We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for post-beach drinks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Billy Budds

Billy Budds
12 Hobbs Hill, Croyde, Braunton EX33 1LZ, England
01271 890606
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 8 Restaurants in Croyde
Cuisines: Pizza, Tapas, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Ascot, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great for post-beach drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Good outdoor seating and play-area and perfect for a refreshing drink on the way back from the beach. Dinner was ok but fairly basic pub food. Would recommend the pizza takeaway.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    41
    38
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lively Pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We visited Croyde for a camping holiday and decided to go to Billy Budds on a Saturday night. The beer garden was absolutely heaving and inside was just as busy. We did manage to get a table but the queues for food and drinks were quite long. We only had a couple of drinks and ordered some nachos to share between 4 of us until the restaurant we wanted became free. We heard it was a 2 hour wait for food but the nachos came out quite quickly (within 5-10 mins). It was good food and the pizzas that the people on the table next to us had looked really nice. The pub has quite a young feel to it with TV's scattered around showing surfing clips. The only thing I didn't like is that the bar staff thought it was quite acceptable to carry on with their own conversations and answer the phone whilst taking our order! Would visit again but on a less busy night!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“7 nights in Billy Budds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

As a family we really like to go out for a beer at night after dinner, we found Billy Budds soon after we arrived and settled and used it as our "local" while in Croyde. Whether in the afternoon or the evening the staff were great and always plenty of them.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pleasant lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

4 of us had lunch here on Saturday. Very friendly atmosphere & quick service. Outside seating area is very much focused on families with a great play area. We sat outside near the pub entrance which is on a hill & not hugely appealing! Food was basic but fresh & tasty, although waiting staff very rushed & busy. On the whole an ok experience, if in the area again we would probably try somewhere else.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Helpful friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Went for Monday lunch with family. Fast service, friendly. Very helpful about gluten free diet. Recommend tapas, nachos, pizzas and thatchers chicken. Rose wine take it or leave it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billy Budds also viewed

Croyde, Braunton
Croyde, Braunton
 
Croyde, Braunton
 

Been to Billy Budds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Billy Budds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.