We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing day out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Litchfield National Park

Litchfield National Park
2 hours drive from Darwin, Batchelor, Northern Territory, Australia
Improve this listing
Visit Litchfield National Park like an insider
Top Rated
$135*
and up
Litchfield National Park Day Tour from Darwin
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Batchelor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Originally home to the Aboriginal Wagait people, this national park's major attractions are its monsoon rainforest, magnificent streams and waterfalls, and historic ruins.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Relaxing day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

About 1.5 hours drive from Darwin so great for a day out. A real feeling of the true bush. Lovely waterholes . We swam in Buley and kids loved it. Clean and most refreshing.Felt these much safer for them than some of other places which are much deeper. Pack a picnic and make a real day of it. Coffee shop at Wangi falls ok but expensive.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    117
    12
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Spent a day exploring Litchfield and we wish we had more time. From the cool refreshing water of Buley Rockpools, the beauty and great swimming at Florence Falls and the outstanding Wangi Falls. Our advice is to take a waterproof camera so you can get great closeups of you swimming under the waterfalls. Termite mounds ar worth a look as well. Next time, and we can't wait till there is a next time, we want to explore the Lost City, just ran out of time this trip

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Bluey Rock Pools”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

On our way back from Katherine we detoured to the National park and swam at the Bluey Rock Pools. What a wonderful experience. Clean pristine rock pools at their best. I would suggest getting there early before the crowds start to build.

Just lazing back and enjoying nature at her best was a fantastic experience. After the rock pools you could take the short trip to Florence Falls to have a look or take the walk down to the bottom of the falls. However, it is a steep walk down which would make the walk back up hectic if you're tired or a bit unfit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Top Contributor
379 reviews 379 reviews
149 attraction reviews
Reviews in 181 cities Reviews in 181 cities
295 helpful votes 295 helpful votes
“Enjoy the pools”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We love to hike and there is nothing better than a cool pool after a long one or steep one. One trick is to get there early or late. Another, as at Buley Rock Holes, is to keep going to Florence Falls and there are several pools with no one in them as people cluster around the first, not investigating the walk. We did the Cascades walk near the safari camp and Greenant, both good for walking and dipping, in addition to Buley/Florence. Tolmer and Wangi are lovely but crowded because they are easy to get to. Check out the termite mound explanation, too.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Spent more or less a day driving round and exploring Litchfield National Park with my Girlfriend and her parents. Found it very easy to get between the different places of interest (Wangai Falls, Florence Falls etc) and was absolutely fantastic to be able to swin in the natural waterfalls and rockpools.
Although not as famous or well-known as Kakadu National Park, i'd definitely say that this is a great place to visit and is muchy easier to "get around" than Kakadu (especially if you don't have a 4 wheel drive vehicle)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Litchfield National Park also viewed

Kakadu National Park, Top End
 
Kakadu National Park, Top End
 

Been to Litchfield National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Litchfield National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.