We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel du Haut Phare

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Motel du Haut Phare to your Saves list
Motel du Haut Phare
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1334, Rte 132 | Cap-des-Rosiers, Gaspe, Quebec G4X 6H4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Gaspe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We just spent 4 days here the week of Sept 16. Excellent Choice! The room, breakfast, view, location to park and restaurants - all perfect. Alain the owner was very friendly and informative. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    28
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
33
64
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Oaks, Minnesota
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed here as we were passing through in Sept of 2013. As you drive up you think you are at a ma and pa motel back in the 50's. But we could not have been happier with our room. Every part of the room was remodeled and updated including a very nice looking shower. Alain was a great host and very helpful with things we could do. Great location right across from the lighthouse. This is an excellent value in Gaspe. We recommend asking for room #5!! I mistakenly checked that it has a swimming pool. It does not have a swimming pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardsley on Hudson, NY
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

kitchenette style- bring your own food from Gaspe because no stores in immediate area. They however, include breakfast, (continental) which we did not know since they didn't pu that on the reservation confirm so save yourself buying breakfast food unless you want more than cereal or toast etc. If you have laundry like we did from road trip you can do that right up the rad behind the lighthouse "Brunaderie" in Quebec French.
Only minor "downside" was that they did not make up our room (we were there two nights) I'm not sure if this was an oversite or standard procedure but was a distinct item to note.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natal3946, Propriétaire at Motel du Haut Phare, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Hello sir, thank you for this review, I'm very sorry if nobody told you that the personnel is not authorized to go in your bedroom unless you ask for but we usually always advise the people, for the continental breakfast it's advertised on the website just above the rates.
I agree that there is no store in the village itself but I always let people know in the confirmation message.
Thank you for being there and I hope that you liked your stay anyway

Best regards
Alain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Motel du Haut Phare a couple of weeks ago, and were very happy with out choice. The room we stayed in was spacious, comfortable and clean and its interior was cozy (it had recently been renovated).

The location of the motel is ideal: it faces the sea and a stretch of beach where you enjoy long walks (and maybe a swim if the temperature of the water and the weather permits, end of August was chilly for us). The beach is on the opposite side of the street, but the view from the motel is nonetheless beautiful.

The motel is also across the charming lighthouse. I would generally recommend staying in Cap-des-Rosiers. It is a great base to discover the Forillion Park (10 minutes by car to the north entrance and 20 to the south one). Cap-des-Rosiers is a small village, full of charm and tranquil.

The owner recommended a couple of places for lunch/dinner (both outside Cap-des-Rosiers) and both were very good: The cafe of Anse-au-Griffon's cultural centre (20 minutes by car) and Le Baleinier in Cap aux Os (also 20 minutes by car). The fish and seafood were a delight.

We are definitely coming back to explore Gaspe again, and wouldn't want to stay anywhere other than le Motel du Haut Phare.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at the Motel, exploring the Park Forillon. It was a perfect place to come home to. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. There is a table with two chairs at the window, and the view is amazing. You feel like you are at the end of the world. We were there for the full moon- it was incredible. The owner Alain, who was very friendly and accommodating, made a fire every night, so we got to sit outside, with a glass of wine, and enjoy the moonlight on the water. We socialized around the fire, and met a group of travelers from Switzerland. For breakfast you help yourself to toast, cereal and coffee. It's nothing fancy, but surely enough get you started. The food out on the peninsula in general is not so great. We brought our own lunch fixings, for picnics in the park, and only went out for dinner. I look forward to returning to Motel Du Haut Phare some day. It is a special place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx
Top Contributor
425 reviews 425 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 150 cities Reviews in 150 cities
916 helpful votes 916 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

As many TA reviewers already mentioned and posted their beautiful photos, this motel has the best view of arguably the whole Gaspe region. On the left, there lies the tallest lighthouse in Canada. Then you can see the sea and gaspe, "end of the land" peninsula. Forillon National park, North entrance is only 1 mile away. Best of all, this motel is facing all amazing features described above and everybody must be happy when they lift the curtain of the room.
- Just a brief geographic fact, there are many small, picturesque villages in Gaspe peninsula. Sign board will mention something like "Gaspe (Cap-des-Rosier)" or other different village names. At least this motel is easy to find because of the landmark "lighthouse."
- This place might not be the cheapest but owner provided a lot of first class service including cable TV, fast internet, comfy leather chairs in the room. Good size room although bathroom is a bit crowded but hot water is available all the time. Again, do not forget that it is a very remote area and there is no restaurant in this village. At least some gas stations near this place but you should definitely bring your own food or make arrangement with owner for something like lobster grill in front of your room with fire place. Another good idea might be to eat your lunch or dinner while visiting bigger places like gaspe (proper) or Perce. Otherwise nearest restaurant from this place is 10 minutes drive on each direction of highway 132.
- You might be able to find some cheap motels at the edge of Gaspe region as I saw several ads on the street. But view is definitely better here. In the same village of Cap-des-Rosier, there are some motels facing west and might be good to see sunset but all you can see is "sea." Another thing is they may not speak English. Our host,Alain can be the resource person and can even help you with reservation for snorkeling, whale watch (I don't think that is a good idea).

Only suggestion: skip the limited breakfast or let visitors take some limited items when office is open on evening before. Food won't otherwise available until 7:30 AM. When I was in Alaska under same situation with one man running the motel, he made coffee and leave fridge full of cold bagels, milk and bread at 5AM and we were happy to grab whatever we want before going to the national park there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

What a great gateway to Forillon. Stand outside the motel and face front-- bay, cliffs, seals, seabirds.... face left-- tallest lighthouse in Canada seabirds... face right-- mountains. Comfortable rooms, great host, good breakfast--eat it at the picnic tables facing front. Forillon is lovely. Food in the area is not. Buy a barbecue chicken in Gaspe and do as for breakfast-- picnic tables face front.

Room Tip: Room 5 is new with great woodwork and spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natal3946, Propriétaire at Motel du Haut Phare, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you very much for such a good comment, I'm so happy that you have enjoyed, hopefully we see again some day.

Alain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel du Haut Phare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel du Haut Phare

Address: 1334, Rte 132 | Cap-des-Rosiers, Gaspe, Quebec G4X 6H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Gaspe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Gaspe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel du Haut Phare 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Motel Du Haut Phare is one of the most marvellous places to stay in Gaspe. Our motel is located in the very hart of the Gaspe peninsula, at the gateaway to the village of Cap-Des-Rosiers and Forillon National Park just where the International Appalachian Trail draws to an end... One of the lovelies places in the province of Quebec. Here you can always expect a warm hospitality and we will do everything to make people confortable, your host Alain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Motel du Haut Phare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Du Haut Phare Gaspe, Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel du Haut Phare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.