We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place for a Gaspé stop.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Cafe Des Artistes

Restaurant Cafe Des Artistes
249 Boul De Gaspe, Gaspe, Quebec G4X 1A5, Canada
(418) 368-2255
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 33 Restaurants in Gaspe
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“nice place for a Gaspé stop.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

we stopped for lunch and it was pretty good food. salads are fresh and sandwiches are neat. Service was good and prices were ok considering it's a tourist spot

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    27
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“ignore 'yikes...', this is a wonderful relaxed place in Gaspe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

'Yikes' must have visited on a very odd day, as we have eaten lunch and dinner at Cafe des Artistes over the last week and this place is a gem. The service is professional but relaxed (if you wait 40min for service for goodness sakes just ask a serving staff to take your order; but our service was timely and with lovely humour). The food is not gastronomic (hello, this is not a major city but a rural service town of 5000 people), but it is wholesome, tasty and most of it homemade. Organic and fairtrade is also on offer, not to mention decaf expresso! If you are a traveller who appreciates the friendly atmosphere of cafes like those found in New Zealand, you will really appreciate this place.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Yikes....new management needed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I can't remember when the last time -- in 40 years of travelling -- that we have left a restaurant after ordering, but we did here. We waited 40 minutes at our table -- without anything and with the waitress focused on 2 other tables -- and were the told they were out of all white wine and it would be a while before our dinner was ready. Other patrons seemed frustrated too. We walked down the street, though, and had a lovely meal.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
445 reviews 445 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“A great lunch spot.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

After walking around Gaspe a bit we stopped here for lunch. The food was really great, and the atmposphere casual. It took a bit of time for someone to notice we were there and bring us menus, but once they did, service was very good. Food came quickly, prices were fair.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“NicE!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Our sandwiches were nice, coffee wasn't. It is an interesting place. Lots of things to treat you visually.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Cafe Des Artistes also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Cafe Des Artistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Cafe Des Artistes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.