We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Carter Lake

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Carter Lake to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Carter Lake
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2510 Abbott Plaza, Carter Lake, IA 51510   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Carter Lake
Shawnee, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

Nice hotel for a weekend trip to Omaha. Decent room, but the pool was a little cold. The breakfast was a plus.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    24
    9
    7
    6
See reviews for
19
10
2
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

We stayed at this hotel because it was close to the airport and we have young children and there was an indoor pool. The pool was horrible! It was 66 degrees in the pool room and the heat for the "heated pool" was not turned on. When I complained to the front desk, the woman responded that the manager was already gone for the night and that she did not know how to operate the heat for the pool. On top of that, we hardly got any sleep as the walls are paper thin and you could hear people yelling all night. Definitely would not go back again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The hotel is close to downtown, the zoo and the airport. The breakfast room is large and they provide the average selection of hotel breakfast food. Our children loved the pool.
We did not hear the airplanes or street traffic from our room. The beds were comfortable and the room was very clean.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

Hotel will not accept changes to your reservation (we tried 3 weeks in advance) - and WILL charge your credit card. We needed to cancel one night of a four night reservation (3 weeks in advance) - but were charged. Do NOT believe the Holiday Inn cancellation policy of 72 hours - this hotel will NOT honor. Calls to Corp Holiday Inn get no response.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEBRASKA
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
165 hotel reviews
Reviews in 202 cities Reviews in 202 cities
392 helpful votes 392 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

Our room was spacious and the bathroom was large and nicely decorated. Breakfast was very good. There was a good sized hot tub with nice jets, but the water needed to be hotter. My only dislike about the room was that there was no ref.
Hotel was very convenient to the airport and Budget parking. It was also very convenient to the Qwest Center and the Haymarket area. There was a convenience store next door.
We ended up staying here again on our return as our flight was delayed and it was too late to drive home. I felt the price we paid for the last minute booking was a bit steep, but we were too tired to look elsewhere. Our biggest complaint about our second stay was that the maids began vacuuming VERY early when we were trying to sleep.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

On the upside: Convenient to the airport with free shuttle to and from airport, free wifi, a 24 hour convienience store across the street, and the usual Holiday inn express hot breakfast.

On the downside: Noise. HVAC so loud you couldn't hear the tv, doors banging up and down the hall at all hours, and hot water pipes thumping anytime anyone in the building turned on their hot water.

This place is okay if you only need one night while you're waiting for your plane. But, thats it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

This hotel was a nice surprise. I had to stay at the airport since my flight got in at midnight from Denver. I was worried about getting out of a small airport via shuttle, etc. at such a late hour. No problem! I called and they were there is a few minutes. When I checked in I was really hungry. I asked the front desk if there was any food available (which I didn't expect). She suggested a pizza delivery but I had pizza earlier in the day. I thanked her anyway and said I would wait 'til breakfast. Next thing you know, she was offering me a plate of cereal bars, Nutra Grain bars. They offer these for their breakfast in the morning. She went the extra mile to accommodate me. The rooms were very nice- clean, modern looking. I wasn't expecting too much so I was pleasantly surprised. This hotel was a little more expensive than the surrounding ones (La Quinta, Sleep Inn) but worth it in my opinion. The breakfast was outstanding- cheese omelet, bacon, hot cinnamon rolls, etc. They offer AAA, AARP and Military discount.

  • Liked — location near airport, staff friendliness, nice rooms, good breakfast
  • Disliked — a little expensive for this area
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Carter Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Carter Lake

Address: 2510 Abbott Plaza, Carter Lake, IA 51510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Carter Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Carter Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Carter Lake 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are now 100% smoke free. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is conveniently located 2 minutes away from Omaha's Eppley Airfield and centrally located less than 5 minutes from the Qwest Convention Center & Arena, Gallup University, the historic Old Market area, Union Pacific Railroad, Lewis and Clark Landing, and Conagra. We are pleased to provide complimentary wireless high-speed Internet service and 24-hour airport transportation. Relax in our indoor pool and whirlpool after enjoying a day at Omaha's Henry Doorly Zoo. Stay and play with us by enjoying an Omaha Royals Baseball game, just minutes from the hotel. We are also located less than 10 minutes from 3 casinos: Horseshoe Casino, Harrah's Casino, and Ameristar Casino. Start your day with our complimentary Express Start breakfast. Our Manager's Reception, held from 5:30PM to 7:00PM Mondays thru Thursdays, is the perfect place to unwind after a hectic day. We offer FREE beer, wine, and snacks. Priority Club members can register to win 1,000 Priority Club points in our nightly drawing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Carter Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Carter Lake
Carter Lake Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Carter Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.