We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Multiple dissapointments” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Coachman's Rest Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Coachman's Rest Motor Inn to your Saves list
Coachman's Rest Motor Inn
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   46 Princes Highway | (Cnr of George Brown Street and Irene Cres), Eden, New South Wales 2551, Australia (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Eden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Multiple dissapointments”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

Booked into here. The ad said on the shores on twofold bay. Forgot to mention the 2 k walk. Paid 150 which we assumed like other places on the coast would get us a good room. We were wrong. Spa turned out to be a large bathtub. Even better there was no hot water. We tried boiling jugs then far up. Owners tried to say they were unaware of the problem but they would give us a reffund. 20 bucks out of 300.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Coachman's Rest Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write this review. We apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay with us. We try to make our guests stay as memorable as possible. After reading your comments, there were two things I would like to point out.
We do not advertise that our property is located “on the shores of Twofold Bay.” The copy on Wotif.com (where you made the booking) reads “The town is situated on the shores of Twofold Bay where you can spot dolphins, seals and whales”.
Unfortunately we were not informed about the hot water issue at any time during your two day stay. If we had known we could have changed your room or got a plumber straight away to fix the problem. After reading your feedback form, we (and a plumber) checked the hot water system and found no problem with it. However we will closely monitor if other guests experience a similar problem.
I do hope you may consider staying with us the next time you visit beautiful Eden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lothian
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

.We stayed for only one night and the staff could not have been better. The accomodation looks like it could do with an upgrade though and I would say doesn't live up to it's reputation as being part of the Best Western chain, which we've used in the past. We had a meal in the restaurant and it was superb. Room was clean, tidy and fine for the short stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Clean, friendly, great for family
New owners had just taken over
Found a light not working, they came very quickly to fix it
Good for a stop over in Eden

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011 via mobile

So it's under new management the owner and guy in the restraunt are fabulous hosts talkative friendly if not a little to much . The food delicious generous size but still pricy $24.00 for a basic dish it's tasty yes but could make five at home for price of one .steak was nice and perfectly cooked !! Would return if price is lower

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011 via mobile

Room was dated but reasonably clean. King bed was hard and uncomfortable. Toaster supplied but no plates, bowls, cutlery etc - even though staff were happy to supply these items, I had to chase staff to obtain what I needed - really should have been supplied in the first place.
Dinner at the restaurant was a disappointment and overpriced.
Filet steak was okay but veggies weren't very imaginative or inspiring - had much better meal for less - we expected restaurant quality and got a not so good pub meal.
WiFi not included in cost - $4 for one hour.
Management were very pleasant and attentive but on the whole I wouldn't recommend - $110.00 was definitely overpriced for what we got - will look elsewhere when we travel through next year.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoachmansEden, Owner at Coachman's Rest Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We pride ourselves on offering clean and comfortable rooms. We do not have cooking facilities, the toaster is only supplied to toast bread supplied on B/Fast room service. We are happy to supply cutlery if requested though. Our beds have varying feels, should you prefer soft we can accommodate that. Somewhat surprised on the restaurant feedback as we receive 99% great feedback on having the best food on the coast. We only purchase the best yearling Black Angus steaks from both Australia and New Zealand. With fresh seafood and produce. I will provide the chef your feedback on the vegetables.
Hope you will stay again as I am sure the experience will be satisfactory.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korumburra, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

My wife and I stayed here 17 to 21 Oct '11, as members of a tour group.
We found "mine hosts" and the entire staff, courteous, helpful and efficient, each in their own way helping to make our stay memorable.
Being situated where it is, the Motel is ideally situated to be used as a base to explore the many attractions the area offers, and if you're a golfer the course is over the road.
The highlight of our stay was a Whale Watch excursion, but this in no way diminishes the pleasure derived from visits to the other spots of interest - both local and further afield.
After each day's activities it was great to return to the facilities of the Coachman's Rest, partake of "whistle- wetter" before dinner, then partake of a top class meal in their dining area - a recommended resting place during your travels and with plenty of parking.

Room Tip: From our observations most rooms offered an equal and adequate standard of comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

The rooms were rather old but nevertheless I found the beds comfortable and clean and that is why I stay in a motel - to sleep well. The price was reasonable and the restaurant was fabulous. You won't starve here as I have never seen such a big or thick fillet steak. Good wine list for a motel of this standard to go with the excellent food. Staff were extremely friendly.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coachman's Rest Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman's Rest Motor Inn

Address: 46 Princes Highway | (Cnr of George Brown Street and Irene Cres), Eden, New South Wales 2551, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Eden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Eden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coachman's Rest Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run motel based in Eden, NSW Australia. We have 26 ground floor rooms including doubles, twin share and family rooms. All rooms are Non smoking have free parking available in front of the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Coachman's Rest Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coachman's Rest Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.