We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private, romantic dinner spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterview Bistro

Waterview Bistro
103 Cooloola Dve, Rainbow Beach, Queensland 4581, Australia
07 5486 8344
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $19 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Waterview Bistro is an award winning restuarant located on the highest point of Rainbow Beach. Every table offers stunning views to Fraser Island and beyond and a seasonal changing menu represents the best in local produce. Nestled in the luxury botique resort of Rainbow Ocean Palms and adjacent to the stunning Carlo Sandblow, Waterview Bistro is a Rainbow Beach 'must do'!
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Private, romantic dinner spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Perhaps we were early, that was why we enjoyed private moments in the restaurant. Judy (I hope I didn't get her name wrongly) was friendly and attentive to us throughout the whole meal. Their chowder is definitely the best we had, ever. Never had we tasted chowder in such rich broth with loads of fresh ingredients. Chef from sweitzerland/sweden and perhaps that's why the food tasted exceptionally different with great quality. Loved the creme brulee, tasted as it should be.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    12
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tewantin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The seafood chowder is to kill for. Go early enough to watch the sunset. The were kind enough to pick us up at our hotel and drop us back. What great service.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangaratta, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome affordable food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

What great people work in and run this place, you can tell they love what they do, sensational food, perfect service, and extraordinary value for money, what a pleasure to eat here!!! Loved it!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We went to this place for lunch on a Sunday and it was so good we went back for dinner in a Thursday! Great little casual but fine dining experience in rainbow beach. For the quality of food the prices were also fantastic. The seafood chowder and duck are exceptional. The courtesy bus to and from the restaurant is also a bonus!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plovdiv, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I visit Rainbow Beach on a regular basis and this was my first visit to the Waterview. The service was exceptional and the food was devine.

We shared the aranchini balls and goats cheese salad for entree - gorgeous. Gnocchi and lamb ragout with parpadelle for mains followed by (apparently) an exceptional crime brûlée (one of us is trying to watch their weight!!)

I would highly recommend the Waterview to anyone visiting Rainbow Beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterview Bistro also viewed

Rainbow Beach, Gympie Region
Rainbow Beach, Gympie Region
 
Rainbow Beach, Gympie Region
Rainbow Beach, Gympie Region
 

Been to Waterview Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterview Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.