We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place To Eat and Sleep!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison William Wakeham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Maison William Wakeham to your Saves list
La Maison William Wakeham
186 de la reine, c.p. 3-12, Gaspe, Quebec G4X1T6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Gaspe B&B and Inns
Deerfield, New York
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Place To Eat and Sleep!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay in Gaspe. It was close to everything in town- yet still secluded enough to get great sleep. The bed & breakfast itself is very historical and the owner of the place is a great chef!! If you're looking for the best place to eat, sleep, or both then La Maison William Wakeham is definitely where you want to go. The room was kept very clean and we had a great view of a full moon over the water! Everything about it was perfect!

Room Tip: They have a room in the summer that can accommodate larger groups. Bathroom was very nice (we had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    19
    10
    9
    2
See reviews for
19
36
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I wanted the experience of an auberge rather than a motel for a more personalized experience. In this Desmond Ogden, owner of the William Wakeham house has exceeded our expectations. The auberge is a very fine house, dating of 1860 and full of charm while very comfortable, but what is remarquable is the service. M. Ogden made us feel right at home, and the food was incredible. As a chef, every meal he prepares is not only delicious but one of a kind.

The Maison William Wakeham is a must for anyone who wants an unforgettable stay in Gaspé.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

A native Gaspesien, it makes me proud to know there is a place like this in my hometown.
Every time my family and I visit Gaspe, the William Wakeham House is always an option. My wife, son and I stayed at the Inn this past summer and the amenities provided is excellent for a small family stay. The hospitality provided is second to none, the location ideal: downtown, yet quiet and intimate, and the rustic, yet modern design emphasise the rich history of the establishment.
My wife and I returned during our Fall trip and enjoyed a nice romantic meal for two. We can never say enough about the quality and experience of the meal. Desmond prepares, without a doubt, the best dishes in the region.

Of all the auberges and bread and breakfasts we have stayed in in the province, we enjoy this one the most. Clean, quiet, friendly staff and great food. The little bistro is a fantastic addition!

Room Tip: The interior rooms share the character of the house. The Queen's room is by far our favourite, h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Desmond was such a great host for my family this past October. My son's wedding brought a small group to Gaspe to help celebrate this great event. What a great surprise to find such a beautiful Inn with such grandeur. Each room has it's own history and story and the Inn itself is just gorgeous. Desmond made us all feel very comfortable and at home while we stayed over the weekend. His makes a superb breakfast and his staff couldn't have been more pleasant and helpful. What a great time we had during our visit and we promise to return to this little hideway. We have also spread the word to our friends who want to visit Gaspe that this is the place to stay and feel at home. Great job Desmond and thank you for your great hospitality.

Joyce Keating and family- Pickering Ontario

Room Tip: Every room is a good room. For small family and friends the Wakeham room was perfect with a shut off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

It's a Canadian auberge, not a hotel, run by an aubergiste and staff aiming at providing a different experience in a historic setting. Spacious clean room (3*). Excellent breakfast and dinner (5*); friendly staff in harmony with a welcoming, relaxed atmosphere.

Room Tip: Not optimized for views but in front of bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stayed for two nights. Dinner on the first was good, but service was very slow. On the second the restaurant failed to open, despite our reservation. Next morning no apology from the owner and no real concern for letting us (and several others) down. The whole place seemed a little shabby and disorganised. We got the impression that the guests got good service when it fitted in with what the staff wanted to do. We were disappointed because we had read good reviews, but maybe its best days are in the past: old world charm can get you only so far.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Desmond and his team work so well together and are so welcoming to guests that they do absolutely everything they can to make your stay the very best. The Inn's majesty is like stepping back in time to the 1800's, with a quaint and relaxing atmosphere, (I could almost vision ladies from a century ago grandly climbing the staircase in long dresses). The food is phenomenal, best that we have ever had. Desmond is an expert chef and truly enjoys taking your gastronomy experience into the heights of fine dining. We are still relishing the glow of wonderful Gaspe and Maison William Wakeham and will definitely be back. You will not be disappointed, your stay will be a treat you should not deny yourself.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Maison William Wakeham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison William Wakeham

Address: 186 de la reine, c.p. 3-12, Gaspe, Quebec G4X1T6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Gaspe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Gaspe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The William Wakeham house built in 1860 is ideally located in Gaspé between Percé and the forillon National park,( 20 minutes drive) we are 7 minute drive from our sandy beach at Haldimand and five minutes drive from the airport and its a two minute drive from the marina for our 2014 season we have 11 rooms,and suites and 2 fully equipped apartments ideal for longer stays and familys of four or more (sleeps up to six) all our rooms have private bathrooms we offer tv’s in most rooms and wireless Internet throughout the building Our 40 seat award winning victorian dining room offers the freshest produce from the seaAnd from Quebec and canadian farms, lobster is of course available throughout the season, our 12 staff members are commited to quality service and we will do everything we can to make your stay in this historic house a memorable one.Our walking and bicycle trails are close by and we can arrange rentals,Breakfast is included with all our rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Maison William Wakeham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison William Wakeham Gaspe, Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison William Wakeham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.