We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy pub on a chilly day.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Thatch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Croyde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Thatch
Save
You added The Thatch to your Saves list
Croyde, Braunton, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 22 Croyde B&B and Inns
Dover
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Cosy pub on a chilly day.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My family and I decided to eat at The Thatch after a chilly day visiting Lynton & Lynmouth and Watersmeet.
When we arrived the bar staff advised us there was a specials board with two mains for £12 and also some meals on the menu included in this offer. My partner and I had the beef nachos to share as a starter which were delicious and came as a generous portion. My partner then had the venison and pheasant pie and I had Mrs Osbourne's Homity pie, which was a cheese, potato and leek flan. Our daughter had one of the children's meals and overall the food was very tasty and good value for money.
My family and I would definitely visit The Thatch again if we're ever back in North Devon and we'll definitely be recommending it to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    37
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
38
33
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We came to Croyde for a short break and decided to have a walk into the village. We had a drink in the thatch. A very warm friendly inviting place. The food looked amazing and would look at having food here. The locals are friendly and the live music was great. Look out for the odd dog, we ending up adopting one for the night.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We've stayed in Croyde before and love the area. We stayed in room 7 which is in the cottage over the road from the Thatch, the room was very clean and tidy, there was a tv with free view and the bed was comfy, it had everything you need! The fact everyone who stays there gets a breakfast in the morning makes it good value for money. We spent the night in The Thatch watching the rugby, it was a good chilled atmosphere, it's true that the food comes out quite quick, but it was good food, and I'd say it was reasonably priced. We will be back again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We just returned after a two day/night surfing trip, last min. We stayed in room 12, a double en suite. Really warm and clean, fantastic after a day on the beach in winter! The car park was directly opposite and free to guests. We ate the thatch both nights and our breakfast (breakfast included), generous portions and staff eager to help. The price at the thatch was not cheap but definitely reasonable in accordance with the portion size and quality. Breakfast was all you could eat and you could have continental and hot food made to order (we had both!). The staff were really happy to help with any queries and we would certainly go back. We are a young couple, and would certainly recommend to couples and groups alike. The room was a little noisy til about 11:30/12 as we were over billy buds - this didn't bother us at all but worth remembering for any one who gets to bed earlier, from what we heard there were quieter rooms available. Also remember its 3 for 2 on nights you stay which we only realised once we had booked, by this time our room was no longer available for the possible third night. Surfers, we would recommended Ralph's hire shop as the wets suits and equipment were excellent quality and service brilliant, as a young woman (and beginner surfer) I didn't get cold in the sea with it at 8 degrees! This is situated opposite the thatch. Braunton just up the road a 4-5 min drive away sold any thing extra eg toothpaste and or snacks if you needed extra. We are planning our trip back already.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We went to The Thatch today for Sunday lunch, a party of 8 adults.Between the first of us and last of us receiving our meals there was a delay of 10 minutes whilst our meals went cold on the table. More importantly the quality of the food was atrocious. The roast was tough, the potatoes had the consistency of cardboard, and the veg was boiled to death. A couple of the younger members opted for the Nachos, soggy and tasteless. Not one of us finished our meals because they were so poor. This place is trading off its previous reputation, it badly needs a refurb and a menu that doesn't come out of a packet. We won't eat here again. Wake up if you want to keep your customers!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

In the dark days of January we stayed two nights at the Thatch for my birthday weekend. We had a superbly refurbished room in the Priory, over the road from the Thatch pub itself. All meals were excellent, especially the generous breakfasts, and the staff could not have been more helpful and welcoming. This turned out to be a fantastic place for a getway weekend out of season, given its brilliant village setting close to Croyde beach and the breathtaking North Devon coastline.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My partner is from Devon and introduced me to The Thatch. It is our favorite place in Devon. We have stayed there several times and always had good service, the food is excellent and the atmosphere is so friendly and layed back which makes a great change from London. The live gigs are always good and a great way to party with friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Thatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thatch

Address: Croyde, Braunton, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton > Croyde
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Croyde
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Thatch Hotel Croyde
Thatch Croyde
The Thatch Croyde, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thatch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.