We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT VERY IMPRESSED!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Omaha Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Omaha Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Omaha Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2510 Abbott Plaza, Carter Lake, IA 51510   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carter Lake
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
“NOT VERY IMPRESSED!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

When I checked in I was not offered any kind of reward member extra. I went out for a bit and when I returned the night audit employee was passed out in the lobby on the couch. I went to the business center to do some reports and the phone rang constantly with no answer and a potential guest was trying to shake the night audit employee awake so that he could get a room. At breakfast the food was not stocked. The front desk agent was conversating on the couch with another employee when I had to come to the front desk because nobody was answering the phone. The front desk agent also was not wearing appropriate business casual attire as she had a overly large dirty sweatshirt on and did not look professional. I did not find this hotel to meet the holiday inn standards that I have come to expect. The room itself was wonderful and clean thumbs up to the housekeepers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Omaha Airport, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Tonia M,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the room and housekeeping.

However, We’re sorry you received poor customer service from our front desk which was unacceptable. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    27
    11
    8
    7
See reviews for
23
10
2
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stayed at this hotel after my flight was canceled. It is in close proximity to the airport- less than 5 minutes but the website is deceiving. The Holiday Inn website says that the hotel was recently refurbished but it still feels very dated. It was clean but exterior doesn't look like the website. The shuttle is complimentary but is operated by Alamo and not the hotel. It was only available for pick up and drop offs to airport and stopped at neighboring hotels as well. It was $12 by taxi to downtown Omaha. Front desk staff were often not there and lobby seems cramped. The only thing in walking distance is a gas station and Subway restaurant across the street. I would only stay here if I needed to crash before an early morning flight. Hotel feels lika a motel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, UTah
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed here one night. When we first entered the lobby area we noticed a smell that we could not identify but that was not pleasing. We eventually go used to it. The room was clean. The bath and shower seemed new and the spray from the shower was fantastic. It was one of the best showers I have seen in a hotel of this caliber. The service checking in was a little slow as there was only one person who was handling multiple people checking in and answering the telephone. We left early so only tried the continental breakfast, which began at 4:00 a.m. We were glad they did it so early because we needed to leave by 5:30 a.m. The continental breakfast was good. Our room was quiet and we slept well. We also used the free WiFi, which was nice ot have. The only down side was that there are not any good places to eat that are close to the hotel and we would have liked to have had a frig in the room. when we left they even gave us each a cold bottle of water for the trip

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Rooms are nice and clean. Complimentary breakfast and wi-fi. You can get bottled water by asking for it at the front desk. The hotel is close to the airport and uses Budget car rental shuttles for airport pickups. They will pick you up until 1AM. There is no day shuttle to go to the Omaha downtown.

There is a subway and a convenience store right across the street from the hotel. Dominos pizza will deliver to the hotel room until 1 AM.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Stayed here for the night before flying out of Eppley Airport the next morning. For the most part, I got everything I would expect from a Holiday Inn Express. The facilities still look really new and appear quite well maintained, and the staff was friendly. From the hotel, it is about a five minute drive to the airport up the same road. And if you have time to kill, downtown is pretty much five minutes the other way. (And due to Crater Lake, the hotel is actually in a small bit of Iowa that juts across the river and not actually in Omaha or even Nebraska).

The room was small, but on par with the chain. Though, this one didn't have the tiny refrigerator in my room, which I've come to expect. Otherwise, it was a decent room and I got a good night's sleep in it.

As in other HIEs there was the complimentary breakfast, which had pretty much the same thing you will find at any other hotel (including the pancake machine). Though, after breakfast hours, everything was close doff, while I have stayed at others that always would have fresh coffee and tea available.

Room Tip: The hotel is angled so the rooms really don't face the major street. So, should be good on any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located very close to the Omaha Airport. Very clean and still looks brand new even though they have been open for 6 years. Stayed on a Tuesday night which was cool because they had a reception in the breakfast room with free wine, beer, cheese, snacks, etc. Staff was helpful and friendly. The shuttle driver/engineer guy was awesome and super nice! The shuttle will take you to downtown Omaha for dinner, drinks, sight seeing, etc.They will even take you to the airport if needed. The only downside to my stay is the spa was out of order. I was looking forward to relaxing in the spa, but the pool was heated to a pretty warm temp so that worked. I would definitely stay here again if I am in Omaha.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of downtown Omaha.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Very nice pre-flight hotel. Minutes from the airport. Friendly staff. They recognize the people that are there frequently and make them feel special. We love Jeff at the front desk. Great guy!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Omaha Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Omaha Airport

Address: 2510 Abbott Plaza, Carter Lake, IA 51510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Carter Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carter Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Omaha Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at the Omaha Airport - Eppley Airfield in Carter Lake, Iowa is approximately 1.4 miles away or only a two to three minute drive. The location provides convenient access to the airport, all of downtown Omaha (a short 1.7 miles or seven to ten minute drive) and downtown Council Bluffs (3.5 miles or ten to fifteen minutes drive). Hotel provides complimentary airport shuttle from the Airport every 15 minutes and in the morning, scheduled trips to the airport on the half hour starting as early as 3:30 a.m., seven days a week. For those without a car, the hotel offers complimentary shuttles in the morning to downtown businesses and in the evening to the downtown restaurant district. Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Omaha Airport has a 24 hour business center in the lobby, an indoor pool, a spa tub and a fitness Center. All guest rooms are non-smoking and feature either one king or two queen size beds, premium cable television programming, flat screen color televisions, a desk chair & workstation and comfortable seating area in each room. Suites, with the one king or two queen bed configurations offer additional space and a separate seating area for entertaining. The extra parlor features a sofa sleeper convertible bed, additional flat screen color television, wet bar and refrigerator. Additionally, the hotel is ADA compliant and guests have easy access to the hotel, the guest rooms, hotel amenities and hotel function spaces. Our hotel has accessible standard rooms and suites, including suites with one king or two queen size beds, including both physical impairment and/or hearing impairment units. Sorry no pets, but service animals are, of course, welcomed. Start your day early with our continental breakfast of cereal, milk, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fresh fruit, assorted breakfast bars and breads and beverages such as juice, coffee and/or hot chocolate. The continental is served as early as 3:30 a.m., seven days a week. The Smart Start free hot breakfast is served from 6:00 a.m. - 9:30 a.m. daily, in the centrally located breakfast room. There is much to see and do in Omaha. Our Downtown area features such attractions as the Century Link Center Omaha Convention Center, the TD Ameritrade Ball Park, the Freedom Park Navy Museum, the Bob Kerrey Pedestrian Bridge, the historic Old Market restaurant and bar district, and nearby attractions such as the Joslyn Art Museum, Durham Museum, and the Omaha Henry Doorly Zoo. The City of Council Bluffs and area shopping is only a short drive (only 10 - 15 minutes away). Council Bluff has Casinos, the Mid-America Center, additional shopping & dining opportunities, a Go Kart track and a luxury movie theater. The hotel shuttle will take guests to the Council Bluffs Mid-America Center, nearby restaurants, shopping and even the Casinos (mileage restrictions apply). Be aware that the shuttles typically end at 11:00 p.m. and those desiring to stay away later may have to make have to make other arrangements. Some of the other notable businesses and attractions are University of Nebraska at Omaha (UNO), Creighton University, Gallup, The Nebraska Medical Center, the Children's Hospital, Offutt Air Force Base, Union Pacific Railroad, Conagra, Omaha Steaks, Omaha World-Herald newspaper, First Data and the Oriental Trading Company. Additionally, during the summer months, the hotel offers a mid-week Manager's Reception, currently offered Tuesday & Wednesday evenings from 5:30 p.M. - 7:00 P.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Omaha Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Carter Lake
Carter Lake Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Omaha Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.