ocean.

The resort is quiet and while the apartments are spacious with lots of windows to take in that view - there are plenty of blinds and the design means you are in complete privacy.

I would say 2 nights wasn't long enough at all!

The only negative we had was that we couldn't turn off the jets in the spa all night - we tried everything, googled everything for a good few hours, then tried to go to sleep but woke up constantly from the noise (there is no door on the bathroom and the bathroom is right near the bed!) We tried calling reception with no answer (it was late, but we were contemplating sleeping in our car by that point so getting desperate). We didn't sleep at all! At around 7, management came up and helped us by just flicking off the switch on the electrical switchboard (wish we had thought of that!).. It was a bit of a shame, because then while we tried to get a couple of hours of sleep during the day - we couldn't due to a house across the road holding band practice in their garage!

To be honest - this all doesn't detract from the beautiful view, amenities, or location. Just wish we had have booked more nights so we could enjoy a whole day properly!

Room Tip: Rooms on Floor 1 and Floor 2 have better views. Rooms closer to the road are subjected to band p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowOceanPalms, Manager at Rainbow Ocean Palms Resort, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you are looking forward to your next visit (a little longer next time as you suggest). We pride ourselves on offering personalised service and meeting guest expectations, therefore we apologise for you not being able to contact us after hours. We are not sure why you were unable to get a response on this occasion. We look forward to welcoming you back for another "beautiful escape" in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Rainbow Ocean Palms and loved every minute of our stay. Celebrating my partners Birthday we stayed in Penthouse 12. Words cannot describe the view. Truly breathtaking. Highly recommend to anyone to stay here.

Room Tip: Penthouse 12 has the ultimate view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowOceanPalms, Manager at Rainbow Ocean Palms Resort, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review and we certainly appreciate your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

my partner and i went here for a weekend getaway for 2nights and were very pleased with the apartments and service. our apartment was on the second level and the views we had were incredible, we stayed in a 1bedroom apartment and the apartment was very generous in size, the spa bath was is great very big. Mark was great, last minute i felt like getting a massage and he arrange an inroom massage for me that same day. I will definately be going back to stay again :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowOceanPalms, Manager at Rainbow Ocean Palms Resort, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback Bonnie. An in room massage is such a great way to wind down and relax. It was great that the therapist was available on the same day for you and this is just one of the advantages of coming to Rainbow Beach during the quiet times. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We recently held our wedding ceremony on the balcony of the penthouse suite. It was an amazing day and with the stunning views, impressed all of our guests! Our time spent at the resort was made even better by the relaxed nature of Mark and Tanya who went beyond our expectations to make our time as stress free as possible. Highly recommended :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowOceanPalms, Manager at Rainbow Ocean Palms Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you Carolyn for taking the time to post a review and to provide such great feedback and recommendations. It was so great seeing your family and friends enjoy their time together at Rainbow Ocean Palms and it was a pleasure for us to be able to be part of your wedding day. We look forward to you coming back for an anniversary visit sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rainbow Ocean Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Ocean Palms Resort

Address: 103 - 105 Cooloola Drive, Rainbow Beach, Queensland 4581, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Gympie Region > Rainbow Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Rainbow Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rainbow Ocean Palms Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow Ocean Palms Resort is a small boutique resort positioned on the highest point in Rainbow Beach, offering panoramic ocean views to World Heritage listed Fraser Island. Nestled against Great Sandy National Park, walking trails and wildlife viewing opportunities are on your doorstep. The spacious luxury apartments open out to sweeping views of the bushland and seascape and all apartments have spa baths and quality guest toiletries with L’Occitane products featured in the penthouse apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Rainbow Ocean Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Ocean Palms Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Ocean Palms Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.