We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but fine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel Las Mariposas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aparthotel Las Mariposas to your Saves list
Aparthotel Las Mariposas
1.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Cami Santa Cristina a Les Alegries S/N, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Basic but fine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed here with my family for 3 nights at the start of September. Check was easy, you need to pay €50 per apartment for a deposit and 0.45c per person per night for tourist tax. I was aware of this from other reviews so not an issue for us. We had two apartments with 3 people in each. Apartments were clean, yes, they are a little worn but at the price you pay you can’t complain.

Everything worked fine, you are given sheets to make your own bed (mattresses and pillows were very clean) and 2 towels each. You are given one toilet roll and you need to buy your own after that.

The hotel is small and the pool area is clean and tidy. Always plenty of sunbeds available but no umbrellas. There are some trees around the pool so there is shade if needed.

The food in the bar is fine, we ate there one lunchtime and had no complaints. The bar is open until midnight so it was nice to go home after dinner and have a couple of drinks on the terrace outside the bar before bed.

We got the deposit back with no issues whatsoever.

I found the staff here helpful and accommodating and for €30 per apartment per night could not have asked for more. There are bars and restaurants within 5 mins walk and the beach is approx. 10 mins. There is a mini market 30 seconds down the street from the hotel. Taxi back to Girona airport was approx. €50.

I will definitely be back for a cheap weekend at the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    19
    13
    5
    9
See reviews for
21
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle upon tyne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

just spent a week here, pool and bar area very clean, and yes i was expecting basic but would have been nice not to have bedsheets full of holes, pull out bed had a cover on that was stained with blood and god knows what! balcony had the word 'spunk' written on the wall, no maid service at all. Friendly staff, fenals beach lovely, food at america restaurant on main road to beach very nice. would return to fenals but not stay here again even for a cheap room

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Like others, we were dropped off on a street corner at 11 o'clock at night with no indication of where the accommodation was. We had to ask a taxi driver for directions.

Arrived at reception to find it un-manned, needed to get the bar man to check us in. He was the most unhelpful person I have ever meet working in a hotel.

The room was small and basic at best. It was indicated that the towels would be changed every 3 day and the bed linen once a week, this did not occur once. The fridge was broken so that when you put eggs in the egg rack, the rack just fell out and the broken on the floor. If it's broken, either fix it or remove it.

We decided to buy a snack from the bar, all looked good until the butter portion was opened to find that it was going moldy, decided not to risk any further purchases from the bar. Cats where found roaming around the bar and kitchen area and seemed to be welcomed rather than thinking of the food standard implications.

The children's play area should be condemned as a serious safety hazard with broken glass around all the equipment.

Upon leaving the hotel, we needed to be checked out by the handyman / gardener as no other members of staff had started work by 8.30 in the morning.

Very basic, very limited, very poor service, very disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Hotel is very basic, however its clean and has everything you need. Pool is lovely, food is good and staff are very friendly. Great location close to Fenels & Bordella Beach. Can sometimes be a little noisy in the evenings when everyone is out on their balcony's but nothing to bad and generally no noise after midnight. Overall a great little hotel. only downfall really is no air-con but you cant grumble with the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just returned from a week in these apartments and I would not return or recommend to a friend. The bus brought us from Girona Airport and left us off on the main road and we had to drag our cases up a steep hill to the apartments. It was 11pm at night and the road was dimly lit and the apartments were very hard to find. After about 20 minutes we found them but when we went into the hotel reception there was nobody at the desk to check us in. A man from behind the bar with not a lot of English give us our room key. We were asked to pay €100 deposit and also €10 holiday tax and had to wait till the following morning to get a key to our safe. More often than not there was nobody at the reception desk and we had to go to the bar if we wanted anything.

The apartment was very clean, there was plenty of wardrobe space and clothes hangers, the balcony was quite small with a table and 2 chairs (there were 3 people sharing our apartment), the beds were very comfortable, the swimming pool was very clean but cold and some of the sunbeds were badly in need of replacement and extremely uncomfortable. The pool is quite deep and there is no lifeguard there. There was no clothes line to dry clothes on the balcony and there was a bucket with a rather smelly mop in the bathroom. The only mirror in the entire apartment was over the handbasin in the bathroom. We were given one toilet roll for the entire week for 3 people, the sheets were left on a chair in the bedroom and we had to make our beds when we arrived. The sheets looked the worse for wear with small holes in one of the sheets. The lift was tiny and so slow, in fact we were in an apt on the 4th floor and we climbed the 56 steps of stairs sometimes 3/4 times a day rather than get into the lift. There is no electric kettle, only 2 electric rings, a fridge with freezer box and a microwave. There is no air conditioning of any sort and it was extremely hard to sleep with the heat.

The location is very good as it is about 10 minutes walk to Fenals beach and a 15 minute walk into Lloret de Mar where there is an abundance of shops and a lovely beach. The down side is that there is a camping site at the back of the hotel and there was a lot of noise coming from it every night. During the course of the week there was a cat being fed behind the bar where the food was being prepared.

Lloret de Mar is a nice place and we had an enjoyable holiday but we would not return to these apartments.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We are a family of 2 adults, a 6 year old and an 18 month old, they provided us with 2 single beds and a sofa bed in the kitchen/dining room. The shower/bath didn't really work (the shower trickled whilst the bath filler ran regardless of which mode you chose) the bath water was brown, the room was boiling (no air con but we were aware of this) but it was so noisy outside that that the windows had to bed closed, the balcony railings are about 3 foot high and not safe for children, the sunbeds were filthy, there were cigaret butts all around the pool area, the reception was rarely open, the selection of food was minimal and the place was full of 18 to 20 year olds... I could go on.... I have pictures to prove! Stayed 1 night then changed hotels NEVER to return! TERRIBLE PLACE!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was a last minute bargain holiday, and we were a little worried after reading some of the reviews, but there was no need.. The hotel is situated a 10 minute leisurely walk from the lovely Fenals beach, and yes there is a slight steep incline from the main road.. The hotel itself is quite basic, twin beds we just pushed together, great little kitchen, and a balcony looking over the surprisingly well maintained pool area and gardens.. The staff are very friendly and accommodating.. We enjoyed our short stay here and would definitely return..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aparthotel Las Mariposas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Las Mariposas

Address: Cami Santa Cristina a Les Alegries S/N, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Lloret de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Aparthotel Las Mariposas 1*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aparthotel Las Mariposas* has 44 apartments surrounded by a wonderful and large garden area, with a pool with separated children area, a full equipped children playground, ping pong table, snack bar viewing the children pool, video games and a lot more. All apartments have terrace and they are fully equipped with kitchenettes, microwave, tea/coffee maker, etc. We are located at 600 meters from Fenals beach, which is one of the very best beaches of the Costa Brava in Spain, plus we are surrounded by supermarkets, shops and restaurants for all types of cuisine. But, by large the most important characteristic of the Aparthotel Las Mariposas* is that we are away from the noise of Lloret de mar, making our apartments a nice, affordable and quite place to enjoy your vacations in Lloret de mar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Aparthotel Las Mariposas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Mariposas Hotel Lloret De Mar
Aparthotel Las Mariposas Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aparthotel Las Mariposas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.