We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bolero Park Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bolero Park Apartments to your Saves list
Bolero Park Apartments
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Francesc Cambo 15 17, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 128 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
fife, scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“you get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

just returned from a 7 day holiday to the bolero apartments. Unfortunately they didn't have a record of our booking, but this was quickly rectified and we were checked in quickly and pleasantly.

We were allocated a room overlooking the pool, which also provided a sea view. The room itself is very basic, however, having been there before we knew what to expect. On the plus side the apartments all have had a flatscreen TV on the wall installed which has BBC 1 and 2. As it was the weather wasn't too great for the first couple of days, therefore, the TV was a welcome bonus. The kitchen area isn't overly equipped. There were no glasses or a toaster, but we overcame these.

There is a shop just before the entrance to the apartments, and we found that their prices were more or less the same as the big supermarket coprado. As such don't buy your larger items from the large supermarkets i.e. water, fizzy drinks etc., as you can just buy them as the small shop and don't have to lug them back to the apartment.

We went to see Barcelona play as the Nou camp. We booked this through one of the local shops and although I hate football, I would recommend it simply for the experience. The trip is so well organised and the price of your ticket includes the bus cost.

The apartments are in a great location and a 5 minute walk takes you to either shops or the beach.

As it was I paid less than £10 per night for the apartment, and left feeling we had had good value for money. Yes the apartments look quite shabby now and could do with an overhaul, but for the price we paid we didn't expect the ritz. Essentially if you are looking for cheap accommodation, then this does the job. On the plus side, the pool area is really pleasant and has a jacuzzi. Again this is let down by the state of the sunbeds which look like they have been in the sun for about 20 years, but once your towel is on them who cares. There is also a distinct shortage of sunbeds which resulted in some people lying about the grass areas on their towels which didn't look too comfortable. There is a pool bar which provides snack foods and drinks. We used this a couple of times - once to buy breakfast and the other time for a lunchtime snack. Both times we found the food fine and freshly prepared. The costs are approximately 3 euros for a pint of lager, chips were 1.7 euros and a toasted sandwich was about 2.7 euros.

All in all we had a good stay. If I had paid £50 per night then yes I would have been unhappy, but for £10 per night I was more than happy.

Enjoy

Room Tip: Request a pool view and these also have a lovely sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    36
    35
    23
    23
See reviews for
21
35
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012 via mobile

We got this accomodation as part of a cheap Low Cost Holiday deal so didn't expect too much, especially after reading some bad reviews.

When we arrived our room wasn't ready so were offered to leave our bags in an open to public storage room, we decided just to carry them with us until we could check in to be on the safe side. The apartments are located really close to town and the beach (once you figure out which direction to walk in)

The room was clean, and surprisingly better than expected, although obviously very very dated, we had a lovely view over the pool, and the ocean.

The main problem we had was with the afternoon/night staff. There is one gentleman that works during the day who speaks perfect English and is very helpful, once he leaves in the afternoon they might as well not have any staff on the desk. We tried to confirm our shuttle back to the airport and the guy shrugged and pointed to the phone but we couldn't call anyone (in English) as it was a public holiday, the guy didn't offer any help or suggestions or alternatives to get to the airport so we had to get up at 6am the next morning in hope that the bus depot was open on a public holiday to get a ticket to the airport as as far as we had confirmed we had no shuttle coming. On leaving the night manager said (in broken English) that our shuttle came but he turned them away because he didn't know my name! Something I would have been easy enough to look up on their system with the details from the shuttle driver and give us a call? Apparently not, so we had to find our own way to the airport after already paying for a shuttle. My advise, confirm your shuttle with the guy on morning shifts well in advance of leaving to avoid a stressful end to your holiday.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I stayed here with my sister and 11 year old son. I always stay in cheap accomodation so i dont expect too much..On first glance our room looked fine no problems but on closer inspection it was horrible as the shower curtain was vile and dirty the window in bedroom had brown guey stuff suck to it as did furniure on balcony, i would not even eat in the room which was self catering as felt sik and taking a shower was horrible as did not want shower curtain near me,if room had been cleaned properly it would of been fine i suppose it just depends weather you get a fillthy room like mine or a cleaner one. The pool area was great as was the pool bar staff etc. it was just the room, I should of complained really but am too soft ah well.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

well would not recommend this place to even the poorest of people going on holiday.
me and my two brothers and partners went on holiday.
as you can see my sister in law has written her thoughts too below
entered the hotel and were waiting 20 minutes in the foyer and they were telling people to leave there luggage in an open door where people were walking in and out all the time and go to the beach and return later
woman didnt speak english so was a nightmare then i finally managed to find the hotel manager i think who could speak english. he speaks to you as if your sooo stupid its VERY patronising.
we booked this holiday to celebrate a special occasion and thought fab aslong as we have a bed we'll be fine
how wrong were we
now the room
we got in and as soon as you turned a tap on you were standing in puddles. i fell and hurt myself many times so got fed up and asked for more towels to soak it up. they brought them up eventually.
the next day my brother electrocuted himself on the stove. luckily he wasnt hurt too bad
for the next 3/4 nights we had a group of five staying the other side of the hotel screaming and fighting waking everyone up. this happened from 4-7am. what a nightmare! there goes my sleeping out of the window... id given up on hope at this point!!!
then the next day was the day before we go back and we got told this group had left so finally peace and quiet and time for a lie in. wrong again!!!!!
the guy on the front desk constantly kept ringing and ringing at 6am to wake us up so we ignored it thinking it was one of my brothers winding us up. the guy came up banging his fist on the door saying "GET OUT NOW! GET OUT! your going to be late" as i didnt want to get up my boyfriend told him that we didnt leave until the next morning. i went down to explain this and the manager shrugged his shoulders and said just a mistake....
was waiting to go home was so bad was packed and ready to go by the sixth day.
if you do decide this is for you enjoy!!!
but make sure u check the prices of your drinks 1st as my brother spent 6.50 euros on a pint haha!
if you've got kids, elderly or just want to come relax like us stay away its not worth spend extra £30 on a better hotel
we didnt go in the swimming pool at all it had green all around the outside where they hadnt cleaned it all summer. quiet gross and off putting!!!
as for the weather we went october time and was 30's... cant go wrong!

Room Tip: dont go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Where to start!!,
on arrival you are greated by a very rude spain man....who speaks perfect english(AKA the htel manager!) gives you scarcatic answers when your ask about the area or the hotel.
THE ROOM
if you dont mind sleeping on wafer thin matteress' and single beds pushed together(this is perfect for you)
we where part of 3 couples staying at the hotel.
the 1st was damp and moldy. the bath room felt like it was riddled with all kind, the bedsheet smelt musky.(room number 229)
2nd room, this room seemed ok untill you turned the taps on and water leaks every...in the bathroom as well as the kitchen., as for the kitchen the cooker gives you electric shocks ( big ones makes your fingers shake afterwards) (room number 230)
3rd room. had ants everywhere, bedsheets smelt like a mixture of old bleach and dust. the AC does not work in this room!! it get the sun in the afternon till late evening which makes the extremely hot. the shower head flies off at you whilst in the middle of showering. (room number 211)
we spent most of our time in the day by the beach as the pool had green algae on the side and the sun beds where moldy, plus the amount of flys drove you insane.
itsa a good 15-20 minuet walk to both lloret beah and fannell beach both are coarse shingle and are very hard to walk on without seashoes.
on the way to the beaches it is down hill but on the way back it a very steep hill on both sides of the hotel.
the hotels pool bar is over priced and the drinks taste watered down...even with no ice in them.
other hotel guest didnt have any consideration for people sleeping as several nights we were woken by arguements and flights int he corridors (sometimes a floor or two above you and you could still hear) the hotel didnt not take any responibility for the other guest.

i have stayed in may lower star hotel in the past but this one has to be by far one of the worst, rude staff, despicable cleanliness, and as for the the hotels car park!! its the round about on the entrance.
i would not recommend this hotel every for young people that just need to get there heads down after a long night parting,,,as you wont get any sleep!

Room Tip: dont choose this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011 via mobile

I paid 9 pounds per night to stay here and had a great time. My apartment had a seperate bedroom and a lounge diner and was clean. The rooms are a bit dated and worn, but at this price point, who cares! They are clean and habitable with good balconies. If you go with the expectation that this will be clean but basic you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

A largely positive experience with Bolero Park Apartments.

The apartment was clean, spacious and well-equipped. It was in need of a little renovation (as was the exterior of the building) and appeared ever so slightly shabby, but it was more than adequate. The pool area appeared pleasant and clean, though we personally went to the beach rather than using the resident pool.

The apartment block is situated 30 seconds walk from a small supermarket, 3 mins walk from Fenals Beach (a small, lovely beach - watch out for the steps!!), less than 5 minutes walk to most bars, shops and restaurants, and around 7 mins walk to the larger and livelier Lloret Beach, and the nightclubs of Lloret – so the location was great. Having said that, it’s probably better for persons who are reasonably fit, as the block is situated at the top of a moderate hill, and the main access point to nearby Fenals Beach is via some rather challenging steps.

We didn’t have much contact with hotel staff, but they appeared to be friendly, and were multilingual. The only two issues we had were 1) we had to wait 30 mins for our room to become available when we arrived, despite arriving late afternoon, and 2) our shower didn’t work, so we had to take baths instead. The shower problem was reported on day 1, but was not rectified at all for the duration of our 5-day stay.

All in all, rooms are cheap and adequate. Don’t expect 5* service, because you won’t get it, but hopefully your stay should be pleasant and reasonably trouble-free.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bolero Park Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolero Park Apartments

Address: Francesc Cambo 15 17, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 128 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bolero Park Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bolero Park Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolero Park Apartments Hotel Lloret De Mar
Bolero Apartments Lloret De Mar
Bolero Park Apartments Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bolero Park Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.