We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what I expected for the price!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of H Top Palm Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added H Top Palm Beach to your Saves list
H Top Palm Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Aribau 3, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain (Formerly Hotel Ancla)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 128 Hotels in Lloret de Mar
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exactly what I expected for the price!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were fine, basic, but fine.
Staff polite, answered all my questions.
Food was plain, bland and repetitive. Not the greatest- but again, it was edible!
Drinks were local brands which got a bit sickly.
You had a card and not a wrist band for the all inclusive- bit strange.
Entertainment was shocking!!! Haha!
About 15 min walk to all bars, beach, clubs and shops etc - €10 roughly.
Lovely little restaurant opposite hotel that sold made to order pizzas for €5 :-)))))

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director of Sales at H Top Palm Beach, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you for your review, we’re glad that you had the holidays that you was expecting.
We do take you’re comments in consideration, to improve a better service in the next future.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    151
    138
    74
    122
See reviews for
130
165
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Well not to sure were to start!! Service when we arrived it was the night staff and i must say he was extremely rude and not helpful and we had a long journey with the transfer being 2 hours late, so we didnt arrive till like 2 in the morning.

Next the Room was very basic no air con, bathroom was extremely dirty! The Food well thats a new level that one it was disgusting both myself and my fiance lived on ham rolls (even the rolls where rock solid) Cereal the only milk that was on offer was hot milk, they couldnt even cook chips they were cold and hard, there was lasagna one evening i was really looking forward to it then i cut into it and the mince was pink fully pink, and the rest of the meat was all the same!

I will say there was a female bar maid and she was amazing so polite made you feel in the holiday spirit.

THEN to top it off our 4th day there the maintenance staff (we know this as the people staying in the next room told us that eve that he heard lots of banging came out and the maintenance man said i am fixing the door, NOW there was NO problem with our door, surely we would have asked for it to be fixed if it was) He had let himself into our room and had tore/ripped open both our suitcases (so they where no longer usable, the hotel wouldn't help us with find replaceable bags to take our stuff home) they stole My partners Iphone, tablet, all our money and our gifts that we had brought for a family and friends, the police didnt care, the hotel had nothing to say about it, appart why we didnt use the safe 2 reasons 1) it was 30 euros for a week the most i have ever know a hotel to charge and non of that was a deposit, 2) that was broken into also so regardless if we had spent out all that money would have made no difference. It had happened to two other couples in the same week they lost loads also. we spoke to a really nice gentleman in a shop across the road from the hotel and he says he has at least about 6 people a month staying in this hotel coming over to bye new suitcases as they have had their rooms broken into..... SO that kinda tells you everything really. everyone thinks you get what you pay for well just for me and my partner that holiday in that hotel cost us £800 thats not a budget holiday! I WOULDNT UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES SUGGEST ANYONE STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!!!!! and last but not least even when you do complain and something like that happens you get nothing we didnt even get an apology just dirty looks and attitude!!

Room Tip: Higher the floor better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director of Sales at H Top Palm Beach, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for share your comments on tripadvisor, and thank you to tripadvisor to let us give our point of view.
This review isn’t honest at all, and there are some points we are completely disagree.
About the milk in the restaurant, there is always hot and cold milk that you can have as many times you want.
The problem you had with the maintenance man isn’t true at all, the maintanence man never goes to a room if it’s not warn at the reception, and our maintenance staff never had any problem, it’s been working in the hotel for 15 years without any problem.
We remember your case, also we know that many things that you say we’re stolen are not the same that you said at reception when this happened(you had your mobile in your hands), and never said that maintanence man has let himself inside.
Safe deposit will sort most of the “problems” you had, instead if it’s 28€ per week.
Never happened the same problem to other couples and maybe the gentleman has said that he sells 6 people a month, but we only opened 3 weeks ago when you was at the hotel, this maybe could be a early forecast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last week and were pretty disappointed overall. It claims three stars but I'm coming to realise that means different things in continental tourist traps than it does elsewhere.

We stayed all inclusive, which had its high and low points. The buffet meals were very hit-and-miss, with excellent paella, salads and fresh fruit while the meat and fish options were largely inedible.

Our low point was the staff, and particularly the bar staff and night manager. While most of the male bar staff members were helpful enough, all three of the female members of bar staff I saw during our stay were surly and rude.

The night manager was a particular problem. On arrival at 2am after a late flight and a long transfer, we were greeted by grunts from the guy at the desk who practically threw our passports at us once he was done with them. Several nights later when we went to complain that someone in a room above ours was dropping things, including lot cigarettes and glass bottles, over their balcony that were landing on ours, he mocked my husband's complaints ("what do you want me to do? Stand in the street and shout 'hello! Stop throwing things!'?"), tried to set my husband and I against each other, lied about there being no manager to speak to, lied about the hotel being full and having no other room to move us to and eventually said that he'd moved other guests to give is another room because of my husband's "attitude problem".

It was only after being moved that we realized that all rooms at the hotel are not created equal. We went from a lower floor room with decor similar to a 2* guest house in India to a recently refurbished room on the top floor with air con (though it only worked on one day).

To the credit of the hotel manager, he apologised for the behaviour of the night manager and seems to be trying to improve things. However, after we complained to the hotel manager, the female bar staff refused to serve my husband at all and were ruder than ever.

I'd like to think that this hotel will improve as there staff from the old Hotel Ancla are retrained or leave. However, I don't think we'll be going back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from 1 week here, Hotel was actually really nice, shame about the rooms and entertainment.
Sat out at night and by the pool during the day was excellent once you got used to the noise of the road, but seriously it was fine.
The entertainment was the worst I've experienced, so if you're going for that. Stay away, otherwise the only down side was the room.
No air con and our shower was a disgrace, 4 times I asked for it to be fixed, to no avail, the bathroom itself was just rank.
The food was great and well drink is drink, couldn't fault this hotel for either, restaurant was spotless as was all of downstairs, even rooms were cleaned daily.
All in all we had a great holiday, cos that's what it is a holiday. What's point of complaining about, the weather, the road noise, or even your room, cos all you do is sleep in it.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director of Sales at H Top Palm Beach, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for share your opinion in tripadvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your holidays, and we will take your comments to improve a better service in the next future. We hope to see you soon.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a 5 night stay at this hotel and thought the food was delicious! I was pleasantly surprised as this was one thing I didn't expect having eaten in Spanish hotels before and being quite fussy about tastes and sauces...all meat and fish was cooked to perfection and there was something new every day! The packed lunches weren't that great (only sandwiches, fruit and water) so if you're going out for the day I would reccomend taking some snacks or money. The location of this hotel is excellent, buses go by regularly including a free bus to Waterworld which is less than 1 mile away. There were quite a few young adults who were noisy at night but we expected that anyway...it's a budget hotel in an area with lots of nightlife, it didn't keep us awake and the hotel has a no noise after 12 policy so if they were really rowdy there was the option to complain. I would definitely go back again, with or without children as a nice, cheap holiday option :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director of Sales at H Top Palm Beach, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Mrs ,
Thank you for the kind opinion and your time writing your opinion on tripadvisor.
We are so glad that you had a good experience with us and hope that you choose H Top Palm Beach as a first option in a future.
Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Just returned from 10 nights at this hotel. The food it terrible. We found a fly in the jelly! Most of the staff are friendly. The hotel is ok, the pool is too small. The rooms are clean. If you are on floors 1-4 then you dont get air conditioning and you cant have the door open because of the noiset!! The top floors are ok because you get air conditioning. Its full of lots of young foreign students, who run riot at 3/4/5 oclock in the morning. The night we checked in we were given a room with 3 beds in - there are 4 of us!!!! The only good thing about it was that it was a HTOP hotel which meant you could go to the other HTOP hotels and eat there - which we did as often as we could. Would not return!!!!

Room Tip: If you get a key you get a room WITHOUT air conditioning. Make sure you get a CARD.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director of Sales at H Top Palm Beach, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
We are very sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your stay at the H Top Palm Beach.
We’re taking note about your comments and tips about the hotel in order to improve our services and better meet your needs.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Me and my friend left the kids and husbands at home and went to this hotel, we where on the 6th floor which ment we had A/C the room is very small beds hard as rock but I have stayed in some 4* hotels which have not been as clean as this hotel.

Yes the hotel is full of young people but most of the time they are no trouble, sunbeds hard to come by and the pool is very small,

The staff that we dealt with for the most where helpfull and very nice, special thanks goes to
INMA, BENJI and MONTSE.

I must say that the food was the one thing that let this hotel down but you could find somthing if you really wanted, the resturant manger was lovely and I think it must be hard for them at times.

The AI card system is strange and a bit of a pain when you get to the bar and have forgot your card but this system is used in the other three HTOPS that we visited.

I would stay at this hotel again but not for a family holiday but for a cheap weekend away YES,
d

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTOPHotels, Director of Sales at H Top Palm Beach, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Customer
First we want to thank you for your stay at our resort and also the comments , are thanks to them that we can improve every day. We regret that some of them produce your stay could not be all that good for you.
After being read your report, we really appreciate your information and we have reviewed with our staff.
Once again, we want to thank you about the time you have spent for your review which always help us to improve us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to H Top Palm Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H Top Palm Beach

Address: C/ Aribau 3, 17310 Lloret de Mar, Spain (Formerly Hotel Ancla)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Lloret de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Lloret de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — H Top Palm Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your H Top Palm Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancla Hotel Lloret De Mar
Hotel Ancla
H Top Palm Beach Lloret De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H Top Palm Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.