We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value base for getting active around North Devon” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort to your Saves list
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Croyde Bay, Croyde, Braunton EX33 1QB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Croyde
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good value base for getting active around North Devon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great value base for outdoor life - even during a chilly, windy, hail-stormy week. Family entertainment during evenings, and free use of indoor swimming pool, sauna & steam rooms. Large playing field, tennis courts, crazy golf and putting greens.

Hung photos of what it was like as a holiday camp in 50s and 60s impressive and how you could still enjoy yourself during austere times (like now!)

Cheaper and better quality evening meals for family in local pubs.

Room comfortable and clean but couldn't maintain heating to required temperature. Sound proofing from corridor not good - gave a feeling of a high quality student hall of residence - but that's ok.

Room Tip: ground floor family rooms have access to patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    41
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
88
28
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark, UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife & I stayed for 6 days with our 5 year old grandson. We stayed in an Atlantic cottage which had 2 bedrooms and two bathroom. Very clean and high standard of fittings. There is an indoor good size swimming pool including. Twice a day there is a childrens club which my grandson loved. Every night there was entertainment which manged to involve a wide range of ages. All the staff were all very friendly. The centre is located next to the dunes on Croyde Bay. A good walk across the sands to Croyde. Big centre for surfing. Found several good pubs in Croyde. Barnstaple is within 20 minute drive and was good for shopping. Similar distance to Ilfracombe.So much to do so will have to return again.. . . .

Room Tip: atlantic cottage for space and well fitted kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife chose Croyde Bay Holiday Village after we attended the wedding of one of our friends the year before and stayed in a chalet for the night,and it was an excellent choice. We rented one of the 2 bedroom 2 bathroom chalets for a five day stay Monday to Friday, and I was amazed how clean it was after a season of renting. The facilities were really good including an indoor swimming pool. We cooked our own breakfasts in the chalet and eat out in the evenings so we are unable to comment on the food. The whole area is beautiful as we were aware, after having lived in Georgeham for a year some years ago, and you can take a pathway from the rear of the holiday village directly onto the beach, and walk for miles. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the whole complex very clean and tidy. Everybody said they will go back next year which speaks for its self.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Like a previous review I have recently got married at this resort and had the most amazing time. It was perfect from begining to end. Michele, the wedding co-ordinator was wonderful, even providing breakfast in bed for us on the morning of our wedding.
We ended up with guests from all over England and even France and Canada coming and everyone enjoyed themselves. They all stayed in various types of accommadation and I personally have stayed in the self catering cottages, which are very well equipped and the hotel which has been built to a high standard.
The swimming pool area is super with the children of the party really enjoying it and I enjoyed relaxing in the sauna and steam room.
Martin seems to be able to play music to get everyone dancing, which we did for all 3 nights of our stay.
The location is amazing so close to the beach, one day I will visit in teh high season although my new husband did go in the sea every day we were at Croyde.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic large clean room with very comfortable bed. Restaurant meal very good. The site has helpful and attentive staff. The self service breakfast can not be bettered. Free car park. Leisure facilities include a swimming pool.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We got married at Croyde Bay Holiday Resort in June and we had the most fantastic Wedding and fab holiday. Having booked the wedding based on internet pictures and phone calls we were a little apprehensive about the reality of the venue. Our initial impression (on a grey wet day) and seeing the location and rooms in there stark, functional form was 'eek what have we done!' but then we met Darcy and Michele, the wedding planners. They were brilliant, professional, so helpful and just wanted to do everything they could to make our wedding perfect. And they succeeded in everyway. I cannot thank them and the staff at Croyde Bay Holiday Resort for making our overall stay and wedding spot on. Staff were friendly and helpful, the food was excellent, expecially at the wedding, we couldn't fault it. Resort facilities were great, nice pool, play areas and access to the dunes/beach. We stayed in the hotel for two nights and it was lovely. Modern, clean and good sized rooms. Then moved to a cottage for three nights, quite different but excellent for us having a small child and it gave us the flexibility to have additional space as our guests arrived to enable us to extend our wedding preparations and celebrations! We had guests from all round the UK and even one from abroad, We have had nothing but praise and good feedback about our special day and their weekend stay (oh! except they were not happy about the fire alarm going off at 6.30am the morning after the wedding... didn't help the hangovers :-) but it was an elderly guest to blame for that.one, not the venue!).
Anyway, I can't think of anymore complementary words to sing my praises, just to say we would certainly recommend Croyde Bay as a holiday destination, and this holiday resort offers a perfect place to stay, at a resonable price and, if you looking for a perfect wedding location without the huge bill, this is the place. Thank you again to everyone.
One final thing, a big thank you to Tangles Hairdressers in Braunton, to Karen & Chris Barnstaple (Devon) Registrars and to Michael Elton Photography, Barnstaple for your part in our special day.

Room Tip: The hotel is bright, new with modern furnishing but the family rooms don't have a kitchen like t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were greatly impressed by Croyde Bay. We stayed in the hotel which is four star luxury - it was always kept spotless and felt new and fresh.
Walk out the back gate and over a sand dune and you are right there on a beautiful sandy beach with plenty of surf and rock pools on each side for the kids to explore.
The food is really good and the staff were helpful and friendly (they probably get a reasonable wage as it’s a union run resort)
We won a four day holiday to Croyde in July but we also went last year for a weekend. I think the scale of the resort is perfect. It is snuggled into the beautiful Devon landscape and even at full capacity it didn’t feel crowded and you never felt like you had to queue for the food etc.

The entertainment and facilities are right sized for the numbers and I even got to play my kids on a Wii which was a new experience for me!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms facing the play area are good if you want to keep an eye on your toddlers while t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort

Address: Croyde Bay, Croyde, Braunton EX33 1QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton > Croyde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Croyde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.