We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a smile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Mystique

Restaurant Mystique
118 Imlay Street, Eden, New South Wales, Australia
(02) 6496 1178
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 17 Restaurants in Eden
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Service with a smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Brilliant service! And food to die for made my experience in Eden great and definitely be back again soon.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    11
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eden, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Prattlecette lighten up!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Some visitors to Australia may not understand our sense of humour. I believe that to be the case with the comment from Prattlecette. If they understood the friendly rivalry between Victoria and NSW they would have known that the comment about the beer was not said venomously but rather humorously albeit dry humour.
Don't change Rodney. You make an evening at Mystique entertaining.
Once again tonight we had a superb dinner.
The feedback from the customers I recommend Mystique to is always positive.
One more comment I can't understand is in regards to the decor. Certainly more middle eastern than 1950's. Dark? A more adequately description would have to be intimate. Pricing? Definitely a reflection on the cost of fresh local seafood and quality produce.
Finally, Great Chef, lovely atmosphere and really friendly owners. Love their motto "arrive as guests, leave as friends." :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Great good, great ambiance, even better cocktails! Very surprising find, don't be fooled by the motel's exterior. Definitely the best dining option in this part of the world.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings about this one”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I agree that this is a good dining option in Eden. The restaurant is not on the street, and feels very old fashioned with its heavy curtains, old style lighting and dark carpets, and ordinary furniture. 1950s finest style, but definitely needs updating. The food was pretty good. But what horrified me was the waiter, who may be an owner according to another reviewer, so I guess this feedback will go nowhere! When we were talking about beers, my husband asked about a VB (Victoria Bitter). The waiter, who had already demonstrated that he does not have the ease or style to work in this level of restaurant, said somewhat venomously "we call it vomit beer". That word vomit, said in that old-style fine-dining environment, echoed through the entire evening for me and let's say that it did not enhance the experience. So I can't give it more than 3 on an overall basis. I found it somewhat overpriced, too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“An entertaining evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We visited Mystique on Valentines night when they were offering a set menu of 3 courses and a glass of fizz for $50, which is very reasonable.
The food was of a good standard with a varied menu and some creative dishes that made the most of local ingredients.
The restaurant was very busy as it was Valentines night and as a result the service was a little hectic at times, but it was quick and friendly. I got the impression that they were under a bit more pressure than usual due to the large number of diners eating at the same time, which may have explained the slightly more rushed service. That said they were cheerful and friendly throughout.
They had a live musician on the night, who was good, but only played a few songs in the 2 hours that we were there, which left the room lacking background atmosphere in the long breaks between bursts.

Overall Mystique was a good place to eat and we enjoyed our food, but I have a feeling that on a normal evening when the staff were not so rushed it would be excellent.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Mystique also viewed

Eden, New South Wales
Eden, New South Wales
 
Eden, New South Wales
Eden, New South Wales
 

Been to Restaurant Mystique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Mystique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.