We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Billy Budds

Billy Budds
12 Hobbs Hill, Croyde, Braunton EX33 1LZ, England
01271 890606
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 9 Restaurants in Croyde
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, Pizza, Tapas
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We go surfing each year in Croyde and have been to Billy Budds a couple of times. As a couple, we find the place friendly and chilled. Lots of TV screens for sport inside. The best is for families has to be the brilliant pay area outside at the back, where you can sit and eat/drink too. Parents can eat while they keep an eye on their kids. Kids love it. The food served is very generous and so tasty. Really good value for money. Plenty of seating outside which connects with The Thatch next door - very handy if don't want to walk on the road with cars getting close at times, especially with children.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    42
    39
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to watch the world cup”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Watched Brasil last night. Great atmosphere with loads of tv screens. Friendly locals. Be back soon.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Came here on a sunny evening and sat in their lovely little beer garden on the side of their pub. Decided to try their tapas and was so glad we did! Was delicious! Also we found all the staff friendly and polite. We recommend this lovely pub and we will be back soon.g

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton,UK
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Overun with kids!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Food very poor, football on the TV, Children running riot everywhere, looks good from the outside! staff really indifferent although it was only start of the season and expensive too!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“looking for child friendly eatery with kids play area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

had read about billy buds having an outside area for kids to play, we parked and went there on a hot june Saturday afternoon. we went into the outside area from the road and saw the kids play fort and seating. my 5 year old spent 4 hours playing with the other children and loved it, more importantly he loved it so much me and my partner could relax sitting in the sun with a cold drink or two and then we ordered some food. I had the homebaked pizza, it was massive but absolutely gorgeous. the base was the best I had ever tasted and the topping lovely too, I actually shared it with my son as it was big enough for 2, we also had garlic bread to share between us, which we needn't have ordered and my partner had the burger and chips. the chips were gorgeous, very crispy on the outside and soft and tasty on the inside, just as you would always want for the perfect chip! his burger was very tasty, nice texture and very tasty, we saw on the menu the meat came from coombe martin which is local and think its always great when you know where it comes from. we will definitely be returning and next time will spend time on the beach which you could get to by walking down the lane by the pub, also the inside was very good, toilets nice and clean and the staff were very very friendly, excellent

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billy Budds also viewed

Croyde, Braunton
Croyde, Braunton
 

Been to Billy Budds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Billy Budds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.