We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel du Haut Phare

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Motel du Haut Phare to your Saves list
Motel du Haut Phare
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1334, Rte 132 | Cap-des-Rosiers, Gaspe, Quebec G4X 6H4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Gaspe
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

What a great gateway to Forillon. Stand outside the motel and face front-- bay, cliffs, seals, seabirds.... face left-- tallest lighthouse in Canada seabirds... face right-- mountains. Comfortable rooms, great host, good breakfast--eat it at the picnic tables facing front. Forillon is lovely. Food in the area is not. Buy a barbecue chicken in Gaspe and do as for breakfast-- picnic tables face front.

Room Tip: Room 5 is new with great woodwork and spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natal3946, Propriétaire at Motel du Haut Phare, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you very much for such a good comment, I'm so happy that you have enjoyed, hopefully we see again some day.

Alain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    28
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
33
63
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We wanted a place near to Park Forillon on our trip through the Gaspesie. The "season" had not yet started and so the Cap was barely open for business. However, Alain graciously accomodated us and made us very comfortable. He is doing a nice job restoring this property and has stocked the rooms with everything a guest might need. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natal3946, Propriétaire at Motel du Haut Phare, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you very much Susan et Michel for such a good comment, I'm so happy that you have enjoyed, hopefully we see again some day.

Alain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a clean, reasonably spacious room with kitchenette. The included breakfast is fine, but not really worth mentioning. The owner is very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. What is absolutely memorable of this place is the view from the room. We spent our evening on the terrace in front of the room, overlooking the lighthouse and the cliffs, watching whales playing in the sea. Not the cheapest motel ever (all the motels in the area have roughly the same price), but the view made it well worth it. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I spent two nights here with a friend in October. the motel is in a fabulous location right across from a beautiful beach and the Cap des Rosiers lighthouse. Location wise it could not be better. The owner, Alain, was charming and very helpful. the facilities were excellent, all that one needed. clean, spacious and comfortable. i had two double beds in my room, good ensuite bathroom, tea/coffee making equipment, flatscreen TV, table and chairs and lots of towels. Breakfast is included. lots of information, guidebooks and maps available. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: all rooms overlook the beach so any will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in Oct 2012. I highly recommend this motel. Clean rooms, well located (a lighthouse across the road!) and, above all, a truly helpful and knowledgeable owner - Alain Cote. Ask him for tips on where to go in the area. And say hello to Jack!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We enjoyed this hotel. The room was clean. The hosts were very friendly. Its rooms face the ocean from across the highway. The view of the water is unobstructed. We cracked the window open at night to hear the ocean waves crashing against the shore. It is very close to the tallest lighthouse in Canada. Good Wifi reception. The continental breakfast includes bread from loaves that you toast yourself, but that was fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

It's a perfectly OK motel, but was surprised to find it not on the beach but across the highway and with a parking lot in front. Since the rooms open to the view and we were first room off the stairs, everyone going to their rooms coming and going stared into ours or walked in front of us when we sat in the chairs outside. The room was a standard-sized motel room with a smaller than normal bathroom and the kitchenette had been wedged and stacked into closet space. Small fridge, microwave on top of that and toaster and coffee machine on top of that. Two burners on other side of the room, right next to the sink, so no room to actually prepare anything, but ok for heating stuff up.
Still, the view was nice and the owner had two very comfortable chairs seated on either side of a round table in front of the window. He also gave us suggestions on a couple of things to do.
He offers an inexpensive continental breakfast, which is pretty meager, but the price was low.
The location is very close to Forillion Park, so handy for hikers.
To sum it up, we found it perfectly clean, it did have a view, and OK all around--just wasn't the "stupendous" place I had been expecting from reviews.

Room Tip: End of unit, so people aren't passing in front of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel du Haut Phare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel du Haut Phare

Address: 1334, Rte 132 | Cap-des-Rosiers, Gaspe, Quebec G4X 6H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Gaspe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Gaspe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel du Haut Phare 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Motel Du Haut Phare is one of the most marvellous places to stay in Gaspé. Our motel is located in the very hart of the Gaspé peninsula, at the gateaway to the village of Cap-Des-Rosiers and Forillon National Park just where the International Appalachian Trail draws to an end... one of the lovelies places in the province of Quebec. Here you can always expect a warm hospitality and we will do everything to make people confortable, your host Alain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Venere so you can book your Motel du Haut Phare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Du Haut Phare Gaspe, Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel du Haut Phare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.