We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissatisfied” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthouse Restaurant Bar & Cafe

Lighthouse Restaurant Bar & Cafe
237 Shore St North, Cleveland, Redland City, Queensland 4163, Australia
(07) 3286 5555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 64 Restaurants in Cleveland
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dissatisfied”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

First time visit from interstate. Our meal was less than average for the price. One request for steak to be cooked medium, delivered well done! Second meal Barramundi was so bland and absolutely tasteless and cold. Both meals had chips and were cold. Waitress was informed, the response, Very sorry she would let the chef know and could we accept a cup of coffee, to which we replied No. Very expensive night. We won't be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    43
    20
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good but pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We last were here 3 years ago when the food and service were appalling. We decided to try again on my birthday and were pleasantly surprised. Service was very good with our waitress from Manchester, UK and food quality also good, but way overpriced for such small portions. $49 for basically a seafood platter was ridiculous. We also had the barramundi which was okay, but no greens and for $29 expensive. Cheaper to eat in New York or London frankly. Location is great with the bay water coming right up to the restaurant although water is murky grey. We noticed for a Friday lunchtime, it was barely half full....wonder why!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Charged for vinegar”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Couldn't believe a tray of chips was $10.00 at the Cafe (pricey) and when asked for vinegar they said they had it but wanted to charge 50c for a thimble full.
Like many Brisbane establishments, overpriced and average and they wonder why clientele is thin.
I said boy o boy, you actually charge for vinegar, I tell you what, don't worry about the whole thing, i'll go somewhere else.
They deserve not to be in business doing this.
Oh and the restaurant is well overpriced too, food not bad, but again pricey for what it is.

Nice setting, but needs a old management chucked out and some new owners, with a realistic price view.

Signed, Local resident.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“You don't even need good company to enjoy this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful place, great views and service.
Unique atmosphere.
Great food, value for money can be improved.
Great desert, selection matches well with meals.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great setting, but seems rather overpriced.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant has a beautiful outlook and the service is great, but the prices seem a little extravagant. Had a nice lunch with my Mum and sister, but I could not get over the prices of some items on the menu.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lighthouse Restaurant Bar & Cafe also viewed

Cleveland, Redland City
Cleveland, Redland City
 

Been to Lighthouse Restaurant Bar & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lighthouse Restaurant Bar & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.