We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pretty good pub for a group lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Thatch

The Thatch
14 Hobbs Hill, Croyde, Braunton EX33 1LZ, England
01271 890 349
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 9 Restaurants in Croyde
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Belleville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A pretty good pub for a group lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a large party and warned them ahead of time we'd be dining for lunch, and they were very accommodating. They gave big portions and we had quick service. Not the best pub lunch I've had, but still good.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    150
    73
    37
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Superb atmosphere, glorious food, we keep coming back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Thatch is a wonderful, traditional British pub in the lovely village of Croyde. We came on two separate occasions and both times were delighted. Food is very nice, reasonably priced, with lot of local, fresh food. But it is the atmostphere that makes you want to go back again and again... warm, friendly, easy-going.... ! We are already planning our next visit!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croyde, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“food took long time to come to table and was cold”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Had a cream tea was only £2.50 lovely warm scone and loads of jam and cream and a pot of tea great value good service“Good Beer & Drink Selection, Great for Music” Visited the pub twice over a weekend away. Very lively with live music both Friday and an Open Mike Session on Sunday. Good selection of drinks, reasonable priced. Didn't have food but did look OK. Recommended place to visit
“Breakfast to set you up for the day!”
After an early start and a long drive we visited the Thatch for a very welcome and tasty bacon bap. It was so nice to have good, tasty bacon in a lightly toasted bap, served quickly with a smile and excellent coffee.

ashyBury

“Cream tea”
Had a cream tea was only £2.50 lovely warm scone and loads of jam and cream and a pot of tea great value good service

polly1jean

“Good Beer & Drink Selection, Great for Music”
Visited the pub twice over a weekend away. Very lively with live music both Friday and an Open Mike Session on Sunday. Good selection of drinks, reasonable priced. Didn't have food but did look OK. Recommended place to visit
Tips for writing a great review

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Breakfast to set you up for the day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

After an early start and a long drive we visited the Thatch for a very welcome and tasty bacon bap. It was so nice to have good, tasty bacon in a lightly toasted bap, served quickly with a smile and excellent coffee.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cream tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Had a cream tea was only £2.50 lovely warm scone and loads of jam and cream and a pot of tea great value good service

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thatch also viewed

 

Been to The Thatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thatch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.