We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thistledoo Bed & Breakfast Croyde

Thistledoo Bed & Breakfast Croyde
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Croyde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thistledoo Bed & Breakfast Croyde
Save
You added Thistledoo Bed & Breakfast Croyde to your Saves list
7 Bonnicott Lane, Croyde, Braunton EX331PU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Croyde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I had to write a review as we had the best stay at The Thistledoo, as the rooms were full we were offered to camp in the gardens and we had a brilliant time. Gizzy was so welcoming and friendly, we could not fault our stay. The cooked breakfast was amazing with lots of options and as much juice, coffee and tea as you like. We can't wait to return to The Thisltdoo very soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
18
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Had a great few nights at Thistledoo, with a young baby we really weren't sure where to head but Gizzy soon put our mind at rest when we rang and booked and we were all very welcome. Very short walk to beach or the town and good size and very clean. Would definately come again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Croyde is one of my favourite places in the world and staying at Thistledoo with Gizzy is the icing on the cake.

Rooms are nice and clean and the house is in a very convenient location for the centre of the village and the sea.

The best bit about staying in Thistledoo is how lovely and friendly everyone is. Breakfast cooked by Gizzy is the highlight of each of my trips! I've already been back twice this year.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a really nice evening at Thistledoo, the room was clean and a good size. Our host was very welcoming and we had a nice chat over breakfast in the morning. The only possible negative is that the bathroom and shower rooms are in separate rooms, no en-suite, was fine for us but other might not like this. Finally this place is great value for money.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I had a great stay at Thistledoo last year, so I knew it was a good choice this time around. However, at such short notice, there were no rooms available so I was offered camping in the garden instead - and at a great rate, which included breakfast.
I had access to the family bathroom any time of the day/night, which was wonderful - their shower is excellent - and also enjoyed my breakfasts with other surfers and non-surfers alike.
Gizzy and her family go out of their way to make you feel at home. This was never clearer to me than on my first night there when I experienced what I would call a mild hurricane - not ideal in a tent ;-) But they helped me with a dry towel, hot tea and even drove me to retrieve my wetsuit, which had blown away!
I thoroughly recommend Thistledoo for single surfers, small groups, etc. who don't need en-suite facilities. Camping there is perfect - pretty sheltered, safe and quiet. Looking forward to returning... :-)

Room Tip: If there are no rooms, ask about camping in the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My friends and I recently came back to Thistledoo and pitched our tent in Ali and Gizzy's garden, having really enjoyed our first stay there a few months ago. They couldn't have been more welcoming and I can't recommend it highly enough. I'm sure we'll be back again soon, for more great breakfasts, warm welcomes, good laughs and big Gizzy hugs!

Room Tip: Rooms are lovely but if it's booked up you can camp in the lovely garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This brilliant little B&B can be easily missed to the unsuspecting eye however provides the perfect retreat for a surfing holiday. Gizzy is such a welcoming host who provides a fantastic source of local knowledge ranging from the best beaches to surf depending on conditions to where to eat in the evening (The Rock Inn is superb.) My room was very nicely prepared as was the delicious cooked breakfast. The wet suit cleaning area was appreciated nearly as much as the fantastic shower after a blustery day in the surf. After staying at this B&B i wouldn't choose anywhere else in the local area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistledoo Bed & Breakfast Croyde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistledoo Bed & Breakfast Croyde

Address: 7 Bonnicott Lane, Croyde, Braunton EX331PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton > Croyde
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Croyde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistledoo B B Croyde is conveniently situated in a quiet and relaxed area, between one of the countries best surfing beaches and not bad nightlife! Only 5 minutes walk to both. All bedrooms have wonderful views of the countryside, central heating, beverage making facilities and colour TV, Single, twin, double and family rooms available. Traditional English breakfast, vegetarians also catered for. Surfers and families are always welcome, with local knowledge and advice from your host family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thistledoo Bed & Breakfast Croyde Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistledoo Bed & Breakfast Croyde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.